You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new Terms of Service is a concern to me, a resident of China

in #steemit6 years ago

I learn from your publications that everything is so harsh with freedom of speech in China. Why do not you leave this country forever? Especially since you already work in another country, if I understand you correctly. Do your relatives agree with your opinion about the situation with censorship?

Sort:  

I don't really talk to relatives about this kinda thing. As for 'if you don't like it, get out' - well, I could. But there's practical and philosophical reasons for me not to:

A) My life was already established here by the time I started learning about the nitty gritty
B) I do actually intend on leaving, but I have nowhere else to go (no home in England, would have to start from scratch)
C) My cat is here and it takes thousands of dollars and 8 months to get it out due to strict UK regulations, andd to stay here that long (given no home elsewhere) I'd need a visa that keeps me here, as in, a job with a year+ contract)
D) If I go and live a life of shelter and comfort, I become somebody I don't want to be, somebody who just puts their fingers in their ears by surrounding themselves with media that gives them comfort by being in a nation of comparative freedom. I've learnt more than one can imagine about this corner of the world by being here, and I think that's important.
E) I live a good life here, but I live it in spite of the government, not because of it. China itself is fine (pollution, population issues aside) - I don't want to hate an entire population of people because of the leading party's influence on me.

It's strange, but many of my friends work in China and they like it.

It's hard to live like this when even among relatives there are contradictions. I wish you to find a better path for yourself.

You can live a comfortable life here, that's the thing. If you're willing to just ignore what's going on all around you and you just live your own bubble of life - as I do - this country has a wealth of opportunity and growth waiting for you. That's the thing that makes people stay, I think. But the vast majority live in the Eastern cities - the wealth belt where the majority of China's economy resides. The further west you go, the more the picture changes to a darker one...

I'm enjoying my path don't worry!

No pasarán!
✌️😉