I donated $300 to a popular Pokemon Go Youtuber just to prove a point about Steemit. Details inside.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm an avid #PokemonGo player and I just so happen to watch a few awesome vloggers who make daily videos on youtube.... so I thought why aren't they on Steemit? They put enough effort into their craft and should be rewarded!

I have been playing Pokemon Go since beta last year and while the game has many pit falls and room for improvement, all in all its a very solid game and I usually play every single daily, it helps me get up and get outside and especially helps me remember that exercising is something I should be doing every single day. In order to perfect ones craft they must do research, and to keep my research simple I follow YouTube Vloggers such as Trainer Tips, Reversal, Mystic7 & JTGily, all are super fun to watch and not only produce good videos but also are very consistent which is key to any good content creator. I often thought to myself, man what if these guys knew about Steem, they would be not only killing it but bringing in thousands of new users that could also have a shot at becoming content creators and curators as well.... they treat their channels like full-time jobs afterall.. always high quality and full of effort. They deserve it..

But it turns out getting ahold of them is quite difficult to do, since so many people ping them daily, I come off as a salesman or something... so what to do?

You would think sending an email and/or simply pinging your favorite creators would be simple, but it turns out there are sometimes hundreds if not thousands of other people pinging them that very day and it's very hard to constantly keep up with these sorts of requests, especially with something as complex as Steemit... so not only was it difficult to get someones attention, explaining Steemit in under 150 characters and/or a sort of spam email seemed like a it was turning out to be a much more daunting task than I though...

Bingo; Time to stop playing games and throw up a serious offer.... before anymore thinking I quickly tweeted out my challenge, worst case scenario I am set back $300 for nothing, but i'll survive, lets do this!

After a few attempts of sending emails, tweeting folks and just playing Mr. Nice Guy, I decided I had one last shot left before I moved on to recruiting other users as obviously these guys had no interest in hearing me out.... what's left to lose? I earn a good chunk of Steem here each month and I thought it would be a good use of the Steem, even it all I did was donate it to one of these creators, I mean isn't that the purpose of Steem anyways? 

So I decided I would put my money where my mouth is and atleast throw out a sort of dare...


And then, the magic begun!


Anywho, two out of four of them are now doing a bit of research on Steem now and I would love to ping them with this post so they can watch it grow! I will be sending the $300 donation shortly with this message with it to Reversal since he responded first!

//More @Decentralizd Posts from this week:

Why you should follow @Decentralizd on www.Streemian.com! Get more rewards & never miss a post again!

https://steemit.com/steem/@decentralizd/why-you-should-follow-decentralizd-on-www-streemian-com-get-more-rewards-and-never-miss-a-post-again

What if there was an EASY & QUICK way to buy Steem T-Shirts and other branded items with Steem and have them shipped worldwide? Good news, it will exist soon! #Steemthreads

https://steemit.com/steemit/@decentralizd/what-if-there-was-an-easy-and-quick-way-to-buy-steem-t-shirts-and-other-branded-items-with-steem-and-have-them-shipped-worldwide

5 Reasons I'm so stoked for @Zappl to launch! Twitter is so going down... if you haven't heard of Zappl yet you're missing out.

https://steemit.com/zappl/@decentralizd/5-reasons-i-m-so-stoked-for-zappl-to-launch-twitter-is-so-going-down-if-you-haven-t-heard-of-zappl-yet-you-re-missing-out

The top 5 things YOU can do to help Steem grow, get better and evolve. Easy steps to getting involved in Steemit marketing 101.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@decentralizd/the-top-5-things-you-can-do-to-help-steem-grow-get-better-and-evolve-easy-steps-to-getting-involved-in-steemit-marketing-101 

//KEEP CALM AND STEEM ON!

//Don't forget to follow, upvote and re-steem! 


Sort:  

Thats pretty cool..... i saw that Steemit has 200,000 current users. I expect that number to increase ezponentially as time moves on. $300?!?! Sounds like you spent your money wisely as this may be a $300 post! Good luck.

Hehe, yeah, hopefully he will make his money back from this post alone ;)

Yea and between the 4 of these guys there is something like 2 million subscribers easily! so that would be huge and #pokemongo would become everyones full time job and it would rise to a top tag on the list lol!