You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The recent controversy between Steemit Inc and the community - the premine, control, and where it leads this blockchain

in #steem5 years ago

I love it when individuals that are normally silent suddenly speak out with something profound. Like when Silent Bob finally speaks up.

Lots to ponder on here -- as this whole account of events and experiences has some teeth to it. I've heard in numerous different communities some rumblings and grumblings of encounters with Ned -- and/or the SteemitInc operation in general -- and how that experience has left them unimpressed, or otherwise convinced them to leave altogether.

The unaccountable actor label is compelling -- the whole reason that many of us are here is that we're tired of being at the whim of unaccountable actors -- Facebook / Twitter / Whathaveyou -- and were drawn in by the initial promise of decentralized authority.

It's nice to hear a commentary on the kerfuffle that shares so much background and history.

Sort:  

Like when Silent Bob finally speaks up.

LOL, got a good laugh out of that.

The unaccountable actor label is compelling

It's the best way I've figured out how to describe it. I've been pecking around the symptoms of this problem for almost a year now and only recently did I start to frame the conversation around accountability. I'm still not 100% sure it's the best way to describe the situation, but at this moment it's where I'm at and it seems to explain a lot.

the whole reason that many of us are here is that we're tired of being at the whim of unaccountable actors -- Facebook / Twitter / Whathaveyou -- and were drawn in by the initial promise of decentralized authority.

I know that's why I'm here, I've spent my career building applications with a focus on community-centric ideas. It's the entire reason I got involved and wanted to be as involved as I could be and started running as a witness on the network.

I think what we've discovered though is that it's going to take change to actually push a platform like this mainstream. If we had more than one entity like Steemit Inc, we wouldn't be so reliant upon them to succeed.