Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge Day #98, Poem #96—Unseen Chains



The cornered rodent lashes out
Teeth and limb do frantically shake
A trapped cat emits a subdued roar
A wild dove, captive, choose to die
Kuroshi comes for the salaried man.
All the world’s a cage,
convention be the chain
All indeed is obscure
These lenses make it so.
Borders and boundaries limitations make;
obscure my view, archaic thoughts
Oh lord,
The things that were do shape my mind.
A twist,
a turn,
another contort,
the weasel pops again.

Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 6/14/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Wow, Nicholas sent a musicality to the beginning of the poem that had my head dancing to the rhythm of up / down, even though the subject is plaintive. I love the fabric of words, light has come back from the shadows. The images are shocking. A great job, brother!