Do Not Be Scared To Be Bored - With Steembasicincome Contest (Eng/Ger)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Wow, two days in a row!! My factory job is over and I have some time for random crap, which feels awesome. There are still a few projects I have for this summer that I want to finish - this is the first one. Today is a science base post, but not like the other ones I usually write. Firstly, it is in German and English. Secondly, it is about a topic I usually do not write about. And thirdly, it is about an experiment I started.

Wow, zwei Tage hintereinander!! Mein Job in der Fabrik ist zu Ende und ich habe endlich etwas Zeit für unnötigen Blödsinn. Ich habe einige Projekte die ich diesen Sommer angehen wollte - dies hier ist nun das Erste. Der heutige Post ist ein wissenschaftlicher, aber nicht so wie die Anderen die ich sonst so schreibe. Zunächst ist diese Post zweisprachig. Dann ist das Thema für mich unüblich. Und, das beste meiner Meinung nach, beschreibe ich ein Experiment das ich gestartet habe.


IMG_0209.JPG

No worries, nobody has been hurt, even though the pictures looks like it. The only victim here were cherries, a WHOLE LOT of them. My brother and I decided to make cherry wine from cherries he and my mum grow in their garden. We picked roughly 12 kg and I had the pleasure of washing them and removing the seed.... One by one! Needless to say that it took quite some time and made a huge mess. The result was a couple of liters of cherry juice, which we combined with Bordeaux yeast, yeast nutrition salt and lots of sugar. Anyways, my hands looked like I killed somebody (so did the kitchen counter btw). There were a lot of leftover cherry seeds. We wanted to plant a few of them and grow cherry trees, like normal people do. But that is not the less horrible way. So I cooked up a little experiment.

Keine Sorge, niemand wurde verletzt, auch wenn das Bild danach aussieht. Die einzigen Opfer waren Kirschen, SEHR VIELE Kirschen. Mein Bruder und ich haben entschieden Kirschwein zu machen. Meine Mutter und er haben Kirschbäume im Garten die wir abgeerntet haben. Wir haben circa 12 kg gepflückt. Ich hatte die Freude die Kirschen zu putzen und zu entsteinen.... Es hat ewig gedauert und eine riesen Sauerei gemacht. Am Ende hatten wir ein paar Liter Kirschsaft den wir mit Bordeaux Hefe, Hefenährsalz und Zucker angesetzt haben. Meine Hände sahen am Ende so aus als ob ich jemanden ermordet hatte (die Arbeitsplatte in der Küche übrigends auch). Wir hatten am Ende viele Kirschkerne übrig die wir, wie normale Leute, einpflanzen wollten. Das ist jedoch nicht der less horrible way. Ich habe mir also ein kleines Experiment ausgedacht.

IMG_0210.JPG

IMG_0208.JPG


We all have asked these questions: Do seeds need light to grow into a plant? Do they need earth? Well, fear no more child, I will figure it out for you! I may not be a botanist, and I may not own any books about growing plants, but Donald Trump has also managed to become president, and I have a few empty boxes and roughly 2000 cherry seeds. Trust me, I am a scientist, and I will find the answers for you. Because I like splitting numbers into either multiples of 2 or 5, I decided to take 10 seed per trial. There will be 4 different conditions I will place the seeds in.

P1000284.JPG

Stars of the Show

Diese Fragen haben wir uns alle schon einmal gefragt: Brauchen Samen Licht um zu einer Pflanze zu werden? Brauchen sie Erde? Keine Angst, ich werde es für euch herausfinden. Ich bin zwar kein Botaniker, und ich habe vielleicht auch keine Bücher über Pflanzen, aber Donald Trump ist ja auch Präsident geworden, und ich habe ein paar leere Boxen und gefühlte 2000 Kirschkerne. Vertraut mir, ich bin ein Wissenschaftler, ich werde die Antworten für euch finden. Da ich Zahlen gerne in Vielfache von 2 oder 5 aufteile werde ich 10 Kirschkerne pro Versuch nehmen. Die Kirschkerne werden 4 verschiedenen Situationen
ausgesetzt.


Materials - Material

Maybe I can find someone who is as bored as I am and who is willing to set up this experiment. Just in case that I can find someone who is interested, here is a description of the needed materials.

Vielleicht kann ich jemanden finden der so gelangweilt ist wie ich und dieses Experiment nachmachen will. Nur für den Fall, here is eine Beschreibung der Dinge die ich benutze.

