We have 37 Whales and 129,615 Redfish

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/statistics/@arcange/steemit-statistics-20180617-en  @arcange's graphic and stats!  

Recently, I've decided to try to help set reasonable expectations on SteemIt.com.  It is a self appointed task. Done of my own free will and supported by my view of how the platform is growing.    All ideas are my opinion and should be weighed against other ideas that you hear.  There are many ways to be successful and zero people with authority on Steem.  If someone is telling you what you have to do, consider not listening or at least get a second opinion.

If you are a new user who doesn't want to invest money, and are hoping to get whale or dolphin support, you need to understand the situation.  

We have:

  •  37 Whales
  • 260 Orcas
  • 1686 Dolphins
  • 8243 Minnows
  • 129,615 Redfish


This is why we need to build a middle-class.  We need people to build their stake and hold it, so they can support end-users.  The more people who hold a bit of stake, the more end-users can be supported.

There are just not enough large voters to get to everyone, and most are not combing the site looking for minnows.   I think minnows will have to build their own network and build themselves and each other up.  This is why I encourage self-voting for minnows. (not 10 a day - define your own reasonable amount)  Minnows can also earn by engaging with comments and also with the occasional Dolphin/Whale votes.  They may not make much money as they build a following.  If they come in expecting it to be difficult they will be more likely to stay. 

This is not meant to be discouraging.  Those who talk about Poor Retention are missing the fact there are accounts that are no-longer active due to spamming and scamming, and many accounts were made for specific reasons, or to hold Steem.  We do not have a million accounts that were created to blog and decided not to.  

There are many reasons to create an account.  Some were created for testing or speculation and not to blog or vote.  Please question people who talk about poor retention.  What are they comparing us to as a standard?  Why do they think a young crypto social media site would be on par with even Facebook or Twitter (if that is their standard)  In my opinion it is a #fakenews problem.  Ask some questions and decide for yourself.  Someone said it and others started repeating it.  We are using the proof of concept site at this point with minimal support, but that is not the long-term plan.  That is why what we are doing right now doesn't need to be sustainable or look great on paper. 

Another question is who do we want to retain.  If a minnow comes in without investment and starts screaming immediately that they are not earning after their first 5 posts, is that someone we want to retain?  Speaking only for myself, I am fine if that person moves along to the next get rich project they find.

If someone started an account and wants to grow it from scratch, it is going to be a long haul, but it absolutely can be done.  Especially if your content is awesome!  I made 95 posts that didn't earn anything.  (not in a row)  I made hundreds more that earned very little, but there is a point that it starts to grow quickly if one networks.  Also, even a small early investment pays off over time.  If you are a minnow hoping to make a living from Steem without investing, while I wish you luck, you better be great at both Content Creation and Networking!  

We are here early!  SteemIt, Inc has struggled with keeping up with Account Creation, and the next hardfork changes that.  Don't get frustrated before we even open the gates. 

Reset your expectations, buckle up and realize this is a toddler site in a young industry.  All of the issues we have are normal and they  seem loud because we are decentralized and everyone has a voice.  It is bothering me that we have so many people complaining and that many small users are getting started on a negative note.  Remember the loudest voices do not necessarily represent the majority or the stakeholders.  The complaining is contagious, but is what they are saying true?  (You have to decide who to believe and who to follow)

Remember to question everything you read. Ask yourself is this fact or opinion?  We have a lot of people who state their opinions as facts and tell other people how to use the site.  Question Everything.  :)  

Act in your own best interest.  Try to set some realistic goals for yourself.  It can be difficult to not get a lot of feedback on your content when your account is small.  So set goals, reset them as you figure out what is reasonable.

In addition, this isn't for everyone.  It is fine with for some to decide this isn't their gig.  It's a niche, inside of a niche. 

Let's start setting realistic goals, celebrating success, owning our own success and create a realistic view.  At this time, this is not a get rich quick scheme.  Maybe at some point money will rain down on us, but probably not today!

The good news is that many are staying and earning and when we start the next phase they will be coveted by the young platforms looking for users with even a little bit of stake.

@whatsup



Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Another question is who do we want to retain. If a minnow comes in without investment and starts screaming immediately that they are not earning after their first 5 posts, is that someone we want to retain? Speaking only for myself, I am fine if that person moves along to the next get rich project they find.

This made me laugh. Many people fail at business endeavors. Fail from ignorance or lack of effort. I am not that long here (since Feb) and I have invested not only a little in my own SP, but also in renting some so I can invest in others. Has some of my investment in others been a waste? Yep. probably well over half. But those who aren't self centered and get the long term benefits of a community here are well worth the investment. Every week those I enjoy interacting with grows, and together we grow one anothers account.

