The Migration

in #steemit4 years ago

Hello, everyone. I logged into Steemit after being gone for like a year and it seemed everyone had moved over here. I asked @vincentnijman what was going on and he told me I could log in here with my old username and password, which I think is pretty cool.

So what's the scoop, what's the story? I know you've probably all talked about it plenty, but I'd appreciate your input. Why did everyone leave Steemit? Does Hive Blog work just like Steemit as far as structure, voting, etc? How are you liking it?

To everyone who used to follow my stories, sorry I just ghosted. I didn't meant to. Life just got so tiring that I couldn't handle blogging anymore. However life has calmed down a bit, which has given me the chance to look back into that part of my life again. I'm glad to see my friend list transferred over here so I didn't lose you all.

OK, I'm going to go to my news feed and see what you all have been up to. Please leave a comment and tell me what's up. :)

Sort:  

You are in the right place now. :) In short, Steemit got new owner (Justin Sun) who wanted to centralize it and silence everyone who would oppose him. After a lot of drama, some witnesses and developers forked the chain to create this decentralized one, and so everyone migrated to Hive. Here you can read some basic info at the moment it was launched.

Thanks! Yeah I heard that he had bought it but I didn't know about the centralization issue. I have a question: the status of my wallet on Hive looks almost exactly like my wallet on Steemit. Did my steem, steem power, and steem dollars transfer over? Because if so, why do I still have them on Steemit too? Are the wallets connected, like I can either use one or the other?

At the moment of the fork your Steem wallet got replicated on Hive, meaning you received the amount of Hive according to your Steem holdings. These wallets are completely separate, as are the coins. You can send them independently to exchanges. :)

That's actually pretty amazing--doubled my earnings! Nice. :)

Welcome back! I guess by now you've been told the gist of the situation. Hive feels better now. I still blog on Steemit it, not very often; lots of friends still there, but I am too busy and stressed to keep interacting in both platforms.
I don't know how people handle five or more social media sites.
So, are you living in Spain now?
Hope everything goes well in your life.

Thanks so much! Yes, I live in Spain now, in fact just passed my 2-year "Spainversary." :) Things are going much better in my life now--it was pretty rough for a while, but I guess you know what it's like getting started in a new country. I'm really grateful for the blessings of a job, a good place to live, and peace in my heart. :)