It's my Steemit Birthday week, I am officially one year old :D Expressing my gratitude for the community!

in #steemit6 years ago

Apparently I'm not the only one who joined last June, I don't know what happened but I have seen tons of birthday posts this last month and here I am to add another to the pile!

As an artist and musician, when @vachemorte called me to tell me he had found Steemit I was over the top excited. Getting any kind of compensation as an artist is pretty tough and most people consider it to be a pipe dream, I was already a crypto fan and a huge proponent of decentralization.

I signed up immediately.

I think my first few posts made less than a dollar, but that was still something, compared to all other social media sites where the bigwigs are making money off of our content I saw this as a step in the right direction.

What I didn't expect was all the friendships I would make here.

friends.gif

I pretty quickly found the minnowsupport project and despite my lack of experience in chat rooms, I slowly jumped in and realized that there were some really cool people! I was on Steemit every second of the day possible but if I wasn't there I was on the PAL server. After hanging around for sometime and being helpful I was asked to be a moderator. I was a bit reluctant, at the time the server only had maybe 3 or 4 thousand people but that's still a ton! I thought about it for a bit and accepted and I'm glad I did.

Working with @aggroed, @crimsonclad, @discordiant, @clayboyn, @gmuxx, @kubbyelizabeth, @ma1neevent, @r0nd0n, @swelker101 and @isaria has not only been a load of fun but has also taught me a wealth of skills I didn't even know I had in me. I have learned to be more kind, compassionate and patient, I have learned to be thankful and giving and how to de-escalate situations. I have also learned how to have more of a backbone. Sometimes one must push aside the instinct of kindness to protect a group from harm.

1yzvba.jpg

I will be forever grateful for these skills.

I have also joined the @slothicorn team as an admin on the server that was created by the mad genius @stellabelle! Slothicorn aims to teach artists how to use blockchain technology to free themselves through art. This too has opened up opportunities to meet tons of other artists and given me access to new projects. I even got some of my work shown at the SXSW decentralized art show:

Enlight145.JPG

I can't forget to add @dsound where I also moderate, a big thanks to @prc for building a platform for musicians. I have met many wonderful musicians in the dsound community and I'm excited to see where this tech will go in the future.

Last but certainly not least, I want to give the biggest shoutout to all those I have collaborated with, musically and artistically, those who have joined my contest and all the wonderful people who have been kind enough to support me! I have even met some Steemians in real life and they are cool as heck!

Steemit has had a lot of ups and downs, lots of bickering and issues to work out. We are a young community after all and we have some growing pains to get through. The community of amazing people I have met here is what keeps me coming back,

julia_kiss.gif

Much Love,
Julia

Sort:  

20uovd.jpg

Relevant meme is relevant. #juliafan

is that you at the bottom? i'd never imagined your smile because of your avatar. moar photos!

Yes it's a rare sighting of me :)

I've been on steemit longer than you?
Interesting, I didn't realize that.

I see you joined in May so apparently yes, your a steemit old timer :D

Happy birthday mate! I’m also a June steemian son!
In case you missed it, have a look to this post, I think it is very interesting:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@paulag/did-you-join-steemit-in-june-2017-then-this-post-is-for-you-happy-steemit-anniversary

Oh well Happy birthday to you too! Thanks for linking that I hadn't seen it, @paulag always has the most interesting breakdowns!

Happy Steem Bday! 🎂 🎁

Thanks Heaterville :D

Nice post. I think steemit a fun medium, but can be creative with writing also make money.

Yes it's revolutionary!

happy super duper steemday! wishing you great love and light and endless success.

Thank you, all the same to you :)

Wooohooo congratulations! I wish you further artistic growth and success! And a lot of Steemit birthdays:)

Thanks so much and the same to you cookie :D

Happy birthday Julia! bless!!

Thanks kenny, bless to you as well!

Happy steemit birthday!!!! I have been on a year now too, haven't had time to keep up with posting though, maybe I will give it another go!

Theres never a better time to start posting than now, thanks!

Let's be honest here, you are the best thing that happen to Steemit in the last year and it's mostly my fault. Anyway, you are cute <3

All your fault :p

Congratulations, Julia!
You are a sweet one year old baby. ;)

Haha thanks for the congrats!

Happy Steemiversary! IT'S been awesome working alongside you at PAL.

Thank you and same to you Muxx, here's to another year!

Happy Steemit first birthday @juliakponsford!! You are beautiful! Thanks for sharing your story. I am fairly new, joined March this year and I too am making less than a dollar for my posts. I am still learning from many kind Steemians here like yourself and @kristyglas (I followed you through her :). Both your arts are amazing! This place is such a cool platform to express ourselves for a good cause in so many different ways with so many different people and community.

A big part of building a following here is making friends and finding people with similar interests. there are lots of great communities on discord such as minnowsupport (minnopond.org is the invite). Joining contests and leaving lots of comments is a great way to get started. I wish you success!

I never clued in about birthday posts, lol - got to remember that, mine should be coming up in a couple of months I think.

Happy Birthday

Greetings from India

Wow congratulations on your first anniversary at Steem it must be exciting to have your first year in the community, sharing excellent content with us :D

Congratulations on your anniversary, a fabulous story. You've had a busy year, I'm glad that you've found it rewarding. Here's to the next year!

Happy birthday Julia !!!!!!!

Hopefully there is a big chocolate cake involve in this celebration... and if so please send me a piece!! happy steemitversary sweet girl!

Congratulations on your steem birthday and here's to many more. I am forever grateful for the work you do with @msp-makeaminnow.

Thank you eturnerx much appreciated, it wouldn't be possible without you <3

Congratulation and thank YOU for supporting the community :) it was also you who brought back my motivation for doing new art!