You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Theology of Steemit Series: Article 1 - Introducing the Series

in #steemit6 years ago

I guess if I could put a label on where I hang, it would be with Progressive Liberals. Kind of refreshing after 30 years as an Evangelical theologian/apologist.

I was at one time investigating the Charismatic movement within Lutheranism, about the time I happened to make a trip to Minneapolis which was the epicenter of the movement with the likes of a Lutheran pastor by the name of Pfotenhauer. Even contemplated becoming a Charismatic Lutheran pastor, until I realized that if I had my way, there wouldn't be much Lutheran about it LOL! Liturgy has never been meaningful for me.

Lately my passion has been to share theology that unites Christians and Muslims as members of one historic Abrahamic faith. Would love to at some point establish a local body of believers who draw from the wisdom of the 3 monotheistic faiths, with a concerted effort to get at what the founders were all about before their respective leaders steered the faithful in directions never intended by the founders.

BTW, you didn't miss much in Wittenburg. Had more of a feeling of a Farmer's Market or County Fair, but then I didn't get invited to go indoors with the big cheese. Sure enjoyed the hot honey wine on a cold October morning though :)

Sort:  

MMMMmmm I do love me some Mead... warmed and spiced... soo tasty. Interesting to hear your "hatrack" - I hear ya on the liturgy stuff... I'm kind of a mutt that way. I can see parts of it yet useful when really explored, but as a "front door" of faith it probably serves more as a hindrance than most Lutheran-types would feel comfortable admitting.

... all of course in my nearly never to be terribly humble opinion :)