You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flag Wars: The Path to Victory

in #steemit6 years ago

Who creates all the value we enjoy here in the rewards pool? Investors.

Should investors have a larger voice than others in how that rewards pool is paid out in order to protect their investment?

Downvotes ensure content that would generally be seen as not valuable by the outside community don't show up on trending and lower the reputation of Steemit and STEEM which hurts investors and eventually lowers the value of the rewards pool for everyone.

If you don't think downvotes are useful, I suggest reading the white paper again.

Sort:  

What do you think about this?

"malekalmsaddi troll abuse and flawed steemit system"
https://steemit.com/steemit/@david-michael/malekalmsaddi-troll-abuse-and-flawed-steemit-system

That's the problem. If you don't like something, you can easily silence others, especially new users.

I've spent some more time looking at this problem today and I see examples of exactly that - new users being turned off the system right at the beginning. After my initial enthusiasm I am starting to wonder seriously if Steemit is for me after all. I've even seen one account that appears to have been created purely for the purpose of annoying other users by flagging them (I don't mention that account here for fear of being attacked - i.e. I am self-censoring myself here). The only way forward I can see with the system as it is, is if some of the powerful users start recognizing the problem and acting to protect new users who get wrongly attacked as they join.

I will try to convice others that flags should be removed from the platform but I don't expect results any time soon.

Should investors have a larger voice than others in how that rewards pool is paid out in order to protect their investment?

Absolutely.

My point is that if something got to trending page, it must have been considered valuable by lot of people or by big investors. Most likely we just don't see value that other people see. For example: I don't see any value in the "burning posts" but lot of other people do. The right way to solve it would be to convice people by dialog rather than by flags.
burn_post.png

I am happy to hear opposing view anyway, thanks.