#fiestatuesday: 1965 One Peso, Sister Teresa D’Mordecai Part 4

in #steemleo4 years ago

1 P

”Blackbirds tend to like shiny things.” ~ The Bloody Raven

I tend to think that this particular type coin minted 1958 to 1967 can truly be deemed as ‘Junk’ silver since it’s silver purity is at a low 0.100 fineness converting to a net silver weight of 1.6g out of 16g of this crown sized coin. Even an American dime has more silver at 2.25g net and the Canadian 10 cents at 1.86g net. Nevertheless, it is the sixties and the decade where all the world's countries are going off physical silver as coinage into the fiat paper currency model. The only silver used in coinage will remain in Commemorative and collector’s issues.

Sister Teresa D'Mordecai Part 4: General José Morelos

P
The Valley at dusk by marcoreyesgt under Pixabay

The sun begins to set as Revolutionary army of General Morelos settles into the Valley’s township of St Angeléasta welcomed by the partisan townsfolk. Many of the revolutionary soldiers were welcomed into homes with spare room yet many more set up camp where they could, their camp fires begin to light up the roadsides, fallow fields and orchards.

Meanwhile several Nuns huddled with their ears by the door, eavesdropping on the discussion regarding Sister Teresa’s violent conduct as a nun of the order. Mother Eva's uncharacteristic use of strong language invoked muted giggles among the girls. “Oh my, Sister Teresa, this is not the way to set an example to the children and now they are running around beating each other with sticks! They are rolling around the ground shouting, “We Royalists surrender you win the war Sister Teresa! You win! …what am I going to do with you? Now I have to find a suitable discipline for our heroine!”

Ana frowns as she pressed her ear closer by the door, Teresa answers for her conduct.

“I understand Mother; I will accept your wise discipline. Forgive me for I have sinned against you and my sisters the Order. I shall perform the appropriate penance as you prescribe.” Replied Teresa.

Mother Eva’s tone changed to a conciliatory one, "Was it something in your past that tempted you into using... violence?”

There was a pause and a drawn out sigh, “I couldn’t let the soldiers violate Sister Ana. I will not stand for it!” There was the sound of a fist striking the table and another drawn out pause, ”I was barely ten years old as I was sold as child slave for immoral powerful men to violate… for money…”

The girls gasped and pressed closer to the door. Ana whispers, “Our poor Sister Teresa….”

“Excuse us Sisters.” Sister Argénta leads four men into the hall past the nuns to the meeting room door. “Don’t you girls have something to do like… HELP WITH THE WOUNDED?”

They all reply in unison,” Yes Sister Argénta!” and scurried out the front door.
She tapped on the meeting room door.
Mother Eva replied, “Enter.”
"Mother Evangelista, may I introduce the officers of the Army of Independence." The four men removed their hats and followed Sister Argénta into the room.

1965 One ‘Silver’ Peso
1
Reverse: José Maria Morelos facing right
0.900 Brass, 0.100 Silver, 16g
34.5mm Diameter, 2.3mm thick
Reference KM# 459, Schön# 53

The first officer was handsome, gentlemanly and well mannered. "Buenos Dias Mother of St Angeléasta, I am Captain General José Morelos and these gentlemen are my lieutenants Vincente Guerrero, Guadalupe Victoria and Rodriguez Sebastian Lopez. We beg that we may have our wounded men take shelter here at your convent for some respite time."

"See to their needs Sister Felicia," ordered Mother Eva.
"Si Mother Evangelista. Felicia stands and immediately steps out of the room.
Teresa stood up from her chair, "I will assist Sister Felicia since Sister Clareta is recovering from her injury."
"No Sister Teresa, because of your act of defiance before Captain Oréaga and his Royalist thugs, we can trust you to join us."

Mother Evangelista now formally addresses their guests, "Father José Morelos, it is an honor to meet you again. Please sit gentlemen, Sister Argénta, bring meals for our guests and join us."
"Oui, Mother Eva," replied the French nun but stared at Teresa a little suspiciously before turning out the door.
"Sister Argénta you have met before, Father and this is our new amazing Sister Teresa who defied the Royalists just before you arrived.”
Teresa respectfully bows, “Father Morelos.”

