You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My etiquette rules for voting at Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I think this is a good way to think about voting and rewarding others. Although I have not been on the platform for very long I am proud to say that I do not use any bot services personally. I follow one bot, which I used to find this post here as a matter of fact, @trufflepig because I find the bot promotes valuable content occasionally.
I find myself adhering to these rough guidelines most of the time but one thing I can't quite figure out still is this 100% upvote business. I am not displayed any options to change my voting percentage and am curious how to do so. I am still fairly new to the platform; I don't know a lot of the extensions and plugins associated with Steemit besides ones such as dTube, dLive and some others. I also just use a regular browser. I'm sure there are advantages to using one such as eSteem and others but I haven't spent time figuring out which one to use.

Anyway, thanks for the post. I gave it it an upvote at the end because I enjoy these types of posts; anything to help little minnows like myself learn more about the new social media platform we can call home!

I also think it's great that you recognize that although one may not agree with a post, giving it an upvote is important. We need to branch out of our comfort zones to excel.

Sort:  

but one thing I can't quite figure out still is this 100% upvote business. I am not displayed any options to change my voting percentage and am curious how to do so.

Oh, sorry for that one, I didn't think of it: the possibility to give fractions of votes is a privilege for those having significant amounts of steem power. Actually the whole article is quite much dedicated to people having some steem power ... it doesn't really matter that much how you vote when having really insignificant steem power.

Ah interesting, so I can vote on everything and all of them are considered 100% upvotes? And my voting power doesn't go down with each vote? Thanks for any info!

100% does not mean "100% voting power", but 100% of your available voting power. The available voting power is reduced with 2% for every vote cast, if I remember right (and that's 2% of the available voting power - so if the available voting power is 50%, it will go down to 49%, not 48%).

Ah ok thanks. Makes sense in this money based platform.