High-school graduation

in #students4 years ago (edited)

Does this look familiar or surprising to you? The local supermarket is celebrating the high-school students who graduated - a significant part of their staff. I hope they got a present too.

7ucwej.jpg

Youth minimum wages are relatively low in the Netherlands, which means that supermarkets are mostly staffed by high-school students. This year it was easier to graduate than usual, since the central examinations were canceled and only the schools' own tests counted.

I see a lot of posh names. This might be different for the other, cheaper supermarket in the neighborhood.

Is high-school graduation a social event where you live? It's a big event for the schools here, with ceremonies, pranks and parties. Local newspapers print the names of graduates, at least in rural areas.

I had the honor of being the most mediocre student in my year, with no failing grades on my reports, but not a high average either.

Sort:  

Hier by ons in Suid-Afrika, word die name ook in die koerant gepubliseer. Dit is ook 'n groot geleentheid, hier by ons, met 'n groot partytjie.

I hope you could read the Afrikaans, below is the English version.

Here with us in South Africa, the names are also published in the newspaper. This is also a big event, here with us, with a big party.

Ja, ons kan gesels :) Ek kan Afrikaans lees, net deur oefening. Writing and speaking, not so much. Understanding depends on the accent.

I agree, I can also follow the Dutch, when spoken slowly!!