You can't come here thinking whales are waiting at the door to reward everyone (especially given most content is not what one would normally pay for). You will not be found, you have to find those who will appreciate your brand. Through those first few, the rest become easier as you will find them in the comment sections of those first few.

I mentioned in another post, where else can you invest a little money and time and make money off of it from engaging with others on topics both of you enjoy. Especially if the other person knows more. That right there is getting paid to learn. This system rocks as far as I am concerned, and if the SMT's ever do hit it, every little sliver will no longer be so little.

This system rocks as far as I am concerned, and if the SMT's ever do hit it, every little sliver will no longer be so little.

Give that man a cigar!

Or a non-cancerous free-range vegan alternative.

I am more and more of the opinion that SMT’s are the future if their rollout goes well. A huge caveat, but if SMT’s do well, I am convinced that early adopters (basically, everyone who holds SP now) will do very, very well.

I agree! And I also agree there is some concern about how well it will go.

There are some who are so set against them, that will yell no matter how well they are deployed. On the other hand, it is a LOT of change and a difficult endevor.

haha! You are becoming one of my favorite commenters! I love your attitude and the way you view things. Keep enjoying!

Thank you 😊

I like to find a few minnows with content that i find interesting. I will vote all their post with a 20% upvote and leave a comment or ask a question about their post. If they respond they get a 5% upvote on their comment. Most don't respond so how do they expect people to keep coming back to their posts
Minnows need to realise that they have to engage with people and not just post, never respond but expect to grow. Engaging with people that upvote and comment will make people return, comment and upvote your posts time and again

Hello @dune69! Nice name 😉 lil' plankton over here just trying to grow my fins! Haha 🤣 what kind of content interests you? I am learning how to be a blogger. Writting ulogs, walkwithmes, and sharing stuff about my life at this point. Hoping to figure out how to do dLive meditations & yoga classes. Would love your support! And, most often reply to comments!! .....just putting it out there! 😁✌

Hi had a look at your post and the garden post look interesting. I like gardening so ill happily tag along and see how you go. I see you have rhubarb.. I live near the rhubard triangle and eat lots of it :-)

Right on! Woohooo!! 😁 where is the rhubarb triangle? I have heard of the Bermuda Triangle but never the rhubarb triangle! It's really nice of you to give me a chance!! Thank-you ☘

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rhubarb_Triangle

They grow it in large shed in the dark. It called forcing.
It grows fast and tall

Rhubarb Triangle
The Rhubarb Triangle is a 9-square-mile (23 km2) triangle in West Yorkshire, England between Wakefield, Morley and Rothwell famous for producing early forced rhubarb. It includes Kirkhamgate, East Ardsley, Stanley, Lofthouse and Carlton. The Rhubarb Triangle was originally much bigger, covering an area between Leeds, Bradford and Wakefield. From the first decade of the 20th century to 1939 the rhubarb industry expanded and at its peak covered an area of about 30 square miles (78 km2).

That sounds wild! I can't imagine it! LOL even with pictures. It grows so abundantly and lush here! It even manages to survive and thrive through our winters. Nice of you to share this unique aspect to your community @dune69 🍓

good point!

Nooooo! I vouch for many good planktons out there! Haha! Or wannabe minnows/ orcas 😉 great article btw. Thank-you for sharing! @taskmaster4450 is trying to get a thing going where all littles like me post 4 times per and vote each other. It will be q huge stretch to get 4 posts out a day but I am willing to give it a try! Happy Steeming!

By the way, I read that and I thought it was a great idea by @taskmaster4450

@whatsup I'm getting a little confused about the graduations, apparantly there are many opinions on when you are what...Example.. according to @steemitboard I'm a redfish, and according to @steem-plus I'm a minnow, changed to minnow after reaching 1.000.000 vests..
So please help me, what am I?? And where (how many vests) does it change??
Thanks🙂

You’re a minnow once you hit a million vests. @steemitboard seems to use stats that are a little bit old; you just recently passed the minnow threshold.

1,000,000 vests = minnow
10,000,000 vests = dolphin
100,000,000 vests = orca (hush)
1,000,000,000 vests = whale

Alright, I'm tired of not being in on the Orca joke. I've been here for months, and have been a good Steemian, someone tell me!!!

Nobody talks about orcas.

Red fish / plankton, minnows, dolphins, and whales get all the attention.

Orcas slip through the cracks of attention.

They are the Voldemort of the Steem blockchain. They must not be mentioned.

lol, I've never thought about it but that's totally true. I've never heard anyone say, where's the Orca support? These Orca's need to spread the love! Haha.

