My new car is on the way

in #story4 years ago

I am making big efforts to live as much as I can a sustainable life. For around 3 years I didn't had a car in London, the city where people take pride in not having one. I did my best had a car sharing system and used the network rail system and taxis to get to where I need it. It was difficult as I did come from a country when car is almost our second nature so I missed driving and getting to places where the bus has a hectic schedule.

Last year in November I bought an old small Toyota Yaris and I was absolutely blissful. It was really small engine, easy to park and get me easily to the place I want to hike. I name it Linda and I thought we are going to be friends forever. It was the best item I bought just before the whole situation, so I had the opportunity to move when life was on hold due Corona.

In July I went with a friend in Scotland, hiked the Ben Nevis, did amazing hikes and camping wild in the Isle of Sky and after this she died in an accident. A motorcycle driver lost control of his bike and smashed the front of my car make it unusable. My poor Linda was abandoned in Scotland in a garage and the insurance paid me a lump sum.

I realized that despite having the accident I was ready to be back on the road. So I had seen few options until I have decided to buy this time a car almost new. It has better emissions and different safety features. Is going to get a name again on Saturday when I will pick it up. Is red like my last car in Romania, so definitely a girl's one. But well new adventures are ahead of us, so will keep you posted.

IMG_20200817_115754.jpg

Love and hugs,
Teodora

Sort:  

Nice to hear you are safe after the acsident, didn't go down and look forward for a new ine 👍 Congrats!

I knkw what you feel coz I can hardly wait to get my new carater today 😇🤗

So what is your car, except it is red? 🚗

Toyota Yaris VVI 2015 :)

Good choice 👍💥
You are loyal customer 😉

Sorry to hear about Linda. I would happily give up cars, but where we live it would be difficult to get around. I have not been driving much recently though. Cars just eat money. I would like my next one to be electric, but it will depend on how much I am likely to use it. That could be a good option in London if you pay less tolls, but charging can be an issue depending on where you live.

I did analyzed electric cars, but the infrastructure in UK is not ready. Also as I paid upfront an electric car was way to much over my budget. Hopefully in the future they will get more affordable

Sounds great :) I love my little car, although I try and walk and use public transport when I can.

I don't use it much in London only to escape the city and see some hills

Oh yes, I was the same :)
Are you coming to the meet up in Halifax? It would be good to see you again.