Tron bought Dlive, Tron bought Steemit Inc hmmm...

in #steem4 years ago

7FAF0AAD-1155-4F5B-A7E0-8B4FA6B3B3B3.jpeg

I always try to keep an open mind and be positive. So my first reaction to Tron’s acquisition of Steemit Inc was not filled with fear. However, after trying to figure out and read more about Tron a seed of worry has started rooting itself in my mind.

I remember when D-live was on the Steem blockchain, it was back in the days when everyone thought Steem would be the blockchain that produced a lot of the dapps that would compete with the likes of Facebook, YouTube, and in the case of D-live compete with Twitch. When D-live later left it was really a big hit to Steem. And it has since flourished, bringing in YouTubers such as Pewdiepie.

It was only recently I realized that Dlive was also acquired by Tron not long ago. What makes me a bit worried, is that in the deal Dlive would migrate from the Lino blockchain to the Tron blockchain. So in the end what did Tron get from this deal? Well they took the user base and the brand.

This makes me a bit concerned regarding Tron buying Steemit Inc. What is the real goal here ?

Considering the communication so far, this is supposed to be a win win and we get synergy and Steem remains the way it has been right? I now find that a bit hard to believe to be honest.

62875E4B-72A5-455C-8440-360ED0496582.jpeg

Another thing which has made me a bit worried is the vague information we got so far. It seems that there is quite a lot of information that is not being shared. Further more as I understood it from the interview, Justin did not have a deep insight into the platform, which make me wonder if it is just a part of the technology here which is of real interest and that could benefit Tron somehow, and not the value of the community.

Carl Sagan said “You have to know the past to understand the present”. So having learned a bit more about Tron’s past I am honestly a little more worried about the present.

What are your thoughts at the moment ?
Do you feel worried or excited about Tron?

Sort:  

Hi @dandesign86

my first reaction to Tron’s acquisition of Steemit Inc was not filled with fear.

Wow. That's surely very unique. Most people seemed to be freaking out (including me).

It was only recently I realized that Dlive was also acquired by Tron not long ago.

Oh, I didn't know avbout it until ... just now ;)

My impression is that for many "small people" current takeover may be nothing more than changing 'ruling party'. Those in power will change, but show "must go on". And it will. With current whales (of which many are very hostile towards users) or without.

Also would you perhaps know how much STEEM did STINC sell on the market on monthly basis to cover their expenses? I stronly believe that Justin will not be pressured to follow this strategy. That would greately reduce SELLING PRESSURE. Wouldn't you agree?

I remember years ago FB bought Instagram. Even more worries and fear took place at that time. And few years later both exist: FB and Insta. Perhaps there is lesson to be learned here.

I decided to be optimistic. I wrote more about my own approach to this issue in my latest post (link here). Check it out and drop some comment :)

Solid read. Upvoted already :)
Cheers, Piotr

Hey man thanks for the comment. Not many times I get a solid comment like that with actual thought and feedback to the content.

I don’t know what to think really. I think Justin thought he basically controlled the Steem block chain once he bought Steemit inc. but when he realized that wasn’t the case he might have changed strategy. The technology and associated dapps is probably what is in his interest not the brand itself.

But lets hope for the best. But considering how many witnesses have started powering down I think they might be smelling something fishy

It's me again @dandesign86

I just realized that I never actually thanked you for your comment. Big thx.

ps.
I would need to ask you for little favour. Recently I've decided to join small contest called "Community of the week" and I desribed our project.hope hive/community. Would you mind helping me out and RESTEEM this post - just to get some extra exposure? Your valuable comment would be also appreciated.

Link to my post: on steemit or on steempeak

Thanks :)
Yours, Piotr