"Ah Sister Teresa, the heroine I hear from some of your Sisters were glowing and listening with praise." Rather than the usual acknowledgment Morelos kissed Teresa's hand before laid his hat on the table. He nodded to his officers and took a moment to straighten the bandana over his head before finally leaning back in his chair fatigued. He turned to the Reverend mother, "And I heard of your passionate support of Independence from the last letter from Miguel."
"Then you know." Mother Eva's eyes welled up in sorrow.
"I also grieve the loss of a patriot brother even though his methods and tactics were clumsy."
"You seem to have a smaller army than General Hidalgo's. Can you achieve where General Hidalgo didn't?"
"Morale is very good with the victories we've already accomplished. And casualties light, I feel that God is with us."

Teresa eases into the conversation, "Your army must be quick and versatile, against the many the well trained and equipted Royalists have mustered, and such odds have been achieved before."
"I confide with your assessment Sister Teresa; it sounds as you have a talent for tactics. What do you think of the possibilities, be frank and realistic please."

1965 One ‘Silver’ Peso
1
Obverse: Mexican Coat of Arms
Estados Unidos Mexicanos, Un Pesos, 1965
Minted by the Mexican Mint, Mintage of 5,004,000

General Morelos' question was a probing one to test her character. Most men would outright dismiss a comment let alone advice especially from a nun. Especially in the practice of war but he appeared remarkably open to it.
Four nuns entered the room and placed a meal before each person before departing. Sister Argénta sits next to Mother Eva and reports, "We have received twenty wounded men in the hall and thirty-one of less serious injuries housed in the sanctuary. Sister Clareta is better but remains dizzy from the blow to her head. She remains in her room for now; at least the swelling has been reduced.
Mother Eva nodded, "Thank you for your report Sister Argénta."

"Your girls are loyal to you as my men are to me." Morelos smiled, "Allow me, Mother Evangelista." Morelos produced a large silver cross from under his jacket. "Father in heaven we thank thee for this bounty and refreshment, and thank thee for thy victory you gave us, and give grace to all those who you have chosen to spread your word of liberty for all men, even for our enemies that are also your children made in your image. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy Ghost amen!"

As all in the room replied in a chorus, “Ahem!” Teresa felt a prod in her spirit as if that silver cross has a supernatural quality. A characteristic feeling of a spirit or at least a mimic is clinging to that cross in a subtle yet undetectable state by mere mortals. It was cursed but in what way?

1
Poured 5 Troy oz. FS Cross by Yeager’s Poured Silver

”There is no other substance in the universe that has such a contradictory duality than silver! While silver may have a multitude of useful physical and chemical properties, it also has the ability to be imbued with either a curse or a blessing. It is God's money, and at the same time The Devil's metal. ~ Brother Philip of the Celestial Monastery 1688 AD

The four men looked towards the Mother, “And Gracias Mother Evangelista.”
Mother Eva smiled, "You are welcome gentlemen, Father Morelos, and how is his Holiness standing with the Revolution?"
"I think his Holiness remains neutral, we have waited long enough and his silence has answered for us. With the betrayal of Father Hidalgo by the Bishop of Mexico City had shown his true colors." With a frown he digs into his beans, "I know the hearts of the people and we must become our own Nation!”

Guerrero chimes in, "It feels like the whole world is at war. My letters from Spain says the French have control of most of Spain and ousted the king of Castile. Ferdinand is desperate for gold and silver to pay his armies and mercenaries to fight Napoléon so he’s squeezing the colonies dry of their wealth but only to be skimmed off like fat by the greedy Viceroy and his Juntas before sending the pittance to Spain. "

“They stab each other in the back while we fight their battles,” Lopez had already finished his beans, gulps down his drink and pockets his bread. “If you will excuse me, I have some issues of organizing some new volunteers into our ranks.”
Father Morelos acknowledges his officer’s responsibilities with a silent nod. Lopez tips his hat to Mother Eva and closed the door behind him.

Victor adds, "It is then the poor people here that suffer most by this inequality by the small minority of powerful. The people not only pay by their sweat and the powerful sacrifice nothing at all but become even wealthier from it all. The majority should decide for themselves than the few. I still believe in my heart that a Republic is preferred more than a Constitutional monarchy. "

General Morelos swallows a spoonful of baked beans, "Father Hidalgo envisions all Mexicans from pure Spaniards to mixed bloods to pure Indian blood as equals! Say, these beans are delicious."

Guerrero waves his spoon, "Either way, there must be change. I do know we must keep the idea of Independence alive. I feel it is time! The Royalists may be well armed and trained but if we could close the gap with better rifles and canons the chance of success would be even greater."

1965 One ‘Silver’ Peso
1
Edge Lettering; INDEPENDENCIA Y LIBERTAD

Father Morelos finishes his plate then says something out of place, “Saint Bess is in San Antonio I hear.”
Mother Eva hesitates to wipe her mouth with her napkin, “The paymaster waits in the graveyard, poor Sister De La Rosa.”

