My Billboard is Picked out! New #Steem Billboard coming to West Seattle Bridge, Washington State, USA on 9/11!!! Let's turn Seattle into the Steem Capital!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

1. I have been looking for a cost effective method of getting MY ENTIRE STATE onto Steemit, and crowd-funding billboards seems like the best way to do it!

I have been doing marketing and web design fro a little over 12 years now and have met some very awesome people in that time period, most of which are the backbone of my career. People such as Mike from Lamar Outdoor Advertising are the reason I can call myself a success, these individuals always go above and beyond to make sure I get my goals accomplished and for that I thank them very much. 

With that being said, I have reached out on behalf of Steem and will be purchasing a billboard as I posted about around 4 weeks ago. All the planning is almost complete and the board is scheduled to be paid and printed in the coming weeks, then placed on the bridge starting 9/11 until 10/11, while I would love to go longer this board is being given to me at a large discount and taking up more than 1 cycle most likely won't fly unless the board doesn't get renewed by someone else.

This bridge has EASILY 20,000 people driving over it daily, if not far more, and at certain times of the day it's deadlocked traffic, so the click through rate on these will be through the roof!

Image courtesy of: West Seattle Herald

2. The first billboard is going to be paid for by me, out of my pocket. (yes I got a massive deal, this time.)

Don't worry about feeling as if this is or is not a waste of the Steem funds because the billboard is coming out of my USD reserves, not anyones Steem. This is simply my thank you to everyone in the Steem community that has supported me this past year. I appreciate the hell out of all of you. And besides it's not SUPER expensive, like I said, Mike threw me a good deal I couldn't turn down!

3. Beyond that I hope to use any earnings from posting updates about new boards and plans to buy bigger boards and more in better areas!

Down the road as my SP grows I plan on bootstrapping this project a bit further and trying to make it as automated as possible, I'm even trying to get the head salesman of this company involved so he can simply crowdfund billboards on our behalf, and ALWAYS get the best deals! ;] Wish me luck everyone! I will drive over the bridge soon once I know which billboard it is and grab a photo for everyone!

So join me on this journey and lets turn Seattle into the Steem capital of the world! #Seattle is already a massive tech hub, all we need is some marketing for Steem!

Some Alternative Designs for the boards:

///More @Decentralizd Posts this week:

Why EVERYONE Should Explore and Build/Bring Thier Own Micro Steem Communities and Groups! Steem is always evolving... you should be too!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@decentralizd/why-everyone-should-explore-and-build-bring-thier-own-micro-steem-communities-and-groups-steem-is-always-evolving-you-should-be

I donated $300 to a popular Pokemon Go Youtuber just to prove a point about Steemit. Details inside.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@decentralizd/i-donated-usd300-to-a-popular-pokemon-go-youtuber-just-to-prove-a-point-about-steemit-details-inside

Why you should follow @Decentralizd on www.Streemian.com! Get more rewards & never miss a post again!

https://steemit.com/steem/@decentralizd/why-you-should-follow-decentralizd-on-www-streemian-com-get-more-rewards-and-never-miss-a-post-again

What if there was an EASY & QUICK way to buy Steem T-Shirts and other branded items with Steem and have them shipped worldwide? Good news, it will exist soon! Steemthreads

https://steemit.com/steemit/@decentralizd/what-if-there-was-an-easy-and-quick-way-to-buy-steem-t-shirts-and-other-branded-items-with-steem-and-have-them-shipped-worldwide

5 Reasons I'm so stoked for @Zappl to launch! Twitter is so going down... if you haven't heard of Zappl yet you're missing out.

https://steemit.com/zappl/@decentralizd/5-reasons-i-m-so-stoked-for-zappl-to-launch-twitter-is-so-going-down-if-you-haven-t-heard-of-zappl-yet-you-re-missing-out

//KEEP CALM AND STEEM ON!

//Don't forget to follow, upvote and re-steem! 


Sort:  

heya, very good initiatives lately!

however, when advertising the platform, Steemit has to say no to 3rd party ads that use the phrase "Steemit" to cover us from liabilities. Please modify the banner to user alternate terms. "Steem" as a public infrastructure and token is totally free from our concerns.

Thanks for understanding

Good to know, thanks for the input @Ned, will do! Steem it is!

edit: i'm still allowed to use steemit.com correct? Or shall I get a domain for the in-betweening?

Thanks!

this includes steemit and/or steemit.com

I wish you all a wonderful time there 😘

Steem ON!

Totally understandable, perhaps I'll do a @zappl board instead... hmmm or just buy a fun domain..

Could you play with Decentralization or #aggroed ?
I like the concepts of helping others (esp. minnows) and decentralized or peer to peer networking! 😃

If I can get the wording right I feel like Zappl avenue might be best, reaching out to @zappl team already about this idea see what they think.

Maybe being mysterious would work better. Look for steem IT'S worth it.

Hi @ned, billboards are my "wheelhouse" but that has taken a back seat while I'm building out @steemsports, I would recommend the billboard advertise steemsports.com as it points, in the interim, to our Steemit blog, that way it absolves Steemit inc from liability and sports is a good draw card to bring people here as well.

does this include wearing t-shirts and handing out flyers?

Hi @Ned, I am in the middle of creating flyers to promote Steemit in the UK. We have done an artistic version of the logo so I think we are OK with that.
We can get around the URL issues using redirects etc but for ensuring people know of the brand I'd rather not. Is there a way I can send them to your team for approval?

