2017 Silver Krugerrand

2017 1 oz Fine-silver Krugerrand, Premium Uncirculated


The first year issue of the 1 oz silver Krugerrand was released by the South African Mint in 2017 as part of 50th anniversary celebration of the iconic Krugerrand bullion coin.

Each 2017 Krugerrand coin produced bears the 50th anniversary privy mark.

 
Use the slider to view reverse and obverse of the coin.

The dies for the 2017 Premium Uncirculated Silver Krugerrand have been digitally enhanced through laser-etching technology-minting technology, making the details of the 2017 Premium Uncirculated Silver Krugerrand appear razor-sharp with very polished gleaming highlights, and satiny frosted shadings.Source: GovMint.com

This coin comes with a high premium. As of today, a Premium BU Silver Krugerrand it is priced at almost 3 times the spot price of silver.

However, I personally consider this coin a monumental collector's item.

I was happy to receive a coin much better looking than I expected, with raised areas proof like and a contrasting background satin frosted finish.


Related post: 1 oz Gold Krugerrand

Thank you for taking the time to view my article. I hope you enjoyed it and please come again soon! @silversaver888


Sort:  

Nice article saver, and great pics too. I have 2 of them and think they are gorgeous. Surely about the most premium and sought after 1oz bullion coin going. There’s a 2012 Lunar Dragon 1oz going for $90 CAD at my lcs, but even that rare beauty doesn’t compare to the clout of the 50th Anni 1oz silver spectaculaire that is the Krugerrand.

OMG... those earlier dates Perth Mint Lunar coins have appreciated much. I attempted to go back in years until I realized that I am not a coin collector. Sometimes, I get sidetracked. I keep my goals written, so I am able to read them over and over and stay on course. Otherwise, my stack will be all over the place!

Ha! I feel ya saver! I think i am mostly a stacker, but fused with a wildly eclectic, numismatic/vintage bullion collector. Part of my fun is having no list 🤪🤪🤪

Three times spot? Wow...more like a numismatic than bullion then.

While it is beautiful, I personally pay only for utility and ease of transfer when it comes to silver bullion.

^^^ THIS ^^^

yup

That is a great way to stack, my friend. Sometimes I feel that my collection is growing faster than my stack... and that is not good, LOL! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I appreciate it.

I do like it, but ...yeah... the price 😵 Your gold one is much better 😁 Your photos are excellent! See you again soon, my SSFL💗

A pourer complaining about Price? :P
lmao
One offs like this, are worth it. Low Mintages and Pours, similar thing...
Except the coins will be way more likely to maintain the "added values"
JS ;)

😉 I think pours and low mintage are worth it, to the right peeps

According to Numista, the mintage was 1,000,000 coins. The premium is outrageous! If the mintage was 10,000 I would accept such a premium.

You overpay for everything you buy Rondo ;)
I have typically seen the US Mint stuff be at a 100% premium, in fact.
As a bullion stacker I think ya'll are just a little crazy, but at least you
are STACKING!

😉

Yeah, I know what you mean. Yet, I thought, for a classic coin such as the Krugerrand, and it is a commemorative, plus the first year issue. It may not happen again in my lifetime, LOL!

I have a few of these. I wonder what the value will be 10 years from now. Just have to wait and see. Great coin and nice post!!

Only time will tell. But the price is still up there!

@silversaver888 I like when you share

Are you making fun of me now, stok? That is what steemit is all about... sharing, LOL!

They have a way too high premium as far as I'm concerned, beautiful coins, but kinda seems like price gouging. I sure do want one though!

First-year issue commemorative of a classic coin, the same design as the first ever bullion gold coin... so I decided to buy it, LOL!

It look great! I just couldn’t pay the price for it but I know what you mean.

I always wanted a Krug, and did not know if I will live long enough to afford the gold Krugerrand. So when the silver version was released, I just had to get it.

Prices can be crazy for Krugerrand specially the premiums.. nice one buddy

You got a 5.10% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @silversaver888!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

This post has received a 3.20 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @silversaver888.