DAMMIT WHERE IS MY ORCA FOLLOWING?! They think they can slip under the radar but I WANT MY SHAMU VOTES! 😀

All of this time i thought i was a minnow 😂

Thank you for the quick reply🙂 So hopefully the will change the icon on @steemitboard soon🙂

Sometimes @steemitboard has a delay in updating. I've just looked though and you definitely have the minnow picture up now.

Just checked now...IMG_20180619_073604.png

It shows minnow on you for me too. Weird.

That is wierd..I'll just give it some more time as @minismallholding suggested🙂 Thanks

Hmmm, I see this. Strange.

IMG_20180619_151649.jpg

Just give it a bit more time I guess.

Try refreshing your browser or deleting cookies. You showed up as a minnow when I looked.

I will try that! Thank you🙂

I have tried to increase my Stake from the word GO. Self-Made Dolphin in 235 Days, for the most part but I did have some fantastic guidance and votes from some wonderful people! I say "Self-Made" because I bought a LOT of my SP. I did not have delegation, and I think I recall 2 big Whale Votes ever. Which was AWESOME! ;) But really, I am now helping the newbs and plankton or w/e you want to call them. I have 2 voting bots that reward their followers, "vote trading community bots" but I could really use more SP DELI. For the Bots, my main account (this one) is fine, I am running the minimum to have a Slider LOL!!!
I pay the DELI-Gators 50%+ of the SBD take on the bots, which of course is low of late. But just the prior 2 week pay period, it was at a new high due to increased activity. So we are Growing despite the Depressed Prices ;) Now I just need to post more so the investors will have something in their wallets. We have a few contests and awards to the very best of the group, and they get bonus votes. If everyone was as invested as I am, Steemit would be a better place, but not everyone can do what I do and I darn sure cannot do all the things that everyone else does either! I am trying to "specialize" in my strong areas. If we all just did that, we'd be better than a top 50 Crypto, more like a Top 20 pretty much. We need RETENTION and I am doing what I know best 😎
I guess I am just a Minnow-Herder LOL
I know a lot of this sounds like self-aggrandizement but it has a Purpose. I do not write the best articles, I am not a bang-up Curator (and most people are not, but that is another Topic!) I just do what I know and I know I can be a lot better at it also. That is a goal of mine, operating at a High Level like my bud @enginewitty, who is heading up The Alliance. Now THERE is a guy who gets stuff DONE! ;)

You honor me my man, it's people like you and comments like this that make it all worth the effort. You are a famtastic Steempeep bro!

Kudos for buying in and kudos again for being a minnow herder! lol.

To me retention mainly matters right now in the terms of Mature people who understand this is a startup and retaining investors.

I've had it with the complainers and those who think we should either rain money on them or have features like facebook.com

Let's retain the people who get on board and help us growth this thing. :)

I don't know much about @enginewitty, but I should learn more.

For Real, I was ecstatic when I first realized Steemit was still in Beta 😁 😂 🤣
...and if he hit those $10 price predictions while in Beta, I really have big expectations. It is most definitely a BUILDING Experience, and if the whiners and complainers cannot figure out a way to Make their Own Way, well, I just say "Don't let the door hit you in the A$$ on the way OUT!" You are 1000% Correct, we don't need that here. Maybe later they can come in and do something when the platform is more "polished" but then it will be the same deal, "unequal rewards, the whales gobble up the rewards pool" yada, yada, yada so on and so forth. Plus the "regulars" need to grow up as well, WE CONTROL the Platform, we just need to get on the same page and decide what it's gonna be. Who is gonna Lead, etc. We need VISION to fill in the gaps that Steemit Inc has left for us to fill. This is not just a platform, this is an online Community that could transcend nations and national boundaries. WE can make a NEW WORLD DISORDER, wehre we can all have it our own way and all Thrive.

@whatsup - I am so new that I am still overwhelmed. I was recruited by @midlet who has helped me manage my expectations about the platform. I am a world wide traveler and educator, and I thought that I might have some interesting content for the community.

There are so many wonderful storytellers, photographers, artists, and financial experts, that it is real easy to get lost as a little fish in a big ocean.

There is a culture among Steemians that must be learned and observed to keep from insulting members. There is the underlying financial platform of curator and author rewards, upvotes and investments, bots, delegating steem power, using other applications - @dlive, @dtube, discord channels, etc.

I am treading water here, trying to stay alive until I learn enough to survive and not get eaten. One day at a time, one interesting post at a time, another fraction of Steem earned in hopes of being on the ground floor when Steem becomes the next Google or Apple or Netflix.

Those are my thoughts about this juncture in time with Steem as I get MAD.
Move - Adapt or Die. ( Evolutionary saying)

Thanks for more clarification @whatsup.

I love MAD I haven't heard it before.

In the nuclear standoff age it meant
Mutually
Assured
Destruction

MAD

😊

Read the white paper
Page 16.
This huge (exponential?) inequality is intentional, the ideology for this is given by "Zipf’s Law".

if we have a million items, then the most popular 100 will contribute a third of the total value, the next 10,000 another third, and the remaining 89,900 the final third.

I can't find the official roadmap of 2018, is there anything that could change this principles?

Good Point

We are kindred spirits on this one.

There is so much to be optimistic about with the STEEM blockchain yet people let their complaints get in the way. I posted something similar to this earlier today.

The entire premise behind a minnow uprising (that includes red fish also) is that there are numbers. With that many accounts, they could easily overwhelm the system with posts. That would be a good thing since 75% goes to authors.

The month of July I am urging all smaller accounts to participate. If they do, I believe they can shift from numbers. Sadly, I have a feeling most will sit on the sidelines only to show up to complain.

But you are right, there are lots of reasons for being here and I am not concerned about retention rate. Those who are leaving now are only passing on a good opportunity.

Booya, that's what I like to see, hopefully this rate keeps up or increases as more people join, because the perception is that the wealth disparity is only increasing as whales vote themselves. I think we need more sitewide emphasis on the changes being made like in this post here. It will motivate people or at least put them at ease

the perception is that the wealth disparity is only increasing

That may well be the perception, but it’s not the reality. @taskmaster4450 does a post once a month showing how the wealth disparity is slowly decreasing.

Here’s his most recent post on the subject:
https://steemit.com/steem/@taskmaster4450/steem-whales-are-losing-their-power-the-system-is-not-broken-report-through-5-31-2018

Nice, This is great.

So much here, that makes so much sense. So thank you, for that, @whatsup!

A couple of months back I sat down and asked myself a crucial (I feel) question... and it's one I invite everyone to consider, now:

"In being on Steemit, what is THE single most important thing for me, in deciding how I will approach my participation here?"

Although I have poked at the edges of this answer before (in posts and responses), it would perhaps be surprising to many... as it has little to do with content, following or rewards...

I want to still be blogging here ten years from now (just like I am on Facebook, still, after 1 years), so my choices must support that.

Everything else becomes secondary to the primary motivation, and should support it.

There's no right or wrong answer... if your answer is "make money for my summer vacation" that's groovy-keen, too.

The POINT of that little exercise was to get a true handle on what I am trying to do here, and then support it... rather than flailing around aimlessly like a fish on deck.

Now that I have defined that, my subsequent actions (and hereunder what I support, in service of such things as "retention") are informed by that piece of insight. If I think what someone else is doing supports that objective, they get my vote. If not, I'll most likely ignore them. If they put my objective in jeopardy, I might even flag them.

And maybe that's how we all need to "self-sort" here, whether tiny redfish or whale.

"The POINT of that little exercise was to get a true handle on what I am trying to do here, and then support it... rather than flailing around aimlessly like a fish on deck."

I think I spent a lot of time flopping on the deck. I've never considered myself a writer. I write. I can be funny or reasonable and I write with a conversational tone. :) So, it took a bit to find how to use my voice. I knew I wanted to participate.

Recently, I've decided to use my voice to combat the negativity that is tainting our minnows and not painting an accurate view of the site.

I know it is an overreaction, but I feel like we lost a whole generation of new minnows due to the negativity. I don't know anything that is worth doing that doesn't feel hard some days.

And how do you define 907079 accounts? Dead Fish? Where did they go? The Skeleton Coast? (lol)

Actually, I would love to look through them. How many never logged in? How many actually made a post or two.

How many were run off the site for scamming and spamming. I would love to know!!!! :) I don't.

Go through them? I'll take you a gazzillion years.
Let's just face it, a human can't interact with more than a 100 other people.

Great point about the retention thing. There are people that don't stay of course but when you realize that people speculate with accounts almost a tad bit like URLs. Then you see things a bit different and process the numbers differently.

I was testing an upcoming search feature for @steempeak interface and was searching a bunch of usernames and most of the results were LVL25 accounts. Not 26... 25. I wonder how many accounts are purely speculative and have never been used or left the lvl25.

Not even a half of the whales are manually upvoting...Everyone is on holiday, steemit looks like a ghost town again

Glad im not the only one who feels like this

i've found a lot to look at today, some days seem slow, but most days I find more than I can look at and reply to.

Many of them have their investment delegated. I am glad they have decided to keep their stake in the system.
It's their stake, they can do what they want with it.

That' true!

I really appreciate how you put things in perspective and keep coming at things with a big-picture view. Yes, realistic expectations would be helpful. I think it's interesting that you recommend self-voting (in moderation). I'm still trying to figure out where I stand ethically on bots and self voting, but it comes down to the fact that these are tools that help grow my investment. So it's a matter of how I use them.

Anyway, glad you're here, glad I'm here. It's a good place to be. :)

I'm glad you are here as well. I still upvote 1 of my posts a day.

That is one of the reasons to hold steempower! I'm not a fan of the help until you bleed mentality. I burns people out.

I wonder how different our retention would be if we gave people permission to be Free on the Blockchain. Free too experiment without 50 people screaming about it being wrong.

The happiest people I know on Steem, are giving, but know you pay yourself first or at least at the same time.

You can help way more people once you are up. stable and the basic needs are taken care of. :)

Hi @whatsup, would you know what is the name of the starter level? Just curious :)

Redfish!

Okay thanks ... those grey fish skeleton coz they are not counted in the same group.

Screenshot_20180621-121151.jpg

I am currently attempting to build from scratch and just as you said its a long ol haul. I been experimenting different ways to speed up that growth but its still a crawl. I been here 147 days ( my first month or two I wasn't attempting growth ) and am only at 45 SP with a couple bucks in SBD / STEEM being liquid in my account.

I am watching the price of Steem very closely and I am almost ready throw in the towel and purchase a few hundred worth to give my account a kick start. But for the time being I will just keep kicking around to see if I can find a sound strat to increase my growth.

It would be better if this was not on the opening screen:

get paid for your good content.PNG

It sets the unreasonable expectations you mention to all who enter. I'm really discouraged after a year here and may not last much longer.

The 130k in redfish was 170K in January. The 900k in deadfish was 750k at that time.

I'm trying to keep posting and staying positive, but it is not easy now.

Yeah, I have also been discouraged many times, and seriously considered quitting twice.

Also, with the price drop, SBD returning to the peg and the summer slow down all hitting at once, this is a bad time to make serious decisions. Everything could look so different by September.

Everyone has to do what is best for their own life, but I also kind of want to say, just keep posting! :)

I'm trying, but I don't know if I will last much longer.

Awesome post. I want to earn but I cant stop putting my own fiat and then into Steem and send it right over to Steemit to help myself. To me if your coming over just to make money and not putting into the system, in which is yourself then you'll probably fail. I will continue buying Steem and send it to my account..... Thanks for the post and info.....

Don't even look at the money until we're out of beta.
Measure your progress in followers. When we're adding a million people a day, they're going to follow the authors their friends do.
Ask an established youtuber what they'd rather lose.
Their account balance or their subscribers?

Thanks for this post. Since I adjusted my expectations, I'm ok and I'm still confident. I'm used to create content on other platforms and it's at least same hard to reach someone and we all know that people even pay for reaching more.

Is there a tool where I can see statistics of my posts?

What specific stats do you want to see? There are many sites and resources. Just need to know more about what you are seeking!

For example: A visualization of my posts and their payout in chronological order :)

The closest I have seen to that is https://steemnow.com/ .

Thanks a lot! In the meantime I also found https://steemworld.org. That´s interesting as well, check it out, if you don´t know it.

Just heard about it today. :)

I think delegations are the only hope for people like me. Hopefully I can get some 25% APR loans but I guess 35% is better than nothing. lol

I'm surprised that there's only just over 8,000 minnows. I hear next month is the minnow uprising. I hope that works out well because we definitely need a strong minnow class. I hope those red fish and Plankton build to become minnows too and work on dolphin status.

I can tell you from experience that it's doable, it just takes work and time.

Im working hard on becoming a minnow #futureminnow 🤗

I was very surprised by that also!

Whenever my small reward revenue gets me down, one remedy is to remember how long it took to get my first cheque from Facebook. 😎

lol, true... nice.

Really well said....Consistency is the key. I try to get on every day and add at least one comment to a worth while post...also upvote as well. As I have done here. Wishing you well with your goal setting Cheers Gunga

Thank you @whatsup for the statistical data. I believe that every organization will have growing pains. Also others who use the platform will have an opinion positive or negative and will share that opinion with at least 11 other people.

I personally am excited about the opportunities and concept of Steemit, but from a business perspective it is the majority of the people —the users who will help it to grow, by spreading the word to others and by investing.

The expectations of the platform have to be managed so that users are receiving reliable information to make informed decisions.

Listen to the users, survey their opinions and synthesize the information to help make improvements that will parenthetically impact the bottom line.

What's the difference between minnows and red fishes? I was told that minnows are the small accounts. I've read the term red fish but I'm not sure what it refers to

Don't forget that many of the orcas and dolphins are alts of whales.

Great post @whatsup. I’ve been on for a couple months thus far and feel like snagging some Steem to power up has been the smart way to go for me. I think it’s giving me a little bit of an edge and is helping me grow a bit quicker.

I fully encourage most new users to do the same. I get that most cannot do large amounts but even spending 25 bucks to power up with shows a bit of commitment and confidence in yourself.

Regardless, I’m here for the long haul. Aiming for dolphin status here soon. Still a ways away but getting there. I hope to be helping others grow in the way you are.

Thx.

We need more truths like these floating around. There is a lot of socialistic ideas that sound good, but are really of no help to the new minnow. I think the self vote advice is a key to understanding if you are reading someone you should listen to or not. If someone is telling you upvoting yourself is wrong, you can still like them and discuss other things, but do not accept their teaching as teaching that will help you grow on Steemit. If you are thinking about taking someone's advice about growing here, find out what they think about upvoting yourself. Only continue to learn from someone who says it is not only OK, but recommended to self-vote.

  • In the real world, let's say you have a business. Let's say you have a convenience store. Where are you going to buy your gas? From yourself, right? That's not being greedy, it's being smart. Upvoting yourself (within limits) is not being greedy, it's being smart...
    • There is the problem of the dust vote. If your vote is not worth $0.03 it may turn to dust and reward no one. That's why I think (I'm still studying this...) it's a good idea to purchase a share or 2 of @SteemBasicIncome instead of powering up when you first get going. If you power up 2 SP, guess how much SP you will have? Still 15, because SteemInc will change what they delegated to you to maintain 15SP. So, say you win a contest or someway come up with 1 SP, purchase a share of SBI. That way they will upvote you about $0.03 on every post (not comment) you make. Meaning you can then upvote yourself and your vote is not wasted. Yes, I know some think SBI is too socialistic, but at least for the new minnow, I think it's a great investment...

Keep on spreading those truths @whatsup!

😎

Check out @dustsweeper. You send them SBD and they upvote the dust to make it payable.

I am still not sure on the viability of the SBI long term. I have a couple shares to check it out, I don't post daily and it is still only .01. I will be honest that I haven't checked in awhile, but they were renting most of their SP and I wonder that they might hit a point where it takes a lot of shares to get that .01 as the demand for votes is greater than what they can afford to rent.

I am glad to see you mention @dustsweeper, I recommend that every new user take that first $0.500 and invest in themselves, as new users, most people they are going to attract are other new users. dustsweeper will not work on a sustained self upvoter, a couple upvotes fine, but they are not going to have people gaming their tool. I would recommend everyone get a dustsweeper account, I don't care if your haejin or ned, it helps the new user. Yes it helps the vote receiver, but also because the vote got lifted, it helps the giver also receive his/her curation reward.

Get the dustsweeper account first, then invest in an SBI, to maximize that SBI reward.

buckle up and realize this is a toddler site in a young industry.

This is a great point and one I keep forgetting. How easy it is to have unrealistic expectations and to compare oneself with others whilst not knowing the context in which they'e built their accounts.

I can't believe I've already been here 6 months. It's been a roller coaster of a journey and a massive learning experience.

These days I just keep plodding on, networking, blogging and commenting and spend less time than I did in the early days, trying to work things out.

The relationships are key for me and that's what kept me going when the going has been touch for one reason or another.

There are so many differing opinions and since it is all so new it's hard at times to keep a sure footing but the people I've met and continue to meet keep me going.

I have absolutely no idea where I will end up in all this, but for now, I'm working hard building my Steem Power and relationships and enjoying the ride. 😊

I remember when it was "relatively" easy to get a whale or dolphin vote, back when there were like 70,000 registered accounts. Steemit seems busy even now compared to when I first joined. The whole crypto space seems to be in a weird mood lately. Steemit really is a niche inside of a niche, we'll see what happens if/when things pick up in the crypto world in general, but usually that corresponds to renewed interest and activity on Steemit.

Just 37? No wonder we hardly come across their presence.

I signed up for Steemit in January of this year, but wasn’t real active till very late February. I have posted every single day and have never once had a whale visit or upvote my post. I do giveaways, raffles, show off my trade which is cabinet/furniture making. Never once!!!! It is very difficult to move ahead on this platform. I’m not going away, just seems that all the big guns only vote on the other big guns. They keep it all to themselves. Just my opinion in viewing their posts. You see the same whales voting on each other.

NICE!! another cool SteemIt resource I did not even know existed. Thank you for this. Upvoted resteemed and followed.

So good to hear a voice of reason!

Great post! Being a newbie, I wasn't yet aware of the SteemitBoard. Thanks for sharing!

Yes, you've done right thing by sharing these stats and clearly i can say that this is reflecting the true economic state and effective population numbers of Steem Blockchain, and the retention analysis is not that effective for Steem because many accounts are created for different reasons as you mentioned, and in my opinion these accounts are created may be for bot, spam, scam, multiple accounts for friends and family, own multiple accounts and created for just like that when you have options. So, all these dynamics have to taken into account before talking about the retention.

Yes, Steem is not get rich easy scheme when you are not investor and you have option to get good returns if you gain influential followers through your effective content and also the Networking Strategy should also be effective. We are still in infant stage and so much to attain so future is excited so just stick to your work and cross every phase.

Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Whats the difference between a redfish and minnow in terms of stake?

1,000,000 vests = minnow
10,000,000 vests = dolphin
100,000,000 vests = orca (hush)
1,000,000,000 vests = whale

I took the answer from @preparedwombat above. He lists his source there.

So i m not even a minnow.

We call ourselves plankton 😉

Great update! Just got over the Minnow level so I am excited. As Steem prices continue to be weak, it provides great opportunities for those with dedicated vision of the future of the platform to move up in the tanks. Where do Dolphins come in at in terms of SP levels?

I have seen a lot of quite large account focus their stake on downvoting, so of course it will be quite hard for minnowers to earn.

If they are getting flagged they should figure out why and fix it.

Maybe so, but what of does been flagged for having different opinion to an issue. Is it now wrong to have different opinion?

No, it isn't wrong to have an opinion. You can say what you like, but not all opinions will receive rewards. They are still captured.

Yeah, not all opinions will receive rewards but they shouldn't be flagged if this place is all about freedom.

It is a decentralized community and there is no Authority. To sort out these issues.

I agree in concept, but the fact is people can use their stake to flag or not. If you are having a problem with one user, look for someone to mediate.

If you are struggling with several users, stop being an asshole. Said in fun!

Nope!!! I don't have problem with people am speaking for others.

Dont encourage them to upvote their own comments. Upvote your own blogs but use the rest of your upvote to support others and get curation. If your comments are good other people will upvote them. There are people here who just upote their own comments all day and really contribute nothing to the platform. It annoys me to no end

You tell people what you want to tell people. I will give them my advice. I was very careful to make it clear that there are many ways to go about things, and that mine is only one POV. :)

Dust votes don't help anyone, so they need to build their accounts.

In reality, it is a good idea to support others along the way, if you want support back.

Some people rent delegation and just self upvote though...

If they paid for it, shouldn't they be able to use it to grow their own account? Do you really expect people to buy something to grow "other" accounts.

Based on your view... Why hold steem power at all?

I still upvote all my own posts. I can't help anyone else, if I don't grow my own account also.

Well 6 months I have been here, and gone from 15sp loaned to me, to over 700sp of my own, I have leased another 1250 to see how that goes, results not in yet, and started buying in yesterday.

I did change some dogecoin early on though the price of sbd was over $12 so that may have been a silly move in hindsight.

I am thinking of steemit like a bank now, if I put enough £ or $ in, one day it may grow with interest, who knows? I may be right I may be wrong, though like a lottery ticket, you have to buy one to win it.

Have a great week.

What is the definition of each class? How much Steem Power do you need to be a Redfish, a Minnow, a Dolphin etc. ?

Red Fish !
but why is the Fish Red when it could easily be Green ?

"Another question is who do we want to retain. If a minnow comes in without investment and starts screaming immediately that they are not earning after their first 5 posts, is that someone we want to retain? "

Some people are in it for the money, they learn to work the system, connecting with community just doesn't hit it as a lone tool to riches. I watch these people grow rather fast versus those just writing articles, posting comments and connecting with community. It's become so common place that Steemit is becoming a marketplace to riches rather than a social platform to riches. Buying in and using the tools of delegation and bidbots seems to have become the choice of many over posting articles, commenting and socializing. Other people aren't in it for the money, it's not going to make or break them if they don't become millionaires. I am just addicted to blogging, it's become a hobby for me, not many people expect their hobby to pay off....lol, so I wouldn't be in to much a hurry to whip people out the door, you never quite really know exactly why they are here to begin with.

Except for everything you just said, means you wouldn't be screaming and complaining. You would have a reason to stay since you love blogging!

I would not send you to the door. If you left in frustration, . . . based on the past, you would likely come back with the next rise in price and be sad you didn't accumulate Steem during low points.

I do stay because I love blogging. Doesn't mean I can't agree with people screaming and complaining nor would I ever want to kick them out because they do.

Nowhere did I suggest kicking them out. I said I don't care if they chose to leave. That is a big difference.