This is great, may I use this on my FB page?

This post received a 4.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @decentralizd! For more information, click here!

Cool

Good luck and would love to see this go bigger but IDK if the USA is a good market or not crypto may get fully banned and then never hit masses in the US

You can advertise Steemsports.com if you like... I can point the domain to the https://steemit.com/@steemsports and thanks for trying to revive my billboard legacy!

Hi @thecryptodrive, are you the founder of @steemsports?

Best,
SF

good luck to u ! i send u all the power

Love this post is with so much concept :)
Keep going.

You are the man, everybody is using steem geedily to make money without giving anything back. But you my man are giving alot more than you are receiving. You've got my respect.

Thats a very nice thing of you to say! I appreciate the support everyone, reeally.

Awesome! Gotta spread the word, let's take all of the intelligent people from the other platforms. Leave Facebook to the mediocre users.

Thats the idea! Let those who see the value come, and those who don't can stay on Facebook lol

it will be a natural selection process

Mighty good luck! I'm sure you'll make this happen (if not now then in the near future) :D

It's already happening! ;]

That's the spirit!

I will be in seattle actually this september and will keep my eyes open for that billboard!!!

You better snap a photo and share it with the community for me :D

This is what I would also expect from the local Steemians here. They'll be both surprised & amazed seeing a Steemit billboard in their city :DDD

Excellent strategy! Let's get more in here! Good luck!

That's amazing man! You just convinced me to do the same for my city. Would you be willing to consult me on they key aspects?

I'm also in the marketing, but mostly in the digital space.
I have a friend with a private outdoor network and the prices are ridiculously low. (I'm talking about the capital of an European country).

I think I'm able to negotiate for a 2 weeks period that will cost me about $200-250 only. Looking forward to receive a reply from you.

Go for it man! Once you show this community what you are working on they have no issue helping crowdfund it and more quality users is the name of the game! I would suggest you figure out your budget first though and then contact the appropriate parties and explain exactly what you are doing, perhaps they have ways to work out better deals for the purpose..

I for example have been asking for boards that are not filled or last minute etc to get the most for my money.

@decentralizd, the lady owning the private billboard network is a friend of me. We were even teammates in a startup few years ago. I'll get the best possible deal.

Would you be willing to send me the .psd files for the billboards?
I would understand if you refuse. I just prefer to rely on other's people progress and speed up the execution.

Of course! That is one massive relationship you should lean on! Perhaps go bigger and I can help you raise funds? This seems like it's a no brainer..

Thumb up, man! I have the healthy business environment around me. I think we could definitely make it happen and it won't event take us a lot of efforts.

Whats an email i can send the files to when they are 100% completed, approved?

Use [email protected]. You could share them by Google Drive as well.

Morning @decentralizd!

Just spoke with the company. The size of the offered billboard is 4 x 3 meters. They we'll send me a quote once I confirm the deal and send them the .psd files.

As a side note, they even offered a 2nd location for increasing the visibility. I can't say what I'll choose at the end, but I'm already waiting for a follow up from you :)

just a quick one, is the text big enough for the url, the most important part. just imagine at range it might be hard to read unless you were right up next to it. but awesome what you're doing.

I've designed many billboards in my years, the distance from the bridge to these boards is only like 100 ft, it will be fine. I design everything with the eyeballs of the users in mind, even my websites!

no worries. trust ya, just throwing it out their bro. another set of eyes and all that! :)

This is awesome! I'm pumped about steemit, too. I'll start talking about it on my morning radio show tomorrow. By the way, I drove through Seattle on the way to Bellingham, WA to catch the Ferry on the Alaska Marine Highway to begin my Alaskan adventure. Seattle is a beautiful city-at least what I saw of it, and it's where grunge started!

Hey James, could you drop a link to your morning radio show?

Sure. You can grab the app or just check out the website at kinyradio.com. Alaska is in its own time zone, so I could be on in yours at like 2am, depending on what time zone you're in. :)

Whoooaaaaaaa, that's some great stuff in the doing decentralized soldier, kudos from Egypt

I was thinking of telling my close friend sand helping out homeless people but hey, a billboard works too haha

That seems like a good idea to me...it will be nice o see a photo of the billboard. :)

Wow these designs look awesome!! Resteemed to share the message :)

Thanks Hannah! As Always!

I enjoyed reading your story, and I like the decentralized logo!
Congrats on the billboard 👍

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $75.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 20 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

YES, I love this idea, bench ads too maybe......I am going to look into it around Highland Park CA.

Great idea! :)

By the way, I'll participate in @joseph's contest (
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@joseph/win-a-free-trip-to-lisbon-portugal-to-attend-steemfest-ii) with the billboard idea in my country plus my genaral Steemit vision. Will give you credits as the first one who has launched it.

Let me summarize what happened today: the outdoor advertising agency is ready to send me a quote as soon as I confirm I'm. Their sizes are 4 x 3 meters and the location I've chosen is a young student's neighborhood. People there are mostly crazy about Facebook and Instagram, but we'll see if this is slightly changing when the billboard is installed.

I was just wondering today, if there where "others" like us in Seattle :)
New person here at Steemit, and also from West Seattle! I was just at Alki today, right down from the WS Bridge.
Love your billboard sign idea!!