You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Theology of Steemit Series: Article 1 - Introducing the Series

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey, @genxrev,

This sounds like a fine foundation for your new series. I look forward to reading more entries.

Reflecting on what you've said thus far, Steemit is an incredibly diverse community, and perhaps blessed for now with somewhat of a youthful vigor. The chasm you've referred to could be viewed in a secular sense as the approximate 80/20 split between men of good will and sociopaths.

Because of the tremendous potential for good, my feeling is that the well-meaning majority will, over time, develop appropriate distributed means to deal with those here who are strictly self-interested.

I have personally thus far (about 1.5 years) found an abundance of benefit, both real and potential. I've discovered and befriended people remotely who I would love to and hope to meet one day in "real life." I've been encouraged and stimulated to unleash some latent creativity that had been languishing for years. I've even garnered some literal financial benefit, and seen others do so as well.

Steem on, my friend. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Sort:  

Thank you @creatr for your feedback here. I share your general optimism that over time those of good intent and will, will ultimately find effective means to mitigate the less helpful dynamics. I suppose my hope is that by doing this theological work, I can for those willing to entertain such things provide an additional reflective tool to strengthen the case and community's resolve to pursue Steem / Steemit as something that isn't just a potential good, but increasingly becoming with our commitments an actualized good for many and many more yet to come.

I'm with you in finding an abundance of good as well... though my sample of 14 days pales to your 1.5 years! I've certainly enjoyed my time and meeting with folks like yourself and many others. It is possible that in this write up I place too much emphasis on the "rift" I've seen when in truth what I really hope to spend more time on is the second which would be the encouragement and cheering for those who are working and creating and interacting and creating an experience that I know already for me personally feels like a new home online.

Love your insight and encouragements.

and right back at'cha - "Steem on my friend."