You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HOW TO TRAINING: CARVER SURF SKATE CUTBACK ROUNDHOUSE

in #surf6 years ago

A carver or similar allows you to turn in an angular motion that is very close to surf.
A long-board, despite they have a (small) angular motion, they tend to go in a linear motion.
"Is it possible to still learn this technique without the carver? ". You are able to learn this technique in a skate with a truck like a carver (ex. smooth star http://www.smoothstar.com, surfskate- https://surfskate.com/boards/, etc.) but very unsuccessful in a long-board by the reason i have mentioned before. If you want master the centripetal force in a tight turn like the ones produces when you are surfing you should buy one.

I bought a carver proteus model but you are free to buy any model or brand since it has a truck that has the same ability to turn.

In case of you are keen buying a carver be sure that you by is a ≥30" board and CX truck.

Sort:  

By the way Taylor Knox is a master of cutback roundhouse!!

I appreciate the good tips, currently looking at buying a second hand carver. So the c7 trucks are not as good as cx trucks for surf training?

CX or C7 are good for your surf training. They have differences but you are not able to feel them in this stage. But you will, im sure.
One of the main differences is that the CX truck has less maintenance. You choose what is more convinient for you.
CX Truck:https://carverskateboards.com/cx-truck/
C7 Truck: https://carverskateboards.com/c7-truck/

Ahaha! It’s a beauty!! 😍! Now there is no excuses to improve your surf! Lol. Get out of here and go skate. And then come back to Tell us how was! 😁

Hey mate was the best feeling to surf on concrete :) I noticed on the rear right side, I got some wheel bite on my deck :(. How do I stop this, should I tighten the truck??

" I noticed on the rear right side, I got some wheel bite on my deck" This is because you were ripping. aahah!!"How do I stop this, should I tighten the truck??" - Yes, that sounds like a good idea to me. But do not give too much importance to it! Is to be used !!! It's not to put on the shelf !!Captura de ecrã 2018-01-29, às 14.12.46.png