P1000285.JPG

As you can see, you do not need much to replicate this. You will need four vessels on which you can fit 10 cherry seeds each. You will need roughly 8 pieces of paper towels, scissors, something to cover up one of the vessels so that light can get through, water, something you can measure out 5 mL of water, earth, and tape. Oh, cherry seeds would also be nice. Unfortunately, I am not a botanist and I have no PCR machine. Thus, I cannot tell you exactly what type of cherry this is. All I know is that these are called Sour Cheeries in the region.

Wie ihr sehen könnt braucht es nicht viel um dieses Experiment nachzustellen. Du brauchst vier Boxen in die jeweils 10 Kirschkerne passen. Außerdem brauchst du ca. 8 Stück Küchenrolle, eine Schere, etwas licht- und luftdurchlässiges um die Boxen abzudecken, Wasser, etwas um 5 mL Wasser auszumessen, Erde und Tape. Oh, Kirschkerne würden auch helfen. Leider bin ich kein Botaniker und habe auch keine PCR Maschine parat. Deshalb kann ich dir leider nicht sagen was für eine Kirschart dies genau ist. Ich weiß nur dass man sie hier in der Region einfach Sauerkirschen nennt.


Set Up

Fill two of the boxes with some earth. Place 4 sheets of paper towels in each of the other two boxes. Place 10 cherrie seeds into each box. Using your gadget measure out 5 mL of water (I used a syringe). Spray the 5 mL of water on EACH cherry. Seal one box filled with earth and one with papertowels using your material of choice. Leave them outside in a place where they get some sunlight. Take the other two boxes and place them in a very shady place, one where they have significantly less light. Make sure oxygen is readily available and that the temperature of the environemts is similar.

Fülle zwei Boxen mit Erde. Platziere je 4 Papiertücher in die anderen zwei Boxen. Bestücke jede Box mit 10 Kirschkernen. Messe 5 mL Wasser aus und spraye es auf JEDE einzelne Kirsche (Ich habe hierzu eine Spritze genutzt. Verschließe nun eine Box die mit Erde gefüllt ist, und eine mit Papiertüchern mit dem Sonnen und Luft-durchlässigen Material. Diese bleiben draußen an einem Ort an dem sie ausreichend Sonne abbekommen. Die anderen beiden Boxen bringst du an einen schattigen Ort. Stelle sicher dass ausreichen Sauerstoff vorhanden ist und dass die Temperaturen denen draußen ungefähr entsprechen.

P1000286.JPG

P1000288.JPG

P1000287.JPG


To Be Continued

I will water the seeds once a day with 5 mL of water and check whether they broke open or if they died. Granted, this is not the most exciting project, there are many uncontrolled variables and the outcome is somewhat useless knowledge (I am sure that you can find the information I am looking for on the internet). But the important thing here is that instead of doing the easy thing, I decided to put in the effort to get what I want - this is definitely not instant satisfaction. Furthermore, I have used my brain to cook up an idea. There may be many shortcomings in my experimental design, but our brain needs to think. It is like a muscle and needs training. Also, do not be scared to be bored sometimes. A little anectdote: I was sitting on my grandpa´s porch. He was reading me from the newspaper. The story he read was titled: Boredom Increases Creativity. And this title is correct. If we are bored, and we avoid instant satisfaction (a snack, watching TV or playing video games), we can come up with these stupid, yet creative ideas. None of my cherry seeds may end up growing into a cherry tree, but at least I have given my brain the permission to come up with an idea. My idea might suck. But what if somebody who is a lot smarter than me lets his thoughts wander? Next up: Updates of my cherry project and a little write up about my windmill-run electrical generator.

P1000289.JPG

Ich werde die Kirschkerne jeden Tag mit 5 mL Wasser gießen. Ich weiß ja, dies ist nicht das interessanteste Experiment. Es gibt viele Variabeln die ich nicht kontrolliere und auch das Wissen was ich aus diesem Experiment ziehen kann ist relativ nutzlos (Ich bin mir sicher dass diese Informationen bereits im Internet zu finden sind). Das wichtige hierbei ist dass ich nicht den einfachen Weg gegangen bin. Ich habe mich entschlossen etwas (unnötige) Arbeit in Kauf zu nehmen um dass herauszufinden was mich interessiert. Außerdem habe ich mein Gehirn benutzt um diese Idee zu entwickeln. Unser Hirn muss beschäftigt werden. Ähnlich wie ein Muskel braucht es Training. Habt keine Angst davor ab und zu mal gelangweilt zu sein. Eine kleine Anektote: Ich saß auf der Terasse von meinem Opa. Er las mir aus der Zeitung vor. Der Artikel den er mir vorlas hatte den Titel "Langeweile Fördert Kreativität". Und das stimmt auch. Wenn wir gelangweilt sind, und sofortige Befriedigung vermeiden, kommt unser Gehirn mit diesen dämlichen aber kreativen Ideen daher. Vielleicht geht keiner meiner Kirschkerne auf. Aber ich habe meinem Gehirn die Erlaubnis erteilt meiner Kreativität freien Lauf zu lassen. Meine Idee mag vielleicht nicht die beste sein, aber was ist wenn jemand der sehr viel schlauer ist als ich seine Gedanken wandern lässt? Als nächstes: Updates zu diesem Experiment, und ein kleiner Text zu meinem Windmühlen Stromgenerator.


