[STEEM] And Now, for Extra Irony ...

in #steem4 years ago

… I can't even log into SteemPeak to manage tokens, posts, or any other sort of activity, through SteemConnect or SteemPeak's own login system (which at least still works over here on @PeakD, which I still maintain is a terrible name since once you've peaked your on the way down or the name is implying getting maximum dick).

Look, I was no great supporter of this whole Hive blockchain split in the first place, in part because I felt that it was done in the exact opposite of the spirit of community by a group of witnesses who certainly had all the opportunity in the world to fix things before Justin Sun stepped in and then proceeded to Nice Job Breaking It Hero by doing exactly what they feared a large investor would do, use pooled stake to enforce whatever law-in-code they wanted to. Thanks, guys.

Of course, JS, given every opportunity to say useful things to the people – the vast majority of people – who were still using the platform, managed to screw it up at every turn, go full authoritarian, and did so in a way which was insanely stupid. No, I'm not talking about his original plan to use the stake he had legitimately purchased from a legitimate holder in a way completely in accordance with the code-as-law. I'm talking about changing the code to illegitimately lock out other people because they were saying things that he didn't like and doing things he didn't want. That's exactly what the witnesses did in the first place which soured me on their entire plan.

Now where are we? We have a blockchain without tools that have been ported for discovery and communication updates. We have another blockchain without the ability to even access it for a multitude of reasons. We have a lot of people who are responsible for the shitty situation both of them are in at a very specific level.

And you have the rest of us who just wanted a nice, stable social media platform with a simple, basic community mechanism where, in theory, possibly, we might see a few pennies now and again in order to buy a cup of coffee.

Nice job burning it to the ground, you guys. Nice job.

Light My Fire

You spend years running around in circles, arms in the air, screaming hodl at the top of your lungs, begging for a big investor to come along and buy their way into stake. One comes along who has some ideas, and immediately you start telling everyone how terrible it is but there is a pump and dump coming – you know, all the people that you had been telling to hodl for several years. And then you bail, splitting out your own service, raising some significant questions about what you'd actually been up to for the last two years. You screamed and yelled and stamp your feet about the idea of powering down being anything less than 13 weeks and then you decided that what really needed to happen was a mass exodus and the establishment of a new blockchain in under 13 weeks (in under four weeks, truth be told), completely removing the ability for "the community" to respond in any kind of reasonable way.

Great job. I'm sure you can hear my golf clap from there.

Kudos, Far As It Goes

If there's one group which, while I don't agree with everything they've done have at least stood out as doing a good job of the one thing I need them to do (for the most part) it's SteemPeak. Yeah, logins on their main server are totally broken, but given that Steemit.com is also completely and utterly broken for getting to from here, I have a strong suspicion that there are a bunch of bots out there expanding their little guts out, trying to break any kind of access to platforms. Between that and Steem developers deciding to just shut down their service by means of wrongheaded protest, ensuring that their users can't actually migrate to something better, SteemPeak stands out as being relatively stand up guys – even if they can't pick a name for service to save their lives.

I'm just generally disgusted. I suspect I'm not the only one. And that's sad.

But What Are the Options?

If you're looking for a place to be able to post your content, whether it be video or text, blog or travel photos, pop over to LBRY. I can't and won't promise that you are going to make big wads of crypto cash because there aren't just big wads of crypto cash to be made over there. I can't promise that you're going to find a huge audience just waiting to eat up everything you have to say because there really isn't that huge an audience hanging out over there yet. It's going to be on you to find people who are interested in the content you're producing and point them to your work.

But at least they'll be able to see it.

If you want to check it out, come on over to my Operation BSU repository or my Lex Tenebris ID where I'm going to start putting duplicates of content that I would otherwise be posting to Steem/Hive.

In the meantime, I hope everything works out all right for the people involved.

Most of the people involved.

Some of the people involved.

A chunk of the people involved.

You guys.

Sort:  

Never one to mince around with words, although you do generally produce a lot of them when writing about something :)

Good luck in your future endeavors.

Unfortunately, the problem on both sides seems to have been aggravated by people mincing words when they needed to convey a whole thought. And it got worse yet when both sides acted like an echo chamber with nobody on the inside who disagreed with the way things are being done. No argument, no consideration, no connection to the underlying premise "but does this solve the problem?"

The Andromeda Strain made a really good argument for having at least one person on every team be different enough to argue. To want different things, to come from a different background, to provide the necessary opposition for the best ideas to rise to the top. I don't think that happened here and I think we are all worse off for it.

I would love to be persuaded otherwise, but I haven't seen a lot of persuasion coming out of anyone. I've seen a lot of threats, I've seen a lot of intimidation, I've seen a lot of fear mongering – but I haven't seen a lot of persuasion. That's a problem.

I like words. I like explaining myself. I like there to be as little question as possible when I think something is important. If only there were more people in the community with such an inclination.