Is this the year we achieve 10k minnows?

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

I started this account in March last year with hopes of helping more people to become minnows (500SP+). Back then we had just over 9000 and today we do not have many more. However we do have about 200 more dolphins and a few more orcas, so some people have stepped up two or three levels in that time.

Stats
Stats from @arcange

I think it is vital to give encouragement to small account who are creating good content. Not only does it help to keep them posting on Steem, but there is a chance to get a better mix on the trending page that is usually the same few account.

You can do some of the following:

  • Give votes to the smaller account, if the content is good.
  • Leave comments to tell them if they are doing the right things.
  • If you are working with a curation project then ensure the votes go where they are needed.
  • If you can buy votes for tokens on eSteem, SteemFlagRewards or other projects then consider buying them for these small guys.
  • Give less votes to those who are always trending. They do not really need them.
  • Self-vote less.

You will make less from curation this way, but it is not like Steem is booming. If it improves then we all benefit, so play the long game.

Let us make 2020 the year of Steem.

Steem on!

Sort:  

I'm still in it! Have a !BEER for your hard work @tenkminnows.

Cheers Justin. Have a !BEER yourself.

Howverm we do have about 200 more dolphins and a few more orcas, so some people have stepped up two or three levels in that time.

With your current luck, you might end up with 10K dolphins instead. lol

FYI, spelling mistake in the quote on your end

I would not complain about that. More dolphins makes a big difference in spreading the rewards around, but I realise that some will do it selfishly or maliciously. Most people with that sort of commitments have an incentive to help Steem survive. I've seen my Steem value plummet before.

You cant buy people votes from esteem unless its posted from the esteemapp disktop or mobile :c

Yes, there are limitations to these things.

Yes. What I have done and is going to do in the future, is either buying sbi shares or boost their boost with @treeplanter

Those are other good options.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Congratulations @tenkminnows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

If you can buy votes for tokens on eSteem, SteemFlagRewards or other projects then consider buying them for these small guys.

So buying votes for others is ok? Just shouldn't do it for yourself, right?
I just want to make sure before I do this and receive, or cause for someone else, a down vote prison-love-fest.

Sorry for the late response. I see use of such tokens for buying votes as a little different to using the 'bots' as you generally have to earn those tokens first. There are plenty of people who buy votes for Steem on every post they do with no interest in interacting with anyone. They will always be first to get flagged. All my downvotes are manual and I consider various factors. It's ultimately a personal choice.

Ok, thanks. I know not very long ago, I paid for votes on @minnowbooster and @tipu. These both use approved curators and blacklists like those @themarkymark produce. I was targeted for downvoting in doing so. So I stopped using them. Just wanted to make sure I didn't get myself or others in the cross-hairs if I sent votes to others using the same.


Hey @tenkminnows, here is a little bit of BEER from @justinparke for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment