You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF19 "Equality" Coming Soon: Linear Rewards!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Looking for a definitive clarification on what happens to posts created between 13th June 1500 UTC and 20th June 1500 UTC, that'll start paying out right after HF19. Will the pending payouts hold as voted before HF19? So, if I made a post today and one whale voted it up to $20, will the payout still be $20 on the 26th? Or will it be retroactively "linearized"? I'm inclined to believe the linear rewards will only start from votes given out after HF19, and thus the existing payouts will be honoured, but a clarification would be appreciated. Suggest you add that to the post.

This is definitely a good step forward from the absence of communication surrounding HF18. Eagerly awaiting those exciting announcements!

Sort:  

Haha, I have experienced in HF 17. My post for $ 18 (that's a big amount for me) to 0 when HF 17.

Yeah, that was a mess. While it was announced on Github, it was never communicated properly to the community. That's why a lot of people were upset - had they known it was to be expected, they would be prepared for it.

Similarly, it's important to know what kind of changes we should expect to pending payouts this time.

I think the best demonstration of the rewards change would be to have 20 or so whales vote on my comment with their full power and then wait to see if the payout remains the same or decreases after the fork.

I just gave you a puny minnow upvote, because that was very funny!

A brilliant idea!

Cg

Nice try :)

Yes, do the experiment. Whales vote on my last post so I can record the results.

In a recent post by @timcliff, I believe he said that if a post hasn't paid out by the time the hard fork is implemented, it will be retroactively linearized.

Which seems to be in direct contradiction with this post.

As of right now the top 20 witnesses are all running 0.19 but the changes described below will not go into effect until tomorrow morning (Tuesday, June 20th, 2017 at 15:00:00 UTC). Once those changes in logic take effect, the voting power of the users of any Steem-based application will be directly proportional to the amount of Steem Power they possess.

Need a clarification from the developers.

Will vote impact also be implemented retroactively? Will everyone's individual voting power initially take a massive hit? If all my 100% votes from the last week turn into 400% votes I'm going to be totally drained lol.

Haha, good question. I haven't heard that to be the case.

😲😂 it better not be