It was code. Teresa understood that Morelos had to come to this convent for a reason. It also meant that this Convent was participating in the Insurrection in some form and not merely a rest stop for a weary army.

"So Sister Teresa, you have had some experience in military tactics. I like to hear a fresh perspective from a unique Nun." His tone was somewhat pragmatic with barely a hint of skepticism. Perhaps he needed a bit of escape from the burdens of responsibility of command.

"I had the opportunity to study at the Jesuit library in Wuhan China and studied the writings of an ancient army general named Sun Tzu. And according to the memoirs he commanded an army of ten thousand against an enemy of one hundred thousand and won."
His eyebrows arched in curiosity, "Interesting, and how does my army compare to that of this..... Sun Tzu?"
Teresa smiled, "I can't really say, I have yet to see this magnificent army of yours Captain General."
"I can show you now." He said with an inviting grin as Mother Eva’s brows arched in slight disapproval.

"Will you? Not that I want to waste your valuable time, as I'm sure there are more important matters to take care of," Teresa glanced over to Mother Eva knowing that she wanted to avoid discussion about war. But it's where Father Morelos wanted to go to. Morbid as the business of war but to him it was a deep sense of purpose and his faith in his Regulars and Irregular troops. Part idealistic but firmly realistic. Charismatic and seems a bit of romantic at heart.

Father Morelos grinned, "Then let me show you the Patriots I am proud to fight with."
With that the Captain General extended his hand to Teresa as an invitation. She looked upon Mother Eva for permission and the Mother reluctantly nodded in approval. Her gaze turned back to the Captain General, "Yes, I would be pleased."

P

I hope you enjoyed this coin feature, thank you for stopping by my Blog for this quick read.

Previous 3 chapters of Sister Teresa D’Mordecai;

#fiestatuesday: 1933 Silver One Peso – Sister Teresa D’Mordecai, Part One
#piratesunday: The 1945 Gold 2.5 Peso - Sister Teresa D'Mordecai Part 2
#fiestatuesday: The 2017 Silver Libertad - Sister Teresa D’Mordecai, Part 3
#fiestatuesday: 1965 One Peso, Sister Teresa D’Mordecai Part 4

P

The #fiestatuesday tag is the brainchild of Tag Master @silverd510 and you don’t have to be a member of #steemsilvergold or #ssg-community to participate, please feel free in joining us in sharing our Stacking treasures and adventures.

The #piratesunday tag is the scurvy scheme of Captain @stokjockey for #steemsilvergold and #ssg-community pirates to proudly showcase their shiny booty and plunder for all to see. Landlubbers welcomed to participate and be a Pirate at heart so Open yer Chests an’ show us what booty yea got!

References

1. My own pictures shot with a Samsung SM-A530W
P. Image under Pixabay
R. Clip art from 123RF
W. Wiki Commons
O or OC Openclip images are now on Pixabay

Source References

Numista One Peso
Thought Company: Jose Morelos
Encyclopaedia Britannica: Jose Morelos

P

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”

Sort:  

Another great post, you should write Novels...
Seems like the Bloody Raven is a novel!

Writing keeps my mind sharp, it doesn't come easy to me since I struggled with a mild form of dyslexia since before high school.
My kids have it too with my one son having serious learning disability.
The public highschool couldn't help him but an expensive private school was able to work around his problem and he was able to pass the standard curriculum and win two scholarships. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

That is AWESOME! Good for him, and YOU, being a wonderful Mom!

I too believe I have a very mild form of dyslexia, but it basically helps me to do Word Jumbles. In fact I can see them much better UPSIDE Down!

🙃

A beautiful Morelos silver peso coin... and goodness, she was sold to be violated by men.... arrrgh.... that is so terrible!!!!! The edge inscription on coins always fascinated me! Goodness, sister Teresa knows Chinese military strategies and war tactics??? So interesting! That silver cross from Yeager is truly a great find, sis... not many make crosses.
I thoroughly enjoyed reading your article sis. I would have been first to comment... but I get so carried away with your writing that I start to imagine... then I get off track and somewhat confused... then I end up in another person’s article forgetting that I have this reply box open in another window... what, she was sold as a slave to be violated by men... that is so horrible!

