You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My perspective on the value of Steem Power

in #steem7 years ago

I'm a dolphin. I think, for minnows, upvoting yourself is not a big problem, but you don't get much reward for it either.
Self-upvotes is a bigger problem once your SP builds up.
So, maybe get into the habbit of using your upvotes to build community instead.

Sort:  

What level do you have to be at to be considered a dolphin @eturnerx? I'm still very new to all this, I've only been here just over 2 months.

The thing I wonder is, if even as a minnow upvoting your own post is a bad thing, why do the devs even give us the button to make that an option when we create a post? I know I would have had a post or two with 0 pay out if it wasn't for my autoupvote and my wife's upvote. 2 cents is better than nothing and honestly that kitten play fighting video I did should have earned alot more. I mean who doesn't love kittens?

Dunno. But, as an arbitrary measure, I think dolphinhood is about 1,000SP with 500 followers.
Consider checking out @minnowsupport project (MSP). Also, throw some SBD at the upvote bots where they give more value than they cost.

See I can't really do that @eturnerx. I just left a comment yesterday on @charliefuchs post about people begging for follows and upvotes and I said this

"The goal is for the community to produce good content and be paid for that content. If someone can transfer SBD to a bot account and then their posts get auto upvoted it defeats the purpose of the community producing good content for the community. I would rather take a slow and steady growth by gaining real followers and real upvotes than to pay for upvotes.

Now I have nothing against voting trails, because in my experience the voting trail has come from a certain individual (pp are his initials) upvoting my post. That I am ok with because an actual person initiated that. That's just my 2 cents, well 1 cent in my case."

I can appreciate your reasoning. Quality content is what I'm here for too. Something to consider: Your voting power has value. Your SBD has value. In terms of you spending your value on self promotion, what's the difference between a self-upvote and a bot upvote?

A self upvote is like having self-esteem, you are proud of your own work and accomplishments. People respond positively to those who have confidence and self-esteem.

A bot upvote is a cold, lifeless, emotionless digital entity doing what it was programmed to do.

There is no esteem in a machine. There is no sense of pride and honor in a machine. There is no way for a machine to recognize and truly appreciate the effort or lack of effort an individual puts in to a post.

So, pride for a post enough to spend value worth pennies (self-vote), but not pride enough to spend value worth an SBD or two (bot-vote)?
The bots are cold-emotionless machines that lack judgement but they only act on instruction from us.

This conversation reminds me of a scene from The Big Bang Theory.

"Leonard: Of course she did. Anyway, that’s not what I was gonna say. When I was ten years old, I built a hugging machine.

Penny: A hugging machine?

Leonard: Yeah. I got a dressmaker’s mannequin, I stuffed it with an electric blanket so it would be warm, and built two radio-controlled arms that would hug me and pat my back.

Penny: Oh, that is so sad.

Leonard: You know what the saddest part was?

Penny: What?

Leonard: My father used to borrow it."

Can I get 1 or 2 SBD from giving a bot a penny of SP?