You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem private keys analogy

in #steem7 years ago

Great post! Learn something everyday about Steemit. Just curious, if Steemit were to be hacked, would your active private key be in jeopardy of being stolen? I am starting to take an ultra paranoid approach to crypto as it is all going up in value so fast. So, I am very uncomfortable with my keys being accessible/known/stored by anyone else besides myself; thus all my BTC is on a Trezor in an undisclosed location in my house :)

Sort:  

Steemit doesn't have access to your private keys, they are stored locally on your browser, it is used for sign transactions locally, just like eSteem does. If Steemit hacked or inaccessible you can always use other user interfaces and apps (eSteem, Busy, ChainBB, etc.). That's the beauty of decentralized network :)

Thanks for clarifying! I can now go to sleep at ease tonight... I know eSteem will always be up and running ;) Cheers!

What is the best way to protect keys in browser?

right awesome times!!!

"all my BTC is on a Trezor in an undisclosed location in my house"

Bitcoin could be making highs of 5k or 10k in future. Maybe you should be a just a bit more paranoid!