You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My etiquette rules for voting at Steem

in #steem6 years ago

And it's not considered to be a problem here, right?

Depends on whom you ask. I think it's a problem that too much steem power is concentrated on some few hands; theoretically those people should (out of self-interest) do what they can to promote Steem and make it the best place for newcomers, but in practice they seem to be a bit short-sighted, boosting their steem power by self-voting or running bidbot services.

I've noticed your posts get not so big awards though you're a veteran of Steemit, you've great Voting Power, and your posts are really worth of attention. Why is it so?

I guess there are too few "whales" following me, simply. I haven't done much work on promoting myself or befriending people, I've never used any out-of-band communication (typically chat), etc, and I've never tried to actively search out the bigger fish.

For example, your posts about birth got great award, though it was long ago when you weren't so powerful like now.

That was really the hey-days of steem - there were not so many articles written, and there were quite some amounts of money entering the ecosystem, I also believe there were a serious backlog on approving new accounts for a while, that was keeping the post volume artificially low. Hence, it was easy to get seen and voted for.

Another thing in those heydays, the vote weight algorithm was non-linear, voting power was the square of the steem power. That's pretty insane, it means that the bigger whales could give away hundreds of dollars worth by a simple upvote, while the dolphins could only give upvotes worth some few cents.

Some other things that have changed:

  • there were no vote weight, every vote was 100%
  • There were much less voting power for each vote. Today one has to yield at least 12 votes a day not to waste any voting power, I believe back then the figure was hundreds of votes or something like that.