You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just So We're Clear - The Tech Manager of Steemit Is Anti Democracy and Pro Oligarchy - in His Own Words.

in #steemit6 years ago

Excellent post! I have only recently viewed some of your posts on this topic. The individual in question is an authoritarian, and has downvoted many many posts on these and many other topics. Basically anything that goes against mainstream, as you say. I know people may think I'm crazy, but I think you may be right about a 'conspiracy', or at least a few in key positions trying to steer steemit into a different direction than it was intended. I am of the belief that the recent Facebook drama in not a coincidence and not an organic uprising as it's being played out in the media. It's a very old story.....Are these revelations aimed at promoting a 'new' platform after the controversy subsides, while trying to derail steemit? Or is there a plan to take over the platform from mainstream players and investors? Something just doesn't add up about the Facebook story to me!

Sort:  

I don't have enough puzzle pieces to comment about the big picture between corporations in a useful way here, but it is always true that even a single individual can make decisions that greatly influence systems in ways that need to be researched to be understood.

I have long said that Steemit could be controlled (as can any cryptocurrency) by those with the most fiat currency simply by them 'investing' in it or infiltrating the central team. Many have said that this has occurred with Bitcoin 'Core' - the challenge is that outsiders don't have much of a way to know the full details without a lot of research work being performed or maybe due to whistleblowing. Whistleblowers absolutely deserve more respect!

Yeah, there is definitely no way of knowing for sure, without solid evidence. On the issue of flagging, I created a simple opinion poll using Steefun, where people could express a simple opinion on the practice. I'm not sure if you think it's a worthwhile endeavour to try and get a community feel about what users think about It? Since I don't have much influence on here, maybe you can advise me if it's worthy of pursuing this type of thing, or is it just a waste of time? If you would like to have a look at it, let me know and I can post a link...Thanks for the reply

I have never heard of steefun - sure, post the link :)