Building community nodes

in #steemit6 years ago

The good @doctorjohn wrote an article about posting motives which is a very important topic for Steemit in my opinion as it is through this that content is produced, including the type of content and its quality.

For me, topics to write about come relatively easy, the writing of them however doesn't. What makes it so hard is that when I write, I am trying to transport the reader away from the content itself and connect with the story, the narrative. I do this as if I think there is something of value, it is not good enough to just spell it out unless one is willing to always rely on others for their decision making.

There are other challenges also as the range of topics I cover aren't suited to everyone and potentially, could drive some people away altogether. Some people that may enjoy my fiction work might hate the more philosophical, or those that like the dystopian views, despise the motivational. Perhaps, rather than showing a range of interest areas, it appears disjointed and conflicted.

If I had understood earlier how Steemit works, I would have perhaps created some alternative accounts so I could better separate content based on genre but, this is where I am today. The understanding I have built however has led me to a long-term view of the platform which means that I have to invest into it to get something out. I have to add value to the sytem, not just extract it for myself.

Currently, I do not have the personal finances to buy up vast amounts of Steem but, I do have the energy and willingness to spend putting up content that I think holds value. The values however may not be seen by all in each article though. I take an approach that there are always a range of viewers and I cannot satisfy their individual demands everytime. 

I have spoken about it before, but I see my Steemit profile as a type of business. Since we are getting financial return on what we post, I think that more people should view it in this way even though it appears to take the 'social' aspect out of it. I actually think it helps put the social aspect in however, as it means that one must consider who each individual is.

This means that viewers are clients who drop-by to see if they are interested in what I may have on offer. Some are walk-ins that may have chanced upon the content somewhere like a resteem or under a particular tag, some are regulars who know what is in store, some are friends who are interested in seeing what I am up to and, some are patrons who provide me the space to work.

How each customer is approached through the content varies to some degree but, how the content is viewed by each customer I have little control over. There are many guides on what is expected by a content provider that cover all of the things from referencing and formatting to engagement and etiquette. In this 'help' area, I try to provide some different views.

As said, I am a long-term view provider here and I try to encourage others to be similar, not because I think what I do is brilliant but, if more across a wide selection do this, it is what is best for the platform. With a longterm view, a content provider is likely to think more heavily about what content adds value and this inevitably leads to helping others add value too. This creates a network of value-adding nodes, but it costs in the short-term as some content is no 'popular'. 

'Not popular' doesn't add a lot of value to my personal pool but, in my opinion, it does add value to the longevity of the platform as it tends to support other long-term view providers to find their niche or adjust their perspectives. In general, my least rewarded content takes me the longest to produce. So why do it?

There are so many analogies from business to sports and military but essentially, for a complex ecosystem to survive and prosper, there are many jobs to be done and many of them are unrewarding tasks that few want to do unless they get immediate benefit. How I see it is if I (and others) do not do the menial labour tasks, no one will which, means the parts I absolutely love become impossible too.  So I, often naively, try to do what I can to help others do what they can to help others also.

The more nodes willing to sacrifice a short-term reward for a long-term gain, the more long-term benefits will start affecting the short-term situation. This is the problem with people raping the reward pool as they are killing potential with nonsense content and poor behaviours. They are killing potential community nodes from growing to support the network they benefit from. 

There are many highly paid posters that do very little to support the platform and are only interested in their immediate rewards and often, taking them straight out to an exchange without spreading any of the value within the platform. Without the other people to develop for them, their rewards stop dead but, since they are siloed in their higher ranking circles, they do not see what the rest of the community experiences.

In the real world, I spend my time developing people within companies to be the network nodes the company needs to grow their potential and returns. The nodes in return get supported heavily by management in various ways as they are recognised as in integral part of the company's future. These people are spread across every business function and many of them are like me, workers willing to do menial tasks to improve the health of the system.

Those with long-term views and the SP to back it up should be not just supporting good content, but supporting the nodes that will inspire more good content and long-term providers. Of course, they need a return but this is the point of curation, to drive value adding content upwards while providing an incentive to do so. Those with a bit to spare could donate it to various node building, community supporters or, upvote the content of consistent long-term view providers with track records, not just the flavours of the month.

This sounds like I am asking for upvotes and, I am kind of, but not just for me. I am hoping that more people will take long-term views and those with the capabilities to not only provide the content they like and gets them reward, but do some of the menial labour tasks also. They should be supported, especially in the maturing phases of the platform as it will be these we want to shape the platform for the future. If we can build a strong network of providers who spend at least some of their time investments helping to build more, the platform will thrive and all aspects will improve. Getting rewarded for their work whether it be the value adding or their passion content, gives them the space to keep providing.

We are all driven by various incentives which are inherently selfish. My view is that for many of us to continue or have the opportunity to do and provide what we love, we have to do some of what is difficult, boring, uninspiring, dirty and as they say, many hands make light work. It may not be in our immediate best interest but, it is if we have a long-term plan.

How many are truly willing to lend a hand day-in-day-out though? Don't say it, prove it.
When you find those that do this consistently, support them so they have a chance to continue their work.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Thanks! Well written!

Thank you

Hey, great post. I don't understand one thing and I hope you can clarify this for me. You are writing that not only great content has to by rewarded but also the nodes witch make it possible.

But what is a node on steemit?

You can be the node, that is the point. How you interact and behave, how you help and provide information, how you share the value you possess. It takes a lot of work to be effective.

So you make a divide between to activities on steemit. 1. To post original context makes you a creator and 2. By interacting with each other you can become a node. That makes sense with you post in minde.

Just to make sure I understand the complete picture, a wale just vote for everything, this makes them not a node because lesser stuff gets also voted up. And by doing this they get the majority of the curations fee's, leaving the real curators not paid for there work?

Your name is your brand.
You want to train your readers to be excited when they see it.
There are no shortcuts :)

Are you excited?
Yes, it takes time and energy. Many seem to only have enough of themselves to invest until they are comfortable yet talk of community. Lip service.

Great idea of the article, but as for me you're a bit overdoing it.

Maybe but I see a lot of potential here in the longterm, for more than how it is currently used.

Totally agree with you. By the way, thanks to your article, I found an excellent long-term perspective for myself. I'll write about it in my nearest post.

thanks for info