You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Announcement March 15 2017

in #steemit7 years ago

LOL. Did you heard about Barbra Streisand effect? Moreover, this is blockchain bro - what was written into blockchain, stays on the blockchain forever :) Now everyone will read it, because it is like forbidden fruit - but personally I think it will be good for community to understand how important it is to have solid foundation - proper licence which empowers progress and innovation.

Sort:  

I helped write a bunch of this code, you think I don't know the data is still there? But the retraction by the author has meaning.
It's inevitable that the license will get tweaked with time, but a change to an MIT license now is not going to help Steem holders.

@blocktrades I'm replying over here due to comment depth limits and I'm replying to this...

I'm thinking about accepting checks, that would eliminate fees from credit cards and from fiat->btc fees. But we would need to add in enough lead time to make sure the check can't be cancelled (well, we could make exceptions for small amounts and good customers). But we need to add some more code on the backend to support it as well.

I'm speaking from experience here. That is a colossally bad idea.
You'd be much better going with http://www.authorize.net/solutions/merchantsolutions/merchantservices/echeck/

That way it's instant clearing and greatly reduced risks of chargebacks. Also I wouldn't even accept that unless you have the appropriate AML/KYC measures in place. Jumio is good for this.
Namaste!

I know that you know, and I believe, that you know that I know that you know :)

For me it is just funny how anyone can say that post was deleted (what is misleading for newbies) where in fact new version was published.

Yes, fair enough, deleted isn't the correct word, it's just stuck in my brain because that's what was put there in it's place.

Are you all gonna take prepaid cards any time soon?
I've even given up id and still can't buy btc or steem.

I'm thinking about accepting checks, that would eliminate fees from credit cards and from fiat->btc fees. But we would need to add in enough lead time to make sure the check can't be cancelled (well, we could make exceptions for small amounts and good customers). But we need to add some more code on the backend to support it as well.

Oddly enough I support you in that decision, the crapitalust interest lies in the scarcity model, if more steemits were out there toooooo many folks would jump ship.

I also support @dan in his need to be Dan the Man!!

Yes, forks right now would cause a real mess, and there's plenty of opportunists who would try it I think. I was lucky enough to be standing on the sidelines of the ETH/ETC fiasco...

How would I run a check without a brick and mortar check?
Will they run from my card?

Too bad there isn't some local btc here, I'd sure face to face some btc to an address of your's.

Fuck the Steem holders. This is a blogging platform, not an investment fund.

Clearly @dan has some regret posting it...If he felt strongly the information needed to be out there he would have left it out there.

Or maybe I understand Streisand effect.

Dan, I applaud your choice to stand up for your values in the most direct of ways. I'm also saddened as a stakeholder of this project and concerned about those that are working full time for it (the team you've left behind).

I think that the existing license is a protection for Steem holders against the big fish in the social media industry. I think it is a pragmatic protection that could be lifted after a network effect is achieved. I'm guessing that isn't the only reason for your leaving and look forward to gazing upon your future works.

+5%

The thick plottens! Hahah.

Edit: Or, he was asked to.

What a turn of event.

He's right. My last post was a streisand effect.