Natural Solar Energy - But winter's coming

in #summer2 years ago (edited)

Natural Solar Energy ☀️

BUT WINTER IS COMING ❄️


The rain is finally here and a lot of Londoners are sighing with relief. My plants are certainly happy about it, mind you it's only been one day. Who knows, we may see some green lawns yet.

I've been enjoying the heatwave, and the abundant sunshine personally. Apart from soaking in some much needed Vitamin D regularly, I've also been utilising the free energy of the sun. I like to call it "Natural Solar" energy, without any need for solar panels and the like.

A7D4BEA6-57D3-4086-B0E6-79AA04E87AD3.jpeg

clothes.gif

I'm talking about using the heat of the sun to dry my laundry. Not only does a batch dry within the hour - faster than a dryer, it also smells 10x fresher. The UV rays also help kill off germs that may be hanging around on my clothes. Also there is no condensation caused by drying clothes and no mouldy smells. So many wins.

I originally just had a string tied from fence to fence, but I've since installed a retractable clothes line I bought at Asda for about four quid. It's pretty handy. I didn't permanently affix it so I can remove and change location at will. When I don't have any clothes out, I can retract the line so it doesn't obstruct me when walking around. Much better.

We are now entering the end of summer, sadly, and I'm going to miss this sunshine. I'm not looking forward to the crazy energy bills when it starts getting cold. I think it's going to be a difficult winter this year. I hope it doesn't get too cold. It's already going to be a very expensive time for many. If Putin turns off the gas, we're in for some wild times.

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

We've had hot and cools spells taking turns the whole summer. The last week has been unusually hot for late August. Clothes dry in no time, which is a plus. During the day, we can also open the bathroom window to dry the air after taking a shower without having to set powered ventilation at maximum until the bathroom is dry.

Ah that's just perfect isn't it, to be able to air the house, especially the bathroom or Kitchen. Imagine having cross ventilation in the bathroom!

We can air the house any time we want when the weather is normal for summer. When the air in the bathroom is very damp after showering, it is nice to be able to open the window to get all the water vapour out quickly. If the air is cold or even something like 20 C, the air in the bathroom cools down too much, which is what you want to avoid because then there will be too much condensation in the bathroom. Powered ventilation set at a higher setting is for removing the damp air out of the bathroom quickly. But that is not necessary when the weather is hot.

The rain is finally here and a lot of Londoners are sighing with relief.

Wait, what? I thought the British were always mad because it never stops raining.

We live in crazy times. haha.

There’s nothing better than the natural solar energy. Well, I don’t like the extreme heat that much, but it has its positive side too. You’re very right about the laundry and it’s “ability” to stay fresh and dry in a matter of moments out in the summer heat.

Enjoy the sun, man!

You can't beat the sun when it comes to laundry 100% :). Thanks I'll make the most of it. There are only a few days of it left :(