You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's time to start paying attention to Steem

in #steem6 years ago

"Most people who hate us, leave us, so what's the big deal?"

It matters because given the abysmal 13% retention rate, when you only have a bunch of hooray-henries populating your platform - then there's something amiss.

The best question would be - "Why does Proof-of-(mis)Stake have this kind of edge case where we shut the whole thing down?" Here's the answer -- because its an inferior solution that requires trust of other nodes by its very design.

Everything bolted on top is because of this base flawed assumption. It adds complexity and gives "edge" cases a huge leg up in happening more than just "once in a while."

I'm here to watch the PoS fail-train come to its logical conclusion. Someone needs to witness it without being blinded by unicorn-vision - if only to write the sober post-mortem the day after.

Sort:  

Yeah, the terrible user retention rate is one of Steemit's biggest problems, at present. To be clear, I would prefer to have both "hoorah-henries" and "hellno-hanks" around, because it makes for more enriching discussion.

I think you have me wrong though. Just because I invested heavily in STEEM doesn't mean I believe PoS will be a sustainable system in the scale of decades. I'm too uneducated on the underlying technology to conclude that with confidence. I also don't think it will keel over tomorrow, next week, or next year, though.

You still didn't answer my question:

what would be a better way of dealing with a similar anomaly than halting things so that everything remains safe until a solution is found and adopted by a supermajority of witnesses, in your view?

but I'm guessing you would say there is no real solution because DPoS is an inherently dysfunctional system in your view.

To be clear, I would prefer to have both "hoorah-henries" and "hellno-hanks" around, because it makes for more enriching discussion.

Hey @d-pend. I suspect that through the same premonitory steps and walkarounds of @talltim, there are yet a few coherent and eloquent "hellno-hanks" here with some interesting and illustrative stuff worth a read to enrich healthy discussions. Maybe everything is not lost and the "hoorah-henries" won't run away with the trophy so easily yet. };)

I'm kinda curious what would you think about that?