Sort:  

Hello @anaestrada12,
Your article caught my eye because I've had some experience with ascites. The first time I experienced this, a rather ignorant and ill-mannered physician suggested I was an alcoholic. The next time I had it, the doctors suspected obstruction or vasculitis.
Happily, on both occasions the event was acute, sudden onset, and resolved spontaneously. CT scans were a big help in getting to an underlying cause. I would think this would be the first step in any attempt to diagnose and treat. While the pain is significant in a patient with acute ascites, CT scans help to clear up the picture. Though paracentesis is relatively safe, still there is risk. (I am never eager to have someone stick a large needle in any part of my body haha)
The CT scans were extremely helpful afterwards, as doctors tried to assess what was causing these acute episodes. We--they and I--wanted to understand how to prevent future episodes and also to understand how to proceed safely if these occurred again.

I know your blogs are written for practitioners, but I hope you know that patients are also your readers. As a patient, I view my role in any treatment plan as collaborative. The doctor may know more, but well-written articles (such as yours) help patients to take an active role in formulating treatment plans.

Thank you for this information. Very valuable to all.

Greetings @agmoore2 thanks for the article, every patient is different, every pathology is different, and not all behaviors are the same, and of course every study that is requested has its indications in your case that only tomographic studies were necessary.

:)
Yes, I was lucky. I had excellent medical care (mostly) before, during and after my episodes. Very grateful for that.


SC-comment.png

This publication has been manually curated by the Steemitas Club Team. Thanks @anaestrada12 for sharing us this great post.

Steemitas Club is a community who give free delegations of 100 SP to new steemians and also has a curation project to support original content.


Join to our community in Steemit: https://steemit.com/trending/hive-100638

Join to our discord server: https://discord.gg/dYMsF7a

Thank you very much for the support @steemitasclub



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie and @minnowbooster.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness @stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Thanks for having used the steemstem.io app and included @steemstem in the list of beneficiaries of this post. This granted you a stronger support from SteemSTEM.

Thanks to the best blockchain community for all the support given in my two years in steem :) @steemstem

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment