Crypto20 - The First Tokenized Crypto Index Fund

in #steemleo5 years ago

crypto20.JPG
source

Crypto20 allows you to purchase a single token on the ETH blockchain that provides you access to 20 top performing coins. Index funds have been shown to beat the average managed fund. With so many cryptocurrencies to chose from, this index method allows you to invest in several at once.

Crypto20 does not charge broker fees or exit fees and there is no minimum investment.

Here's a chart of the current cryptos that are indexed into this fund:

half of list.JPGother half.JPG

The team produces Quarterly Reports. The latest report from Qtr 1 2019 can be found here:
qtr report.JPG

The fund also stakes the NEO and DASH coins and the funds generated from the staking are added to the total fund value every time the funds are rebalanced.

You can withdraw your tokens directly for ETH at any time. But you must have a whitelisted ETH address in your account, which can only be done by a verified user. Which means you have to fill out the KYC information for your profile.

The fund was started with an initial investment of $10,000 on January 1, 2016. The current fund value is $29,593,756. The current cost of the C20 token is $.80197 and here's a screenshot of the current Net Asset Value:

nav.JPG

I have sent off my KYC information and am waiting to get my verified status. I don't need it to invest, I already have the account, but I will need it to whitelist my ETH address in order to be able to withdraw. I would love to hear YOUR opinion of this Crypto Index Fund.

The company website is Crypto.20.com.

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Don't abandon STEEM - add Narrative and cross post your Steem content for more exposure. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

2id58ntr4e.png

Sort:  

I hadn't heard of this platform but the fact it let's you have access to buy the top 20 supposedly "safer" bets then seems like a good call. That increase from 10k to 29 million in a couple of years though... Wow!

Posted using Partiko Android

@nickyhavey, I ran across this through the Brave Browser and I thought it deserved a closer look. With the coins being 80 cents, it wouldn't take a big chunk of money to try it out.

Hmm, the trouble is, I just spent most of my liquid funds travelling the last 3 months and searching for a job so fingers crossed I get some income soon and the prices are still reasonable 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I know from your posts you had a wonderful trip. Money well spent! When BTC was at it's highest back we took a month trip to Belize, a 2 week trip to San Francisco, and a 2 week trip to New Orleans. I've never regretted it for a moment. Now if it would just go back to that, I'm ready to travel again!

Absolutely, no regrets on spending it and I'll have fond memories of everything that happened!

I got in when BTC was at its highest and have been clinging on for it to get back to these heights again lol. Hopefully steem can improve with all these changes that are happening as that would be a nice gift 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems I have a lot to learn. Thanks for doing this post.

Having a diversified portfolio is pretty important, especially if you aren't keeping up to date with news and developments yourself. Some things that I would be wary of would be what their contingency plans are if ETH doesn't end up succeeding and what the outcome of a large altcoin downturn would affect your portfolio (I guess that would be actively rebalancing to minimise the effect of that). Also, you would need to check if you are easily able to trade the C20 tokens if you had the inclination to do that... at the moment, I think it is only at HitBTC (which is a dodgy exchange...).... possibly some DEX would be better.

I have to check, but I think I have a small amount of their original C10 offering...

Great info, @blueeyes8960. This looks like a nice option for those of us who are skittish about volatility. Do you have a pointer for where to go to buy the coin?

Wow from $10k to $29 million that is some profit. A basket of cryptos. The fund is doing what most traders do anyway, they invest in their favorite coins, but they don't need a middle man. Crypto is to empower you so that you don't need a broker or fund manager or banker. You are your own sovereign fund manager.
Notice the chain token that has just launched and is going to the moon lately. That will help any portfolio...at the moment.

I don't know about you, but I don't have the funds to invest in 20 different cryptos. This token is about .80 right now and there is no minimum investment amount. They also stake the NEO and DASH and add that revenue to the fund balance. I thought it was worth taking a look at.

Yes that sounds good, that Neo and Dash are staked too. Very good to know. Actually any crypto investment is a good one, compared to traditional assets.

That's a good fund. It's got all the right coins for today. But how do they choose their currencies, and how often do they adjust the mix?

It says rebalancing is done weekly.

Awesomeness.

You got a 18.03% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blueeyes8960! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)