Contest - Wettbewerb

A little treat for reading this post, a contest for the engaged reader. Which condition will cause the seeds to germ first? Leave your guess in the comments for a chance to win 10 Steembasicincome shares as well as 5 SteemDollar!

Eine kleine Belohnung für den engagierten Lesen. In welcher Situation werden die Kirschsteine zuerst aufgehen? Lasst eure Gedanken in den Kommentaren für eine Chance 10 Steembasicincome Anteile, und 5 SteemDollar zu gewinnen!

As always, Wie immer,
Cheers @lesshorrible!

Sort:  

Ohja, das mache ich vielleicht nach, wenn ich am Mittwoch wieder Kirschen bekomme.
Aber in abgespeckter Form: Kerne in feuchtem Papier und halbschattigem Platz und ich erzähl dann, wann sie gekeimt haben. Das feuchte Papier hat sich schon öfter bewährt.

Super, lass mich dann auch bitte wissen was du für Ergebnisse hattest! Viel Glück, Cheers!

I'm answering in English, though an added bonus for me was to practice reading in German. I discovered this post because of Effofex's reading log.

The cherries got my attention. Fond memories of my grandfather's orchards, not just cherries but peaches, apples, pears (he actually created a new variety of pear--the DeVoe). However, I am long removed from my farm roots. My attachment to farming is emotional, so I have no reasonable basis for my guess: paper towels in a shaded room. I choose this because it is counter intuitive. My memories are of bright sun and rich soil, but that seems too obvious.

By the way, I'm not afraid of being bored--I'm never bored. Of course, I can be boring, but that's not the same thing, is it :)

Pretty cool that somebody got here through his reading log!!

My grandpa also had a few trees, but he was growing nuts, walnuts, hazelnuts and also cherries, but the trees did not make it (bad soil).

The one mistake you can make when you are bored is to not do anything. I was trying to make the case for letting your imagination wander and then just whatever dumb idea comes up. As soon as I got the last components I will finish up my wind engine, very excited! Thank you for your comment, cheers!

Hi @lesshorrible!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

I predict low germination percentages in all treatments. I think you will need to chill the seed in the refrigerator for a few weeks before planting at a warm temperature in order to enhance germination rate.

Given your experience, you are probably right. It is unbearably hot her at the moment. However, I’m hopeful that the cold morning air is enough. Thanks for your comment! Cheers!

Sorry to hear about the heat wave you are experiencing.



This post has been voted on by the steemstem curation team and voting trail.

There is more to SteemSTEM than just writing posts, check here for some more tips on being a community member. You can also join our discord here to get to know the rest of the community!

Ich vermute das die Kirschen, welche nur sanft in die Ansetzerde gedrückt wurden am Besten aufgehen.

Mal sehen, ich bin auch ziemlich ahnungslos. Cheers!

Cherries, the final frontier. These are the voyages of the gardening ship Seederprise. It´s five-year mission: to explore strange new plantations. To seek out new life and new plantilizations. To boldly seed where no plant has blossomed before ...

Cooles Experiment. Ich tippe auf die Kerne in der Box mit den Papiertüchern die dunkel steht. Danach (oder gleichzeitig) die Kerne in der Erde die im Dunkeln stehen. Ich bin gespannt...

Die Kerne im Dunkeln auf den Papiertüchern sind auch meiner erste Wahl. Mal sehen. Cheers!

Ich würde sagen, die Kerne ohne Erde im Schatten sprießen zuerst. Werden dann aber in der Wachstumsphase von den Kernen mit Erde in der Sonne eingeholt.

Freue mich schon auf die Auflösung :)

Mal sehen, wenn sie sprießen Stecke ich die wahrscheinlich in Erde. Aber Papiertücher im Dunkeln ist wohl die beliebteste Methode. Cheers!

Congratulations @lesshorrible! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!