A nice review, I do slightly disagree about the self vote, but that being said, it is the persons vote they can do with it as they want. For the new users that found this post review the contents of @dustsweeper page. Invest in yourself through them. If you want to increase your rewards and funds, wait before self voting until your post is at least $0.03 payout level, or you will just be throwing your vote away.

It is perfectly fine to disagree! With this many users we are not all going to agree on all points. I find that reassuring. :)

@dustsweeper sounds like a good idea for small accounts.

Oh not only for small accounts for any individual that would like to see those small accounts get rewarded. Example, while for some missing out on a penny reward means nothing to them at this point, for the person that cast that vote missing out on the curation reward, (even if it is only $0.001), is a loss for them. For example you have received 4 votes, (in the last 21 hours) that are currently less than $0.01, so that is four people who liked your comment who voted on your comment to let you know they appreciated what you had to say. They will receive nothing for showing that appreciation to your comment. So @dustsweeper is a bonus not only for the person that has the account but for the people that vote on @dustsweeper backed accounts.

Another question is who do we want to retain. If a minnow comes in without investment and starts screaming immediately that they are not earning after their first 5 posts, is that someone we want to retain? Speaking only for myself, I am fine if that person moves along to the next get rich project they find.

This was the mistake a lot of us who were shilling Steemit back in December when SBD rewards was so high and people were getting curie votes left and right that we thought that Steemit was going to be a golden goose that kept laying eggs,

Then the bearish market started and 6 months we had some spurts that it went up $2 but it has mostly stayed below.

Then most of their posts now are less than a dollar because they never powered up, they never swam out of their little circle jerk voters that did not power up as well. They were happy to be stuck in their little groups and their MO is to use certain tags so that a whale will give them a 1 dollar upvote and they can continue jjust sending it out of their wallets for short term needs.

I get it some people need it but I see some who don't and they buy flashy gadgets, or go to vacations and then complain why they are not relevant or get more votes from other people.

It is because you never bothered to be known by other people!!

I would not say that I am successful but at least I am near my goal of 1k SP and some of them have been here longer and have not even reached 500 SP. To me they are vastly short-sighted and just wants to do what is easy because networking and engagement is not easy, commenting and giving your views to other people not of your circle is not easy.

So these people unfortunately I do not support. I support those people that I see who are trying their best to power up and be relevant in the platform and here long term. It is a hard fact but we should be looking for those that want this platform to succeed and not just making it a cash cow and looking for the next big thing.

I appreciate you saying this truth and agree that we need more midsize minnows and dolphins, the so called middle class because even if the Voting power recharges each day there is only so much a whale or midsized dolphin can do.

Our communities need to have a dolphin initiative in place and some people have a selfish altruism mindset.

You make a lot of interesting points, but remember Dolphins are also active Content Creators, many of us ground out our accounts without whale support either.

When I earned my SP, there was no commitment to running a minnow school. :) I actually enjoy giving some realism to Minnows, and I had a tough grind so I enjoy providing some encouragement.

Regarding results, I am okay with a sink or swim financial system, and I believe in taking care of yourself first.

The stats are quite interesting. So of the million accounts, 90% are dead fish? That kinda stinks.

I have been going around posting, calling myself a minnow but i think i am just red fish right now.

The platform is tough, and i dont know about money, but time and intellect needs to be invested here. I think, when red fish spam posts of other authors saying, i support you, you support me, people should tell them what they need to do. Informing them right there, by pasting a link to such a post from you can educate a lot of people. And may be it is important to tell people to interact here, not become content creator. If everyone became a creator and there was no viewer, whats the point? We will all be dead fish.

Hello, @whatsup! Thank you for the article. We see that our community consists of 139 841 active participants.

And I would even say that this is good news for me.

But I have a question. Who are the inactive accounts? Their rating is less than 25 or they just did not publish anything for a long time? The definition of "Long time" how to understand specifically? How many days or maybe months?

2018-06-17-Levels-EN.png

https://steemit.com/statistics/@arcange/steemit-statistics-20180617-en @arcange's graphic and stats! They aren't my stats. I also comment on why having dead accounts is perfectly normal

Well I for example want to say the journey is not that easy and when I joined in here many started with me but among them quite a hand full were in here and continued the journey and they are in a basic level now.While many are still complaining and they are not getting how the community works here.

Like you said this is not a quick money scheme, one really have to work hard and give their all to start from the bottom , it will take time but they sure will eventually be there.

The community is still developing and as for the future it sure holds many opportunities for the users who are giving their all

While I suppose I belong on the 3rd column from the left .That is the gold fish.

There are 2 pages
Pages