Moving to Hive

in #steem4 years ago

For the past three and a half years, I've been active on Steem with the handbrake on, since I didn't want to spend too much energy on a platform owned by one company. Less than an hour from now, Hive will launch, and there will finally be a platform I can use and promote without any reservations about centralization.

I'm impressed by how quickly the witnesses have moved. Some people are doing a lot of work in the background. Let's accept that mistakes and difficult choices will be made (one discussed below). It really feels like a luxury that I don't have to do anything other than log in to another site. And maybe Steempeak will take care of that.

I won't ignore Steem completely. I still need to answer some replies, I'll post links to my Hive posts, I'll post and upvote shitposts. Maybe I'll test bots that might be a little spammy here. It will be refreshing to let my hair down for a chance, and stop worrying about downvotes or any consequences.

friendship ended.jpg

Question

There's one thing I didn't understand in the announcement:

The Hive airdrop will only be performed on the current version of the Steem blockchain (as of the date of this post). Any "emergency hardforks" performed prior to the airdrop will not be eligible.

What does this mean for posts published between the announcement and the launch? Will they be included on Hive, and will they be rewarded there?

Rollercoaster trading

No one knows what will happen to the price of Steem and Hive. It's going to be a wild ride. It wouldn't surprise me if someone managed to prop up the Steem price for a while. I'm signing up with Ionomy after posting this, so I can start trading Hive coins today.

No coins for you

Good news: Steemconnect will migrate as HiveSigner.

Bad news: the creator of Steemworld, @steemchiller, who had disagreements with witnesses, is on the blacklist, since he voted for some of the Tronbots as witnesses. I don't think it was necessary to exclude regular users who voted for at least two of the sock puppets. Some people are saying they ended up on the blacklist without doing so. There will be an appeals process once the dust settles.

By the way, if you're saying "it's not a blacklist", you're doing corporate PR-style semantics and I'll trust you a bit less in the future.

Censorship

Tron is now censoring posts in favor of Hive from the Steemit website. That's a preview of what we can expect from Justin Sun when he will have full power over the Steem blockchain.

More dirty tricks will be coming. I recommend changing your password on Hive. And rehost any images you hosted on Steemit in your old posts if you want to keep them visible on Hive apps. Something to do while you're at home in self-quarantine!

Are you on Twitter? Follow the fan account hivepeople and the offical account hiveblocks.

See you on the other side soon!

Sort:  



Join the community in our migration to Hive, a community built blockchain for the community. All Steem account holders will receive equivalent stake on the new Hive blockchain.

Please follow @innerhive on twitter for more information.