The Mystery Alien Creature

in #steempress4 years ago


It was just few weeks into the lockdown and all the news channels were filled with updates from all around the world about the coronavirus. We still follow the hard copy of newspaper delivered every morning. I don’t know it is a south Indian thing, but it is a custom to have the morning tea or coffee with the newspaper.

These days the newspapers are very thin with very less pages. No advertisements in most pages whatsoever. On such a thin newspaper day, there was one news that took our attention. It was in Malayalam and more of a regional news.

A few people sighted a mysterious creature in a place called Kunnamkulam. It’s a little far from our place but still in the same district. There were not much information about it. Just a column where it read people got scared seeing a creature, someone got scratched by it and is around 7 feet tall and disappeared fast.

I was very excited about this. I mean in an optimistic way of meeting an alien. I did have a phase were I was actively reading and watching about all those controversial theories about them. I was pretty disappointed when all of those only took place mostly in western countries. I mean, I am really interested in meeting one of them, if they exist and all these countries are far away for that!

And now we have something of that sort here. With the lockdown everyone is staying home and I really expected someone would catch it. But in the later days this “thing” was sighted at different locations. When tried to catch it, people say, it ran fast and disappeared. In some places it climbed up a palm tree.

It is not easy to climb up a palm tree that fast. My curiosity at this point was at its peak. So, I did the first thing I can do. Google if there have been any other incidents like this reported before anywhere. Now that we have a few more features known about it, it must be easier to identify.

I only found this site, which was of not much help. It’s just a compilation of different stories, mostly in the US, with not much of confirmation or proof.

In the coming days I waited for more news but not many newspapers picked it up until much later. But the panic among the people over there and nearby places were growing. There were more incidents at random locations and now it has been a little bit of public nuisance. In few places this “thing” threw stones at the windows and somewhere “it” left the tap open.

Now at this point I was calling all my friends from places near there like a crazy person. I mean somebody had to have more information. But, every search just ended up concluding it must be some psychopath trying to create a mass fear among people.

All our discussions ended up thinking about how talented they are in organizing this and what they might have used to do all of these. Our best bet was someone using kangaroo shoes to do all of these. But still, how did they know there’s going to be a lockdown and all the ways to escape and everything!

I still kept hope for seeing a special creature if not an alien to be honest. I mean, who could climb a tree that fast and vanish when there are many people who are trying to catch “it”.

Things change when it gets closer to us. I mean, everything gets a different tone when it happens near you or knowing it is getting closer. There was a news which did get noticed by many. It took place in a politician’s house in the town area. So, now it is no more in any remote area or where there’s more open land to escape. There was a cat’s head in a tub, in their cow shed.

How does a cat’s head relate to this, right? That’s where it gets weirder. Their neighbour saw two people, in complete white costume in the cow shed the other night. But, in the morning when they saw the owner (the politician guy), they thought there’s nothing to worry about.

That’s when the cats’ head thingy came out and the neighbour’s story backed it up by seeing the white-gowned “things”. So far there were no clear witnesses. But, now there’s one and everyone was alert by now.

So the other day we had an incident where people tried catch this “something” and it escaped. Now, it is no more in Kunnamkulam or a distant land. Just a few meters away from our house.

In the places where it happened at first, police were already camped to catch the mystery man. Since it was lockdown not many goes out during the day and the roads are empty in the night too.

That night everyone in our neighbourhood here closed their doors and windows much tighter. You can tell from everyone’s action that people were actually scared. This time I was not excited but a little scared. Because I have started to believe it is some crazy human. And humans are always dangerous.

I mean, why would an alien kill a cat and place it in a tub in someone’s cattle shed?! These are things only humans do to create mass panic or to get attention.

So, now I got scared. My dreams of having a moment with an alien or this creature were gone. Also, we kept a close check on our cat too.

What if the person is armed? That was my only worry and so my windows were shut that night. As a night owl and who loves the wind at night and early morning, I always keep my windows open and lights on at night.

By now, I am familiar with most sounds at night. I know if it is the coconut or mango falling on someone’s roof or a civet dog swinging on the trees in the nearby yard. Knowing this animal is around itself was a huge deal for us.

No one is used to have wild animals around here. But, we have houses almost abandoned since people are abroad. So, these animals now freely roam around on the roofs and at night the sounds of jumping and falling scares everyone. So, far we know there are two civets here.

Anyway, nobody came that day. There were news coming from other parts of the district about incidents like this but there were no clear evidences or anything. After a few weeks of this drama I lost my interest. I did check the new for updates but now it was all about finding out who the “human” behind this is.

That’s such a muggle issue. There’s nothing interesting in that.

After a long time, some guy was caught by the police. He has admitted it was him going around creating all the mess. The intentions were something petty, to see his girlfriend or something like that.

That was such a brutal destruction of my alien dreams!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://elsaenroute.com/the-mystery-alien-creature/