You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My perspective on the value of Steem Power

in #steem7 years ago

See I can't really do that @eturnerx. I just left a comment yesterday on @charliefuchs post about people begging for follows and upvotes and I said this

"The goal is for the community to produce good content and be paid for that content. If someone can transfer SBD to a bot account and then their posts get auto upvoted it defeats the purpose of the community producing good content for the community. I would rather take a slow and steady growth by gaining real followers and real upvotes than to pay for upvotes.

Now I have nothing against voting trails, because in my experience the voting trail has come from a certain individual (pp are his initials) upvoting my post. That I am ok with because an actual person initiated that. That's just my 2 cents, well 1 cent in my case."

Sort:  

I can appreciate your reasoning. Quality content is what I'm here for too. Something to consider: Your voting power has value. Your SBD has value. In terms of you spending your value on self promotion, what's the difference between a self-upvote and a bot upvote?

A self upvote is like having self-esteem, you are proud of your own work and accomplishments. People respond positively to those who have confidence and self-esteem.

A bot upvote is a cold, lifeless, emotionless digital entity doing what it was programmed to do.

There is no esteem in a machine. There is no sense of pride and honor in a machine. There is no way for a machine to recognize and truly appreciate the effort or lack of effort an individual puts in to a post.

So, pride for a post enough to spend value worth pennies (self-vote), but not pride enough to spend value worth an SBD or two (bot-vote)?
The bots are cold-emotionless machines that lack judgement but they only act on instruction from us.

This conversation reminds me of a scene from The Big Bang Theory.

"Leonard: Of course she did. Anyway, that’s not what I was gonna say. When I was ten years old, I built a hugging machine.

Penny: A hugging machine?

Leonard: Yeah. I got a dressmaker’s mannequin, I stuffed it with an electric blanket so it would be warm, and built two radio-controlled arms that would hug me and pat my back.

Penny: Oh, that is so sad.

Leonard: You know what the saddest part was?

Penny: What?

Leonard: My father used to borrow it."

I think, for the purposes of this conversation, we're operating on two different idea of value. That's the only way see any logic in what you're saying. Oh well. Steem on.

Please please do not misunderstand me. I am by no means passing judgment on anyone who uses an up voting bot. I have friends on here that I know in real life before steemit who use up voting Bots. I've got no issue with that. It's just for myself I cannot use them. I would feel like I did not actually earn the upvotes that I received. To me it would feel like I'm having to pay somebody to be my friend or in the instance of the BBT show building a robot to give me a hug.

Can I get 1 or 2 SBD from giving a bot a penny of SP?

I don't see how that's relevant.

Sorry I was at work, didn't see your replies til now.

Here is what I was trying to say, as a minnow, if I upvote myself, I get a penny. It cost me nothing from my wallet because it comes from the pool allotted to me each day. So basically it's a free penny. Now if I decided to pay a bot to upvote my posts that is going to cost me 1 SBD from my wallet and i have no idea how much it will net me in an upvote. Here is my question though. Without REAL people upvoting my post, how would I have 1 SBD to give the bot? I mean I could post 10x a day for 10 days and upvote myself to get that 1 SBD.

I guess I put more value on the interactions with real people than I do with the $ amount a post earns. We all know how this platform works. If people like you and/or the content you put out, they will upvote you.