You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plastic Free July?

Good on you for doing your best. It is madness how often the better choice is soooo much more expensive, or just inaccessible. And of course, with corona, some of the bulk options I used to use are no longer an option. The store near me has bulk in bins with scoops, and rather than have people opening them up and breathing their germs over the whole bin, they have pre-packaged everything into small plastic bags. I won't fault them for this because I'd rather everyone stay safe but it still makes me sad that there is now all that plastic in the world. I think stores that have the kind of bulk bins that pour probably are still able to use those, but this store doesn't have any like that.

Sort:  

The supermarket did the prepacking of the loose nuts and snacks on the scoop ones but not on the pouring ones. I haven’t been to the bulk food shops for a while.

I’m finding the cost difference seems to come down to the plastic free being different features, like organic, but it makes low waste living and low budget hard to achieve at the same time.