How has Steem impacted my life? [And wife]

in #steemimpact4 years ago (edited)

Some of you might be thinking - "This guy sold his steem and bought two SUVs!" Others - "This dude lost everything and now lives in the desert!" The truth will be revealed to those who read till the end...

How has steem impacted my life.png

INTUITION IS MORE POWERFUL THAN INTELLECT!

As Steve Jobs once said - "Intuition is a very powerful thing, more powerful than intellect". My father would add - "...at least in your case, as your intellect is not something that you could be proud of!" I could not say I fully support my Dad's opinion, but I do agree with Mr. Jobs. Before revealing how steem impacted my life, I would like to explain how I decided to participate in this contest, announced by @theycallmedan.

The first time I heard about it was two days ago. I thought - "I prefer organizing contests myself rather than participating in someone else's". However, everything changed this morning when I woke up and almost the first thing that popped in my mind was something that happened a while ago. Believe it or not, it was a 4 months old comment Dan left under one of my travel articles.

It was not the comment that was important but the fact that it came into my mind. My intuition told me it was a sign that I should reconsider my participation in Dan's contest. Why? Last year I read a book called "Finding Ultra" written by Rich Roll. One particular line carved into my mind more than others. It was in the form of a question.

"Are you a physical being having a spiritual experience or a spiritual being having a physical one?" These words "rang my bell" and not long after that I started believing my intuition way more than I believe in the logic of my mind. This is how we got here. I was led by intuition. Let's get back to the main topic which is "How has steem impacted my life?"

HOW HAS STEEM IMPACTED MY WIFE LIFE?

If the question was how steem impacted my wife, that would be so simple. I'd say - "She got pregnant". Some people say babies are brought by storks. Others believe that babies are found in cabbages. In this case, I believe my wife's pregnancy has something to do with my involvement in steem related things. You see, in recent months I've noticed a correlation between two things. The more time I spend blogging or educating myself about the blockchain, the bigger her belly gets.

On the other hand, "How has steem impacted my life" is much more complicated and the full answer would be way more complex. However, I will not dive too deep into it and will provide you with a shorter form of an answer. Yes, dear readers. You are right! Steem taught me a few things I did not know before. Or at least I was not aware of them or just didn't care... To illustrate my answer I will share a few examples!

STEEM TAUGHT ME A FEW THINGS!

Steem taught me a few things.png

NOT ONLY YOUNGSTERS ENJOY ADRENALINE!

I remember my first day in kindergarten! Exciting, yet scary. Four or five other boys decided to beat me. Luckily, I was way bigger than them and defending was a piece of cake! It's funny because later those guys became my classmates and after a few years - my best friends.

My first day on Steemit was way better! @Kamile and I got lots of support from other Lithuanians. If my memory does not fail me, the first one to welcome us was onealfa. He gave us a detailed list of tips on how to make a successful kickstart.

What impressed me the most was his "about" section. Since those days it has changed a lot, but one sentence remained the same. It's "Got some adrenaline for me?" In my opinion, @onealfa is one of the coolest guys in this community. One of those crypto adrenaline addicts!

In the last two years, he invested heavily in steem and all kinds of different steem based projects like APPICS, etc. Always following the latest news and shares his opinion in blog posts. All I wanted to say is Thank you onealfa for a warm welcome on our first day!

onealfa.png

THE HOUSE ALWAYS WINS!

Do you remember a project called "Moonsteem"? Back in the day, it was on the hype! Hundreds of steemians lost their minds when "Moonsteem" offered a chance to multiply their steem hundreds of times. Most of them lost everything. Why? I guess it's because greed is a straight way to trouble.

I must admit. In the beginning, I was one of those greedy losers too. At least until I remembered a good old saying that the house always wins. That was the time when I decided to invest in Moonsteem instead of gambling myself.

It turned out that it was a good decision as in a few next weeks I earned a few hundred steem which covered my past losses. However, soon "Moonsteem" team decided to leave the business and everyone got their investments back. Most of the gamblers were taught a good lesson.

moonsteem.png

OVERUSING WORDS LIKE "EXPERIENCE" IS NOT A GOOD IDEA!