The Bloody Raven as you may remember has her Origins go back more than 300 years, originally adopted and trained by the accomplished assassin Giovanni Auditore Da Firenze and now at this point of her Time Line, so how else could I fictionalize around the various awesome silver coins from around the world in a style like the Historical Romances I used to read. I know you love those Libertads! 🌮 😘
One day I will canonize these 'Chronicles of the Bloody Raven' into a Coffee table book.
For now, it's an long on-going story line here on Steemit about the life of a 500 year old Vampire girl and her mission to secure or neutralize any known 'Cursed Silver' plaguing man kind.
SisterTeresa D'Mordecai is the current incarnation of the Bloody Raven following about ten years after the retirement of her old ship, The Storm Crow.
Sending you much love Sis 💖 🌺 💞 🌲 writing your origins as Sister Argenta Saviore in a few episodes down the line from here.

CC; Thought you may be interested in a bit my character's fictional origins @enginewitty


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared for your upvote and share, very much appreciated for the effort I put into this. 😃 💕

I love Mexican silver! And that 5 oz Cross is amazing! I poured a cross it's about 50% silver. From junk jewelry I gathered.
IMG_20191217_205355.jpg

Nice, I probably could have used yours as the model in this story of the "Mimic of Faith" Cross since my YPS cross looks too perfect and should be more contextually accurate in 'crude..ier' fashion.
Thanks for your comment, and picture @fat-elvis 💓

The #TagMaster approves.👍

0.100 'Silver' Pesos, you'd know I was scraping the bottom of my Mexican silver stack if I had to pull these out for show and tell.
Picked the shiniest one too.
Got a few 0.72s in the mail today so the story can continue....Viva la Revolution! 🌮🇲🇽

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, what a story! To wait almost a month for each chapter is too much...
!trdo

Congratulations @ronaldoavelino, you successfuly trended the post shared by @kerrislravenhill!
@kerrislravenhill will receive 0.74856150 TRDO & @ronaldoavelino will get 0.49904100 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Sorry, had to stall as I didn't have enough Mexican silver to show with the story, so the good news is that a few Ebay 0.72 silver Pesos just came in the mail today so the story can continue.
Thank you for your patience.

Posted using Partiko Android

I believe the 1965 one Peso " Silver" was one of my first coins I got mail order.
It took about eight weeks to get the coin, I still have it!!🤗

I sometimes get the same postal issues too.
I got a bunch of these coins cheap just for the fun of having a bagful of these big 'silver-ish' coins, they are really more like brass coins.
Finally got some more 0.72 silver pesos in the mail so my story can continue. 🥳🌵🌮

Posted using Partiko Android

I’m looking forward to your post, @kerrislravenhill !😊
I have something at the post office this morning that they took back???
Christmas surprise???🤔😁

Excellent as usual, my dear! I enjoy your writing very much. Thank you for sharing!

You're welcome, Just got some different Pesos in the mail, just in time to continue the story. 📝

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear Ms Ravenhill...
Your delegation has not showed up yet, seems the steem-engine interface was not working very well. Undy had a lot of trouble sending more to this account. Try logging OUT, logging back in with master password and importing account. That seems to work.

Hmm, I know SE has been always quirky.
It shows a 1401 Delegation outstanding.
So use the Master password, that is, my Private Active key?
And Importing Account? What's that?

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, Sword Gurl, I bet you used the @ symbol on my username

😱😲😳🙀😱

yup...
123456.png

OK undelegate that right quick and re-do it

...and DON'T USE THE "@" SYMBOL!!! 😋🤣🤣

spinvest-neo



S-E does not recognize the "@" (nor does steem)
It is assumed to be there, but Steem actually shows
it on the form, they post it for you. And reject it if it's used.
S-E is not exactly the same UI... 😱

You still have time to get it back (5 days) and still get credit for December!

I was thinking of you and your coins today when I was dumping my annual collection into Coinstar. I noticed I had a couple of dollar coins that I kept. I oughta post them for you.

!tip

I've got 3 Coinstar reports to post yet. I am so far behind, Thanks for the reminder Sir.

I'm glad to have been able to help! :)

coffeea Lucky you @wwwiebe here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

🎁 Hi @kerrislravenhill! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @wwwiebe!

@wwwiebe wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday, On Wednesday! Feel free to follow @wwwiebe if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

this is not the way to set an example to the children and now they are running around beating each other with sticks!

Bwahahahahahaaa! Monkeys see!

She almost got away from the conversation. Am curious what the graveyard comment was about. I have a hunch, but will wait to see where you take it. Good shit Kerris.

@alliedforces curate 2

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 78.43%

Congratulations @kerrislravenhill, your post successfully recieved 0.7485615 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@ronaldoavelino earned : 0.499041 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site