You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Monsters alpha release! A collectible trading card game with RPG elements comes alive on the Steem Blockchain!

in #steemmonsters6 years ago (edited)

Hey @aggroed, thanks for the quick reply! I appreciate it. Yeah, desire to level faster will definitely create a scarcity effect and also the rarity of pulling a legendary in a booster, for example, would give it some value anyway, since someone could pay a portion of what they'd expect the amount of packs it would take to get a legendary would be to buy that legendary directly. I think that if legitimate scarcity can be induced though (Just my two cents of course), it would become a more popular collectible (like MTG, YuGiOh, blockchain example being cryptokitties). with MTG/Yugioh, for example, eventually stopping printing a given set and then going to a new, so past sets then are scarce. cryptokitties approach being randomization and creating super unlikely odds of specific 'mixing'/'breeding' for certain cryptokitties. As a huge fan of trading card games (grew up playing MTG, Yugioh, and DBZ), I'm really really excited to see it moving onto a blockchain and, more importantly, the Steem Blockchain, and I think this will be an awesome opportunity to grow the blockchain community and pull new people in.

and it doesn't even necessarily have to be rare cards. for example, the utility of a common may show itself as crucial to certain battling strategies, so if there was some scarcity there, a common card might end up becoming extremely valuable for trading with people/selling on the marketplace once the set is no longer printed. :)

I plan to, once tournaments, battling, marketplace etc. are up, to bring this up with the owner of the most popular comic book shop/trading card shop in New Hampshire (USA), who I know since I grew up playing there. I hope to pull more people in, introducing them to the blockchain and also bringing more hype to this new style of game. Very cool stuff!

I look forward to playing!

Sort:  

I could cut a deal with a shop to deliver a lot of card packs to them at a discount and they could sell.

Yeah, that might be something I can help arrange. Do you have a contact email for the site? I'm imagining people with tablets sitting at the gaming table and battling each other! and they would want to buy from the comic shop since they can get them a bit cheaper because of the discount! :)