Remember when I told you about @theycallmedan's comment that popped up in my mind this morning? I've used the word "experience" for many times in a single post and his comment sounded like this - "It's funny when I travel I notice they call everything "the experience" - The Coffee Shop... "experience" - The Downtown "experience" - and I found out that word experience tacked on an extra 30-50 bucks lol. My wife and I quickly learned to just go to the damn coffee shops ourselves and save the money."

My answer was - "When I read Lithuanian travel blogs this repetitive use of words drives me crazy too. For example, sometimes it looks like everything in the world is "amazing" or "breathtaking". I try to avoid doing this myself[...] Now I'm aware of this habit that I have and hopefully, I'll choose some other words in the future..." :D Dan taught (or at least reminded) me that using words like "experience" too often is not the best idea!

However, it is not the most important thing. The most important thing that all these platforms built on top of steem blockchain is a great place to enhance all kinds of skills. There is always something new to learn and there is always someone that does not hesitate to criticize constructively. In this case, I am talking about my "Broken English" and Dan's comment! :D

They call me Dan.jpg

SPAMMING DOESN'T LEAD ANYWHERE!

Everything in this world has its ups and downs. My involvement in steem related projects too. I think it is safe to say that for at least a few months last year my faith in steem faltered. Partially because of the vote-buying/selling culture. Partially because of thousands of spam posts sitting on top of trending pages and overshadowing everything else.

This was when I took a "steem vacation" and tried out a tool called "Share2Steem". It looks like now the project is dead, but back then it was on hype. What I did was I connected my "Twitter" account to "Share2Steem" so whenever I posted something on Twitter, share2steem posted it on steem blockchain. What is more, I used another online tool to follow multiple travel blogs and share their newest posts on my Twitter automatically.

When I finally got back to the world of steem, what I found was a few extra steem in my wallet and a lot of active followers missing. At that moment the steem eco-system was changing quickly and I promised myself to fix my moral compass and never spam the blockchain. Even if my faith in it will falter again.

spamming steem blockchain.png

PEOPLE BEHIND STEEM-BASED PROJECTS ARE EVEN MORE INTERESTING THAN PROJECTS THEMSELVES!

As some of you already know, in the last few years @kamile and I traveled the world quite a lot! Different people do this for different reasons. Some of them like being in nature or visiting UNESCO world heritage sites. Others - enjoy food tourism or learning about different cultures.

For us, it was always about meeting new people and looking for those ones who live in a very different way than we do, believe in different things than the ones we believe in. What it does is it helps to extend the boundaries of our consciousness, helps to see the world from other perspectives...

When it comes to steem, for me it is always about the people too. Yes, all the different projects are super interesting to follow. However, what brings the most excitement is learning about the people behind those projects. For example...

Travelfeed.io and Julian Peters. As its developers like to say, @travelfeed is created by travelers for travelers. The main person behind the technical part of this platform is Julian Peters better known as @jpphotography. You won't believe this, but he had to stop his university studies to continue the development of the platform and did most of the technical work on his own. How amazing is that?

ONCE AGAIN... HOW HAS STEEM IMPACTED MY LIFE?

Steem gave me countless hours of exciting steem space exploration ("nolifing" in front of a laptop screen), introduced me to various projects and people and taught me a few things that I did not know or was not aware of before. As you already realised, I wrote this post for the sake of fun... :D This is why I mentioned only the first few things that came to my mind and nothing too serious... :D


If you are eager to read some more solid posts, check out
How steem impacted my life: A TheyCallMeDan Initiative by @jaynie,
How Steem Has Completely Changed My Life by @khaleelkazi
How Has Steem Changed My Life? Testimonials! by @elsiekjay


YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE!

7 days in Jordan: How to travel if you are poor!?
30 days in Iran: The land of misleading stereotypes
30 days in Nepal: Is it as extraordinary as they say?
30 days in Laos: Visiting the world's most bombed country
Holybread.io: New steem-based game!


Sort:  

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because you recently bought a vote from a bid bot (minnowbooster).In our efforts to support #newsteem, authors who participate in vote buying are not eligible for our votes.

But don't worry. It only takes 7 days of not buying votes to be able to receive our vote again, so maybe one of your next posts will make it!

Take care and steem on!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here