You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The regret-filled pivot, or how Steemit learned to relax and discard their designs

in #steemit5 years ago

I've no longer got a dedicated internet connection, and my presence hereabouts has been spotty at best lately. Things seem to be changing between my few opportunities to access, and I feel like I've missed the boat. Then the boat began sinking.

Hope I'm wrong.

However, I've but rarely found fault with your logic, never your intelligence, and this is a matter I know you have deep, personal knowledge of. I'm actually kind of shaken at the tenor and content of your post, left hoping somebody does something to restore a vibrant, strong future to the platform I have grown to love.

If this censorship-resistant crypto faucet dries up, I'll have a sad. 4chan died a decade ago, and Gab is too short form oriented. The other alternatives I've heard of and visited lack much of the promise Steemit offered, and yet may honor.

Interesting analogy of sharks. One thing I know about apex predators is that they need a thriving ecosystem. If the blogging platform dwindles, it'll be like a forest without trees, a sea without fish. Sharks cannot live in such places.

Thanks very much for keeping me as informed as possible given my rare ability to get on. You've given me much to consider in relatively few words, and Imma do a lot of considering, right directly.

Sort:  

Thank you, you're always so kind, I don't deserve it.

I don't think that the censorship resistance is going away right now, the chain is still fundamentally resistent to censorship once data is actually on chain and unaltered along the way. That's the point Ned is making, that RPC nodes can censor etc., but it is striking for him to say that it wasn't part of the original mission, and that they're getting back to the original mission (and we are just finding out now, which I find suspect), which means we can assume that feature will not be prioritized and indeed does not seem to be important.

Very true about sharks, though I hadn't meant the metaphor to go too far 😄