Eat.Drink.Shop.Repeat.

in #tasteem4 years ago

title_image


But first, you have to find a place to eat in the middle of all the chaos in a surplus shop like this.
20200229_185816.jpg

Shopping can get pretty exhausting specially when you don't know what you are looking for and keeps looking around hoping that you will find an "aha!" item. And you get luckier when in the corner of your eye, you spot a food store in the corner that seemed to be a warehouse. This was how I discovered this restaurant in a crowded surplus shop.

20200229_174731.jpg

I thought the name of the restaurant was Wholesome Tasty Tucker Cafê as I read the logo writing from top to bottom. However when I searched the internet, I figured the name is Tasty Tucker Wholesome Cafě.
20200229_175013.jpg

I got inside the restaurant and looked up to be surprised by the expensive prices on the overhead menu. I thought it is one of those low cost eateries out there but apparently not. The prices are for a full blown restaurant. I wonder what it the restaurant owner's relationship to the surplus business.

I placed my order of bacon and egg carbonara then got a table on the corner to the right.
20200229_175259.jpg

All tables have this auto auction desktop ad. Yes, this surplus shop also sells automobiles.
20200229_175752.jpg

At almost six in the evening, the dining area was fairly empty. There were few who came before I did and few came after while the first ones left.
20200229_175926.jpg

As usual, drinks were served first. I ordered for coffee but aparently, it is not yet ready. I was served with cold water. The good thing about this is because they served the water voluntarily. In other restaurants , you have to ask for it before you can get free drinking water. That is because other restaurants sell bottled water so they want to sell.
20200229_180441.jpg

It took almost 20 minutes after my order was finally served. It was right in time as I started to get bored of waiting.

There was a lump of whitish something on top of the pasta. I thought it was white sauce that was not whipped properly thus created the mass.
20200229_181534.jpg

However, I was wrong about the white sauce because it was not white sauce after all. It was a half-cooked egg. The sight of the food made me droll with the discovery of the egg.
20200229_181616.jpg

It was my first time having a pasta with egg. Surprisingly, it was a good match.
I was not expecting the bacon to have been crushed into bits and pieces. That actually gave the pasta a different texture to the tongue and made the dish more appetizing. The bacon was so crispy that I enjoyed nibbling on them to the last piece that the utensil can pick up. 😁
20200229_182722.jpg

The restaurant has few branches in Metro Manila. If you want to visit this branch, do not look for it specifically. Instead, look for HMR Trading Haus because the restaurant is inside that facility.
20200229_190327.jpg

Tasty Tucker Wholesome Cafê
HMR Trading Haus
Dr. A. Santos Ave. (formerly Sucat Road)
San Antonio Valley 1
Parañaque City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Tasty Tucker Wholesome Cafě
score
Dr Arcadio Santos Ave, San Antonio, Parañaque, Metro Manila, Philippines


Eat.Drink.Shop.Repeat.
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Pasta vs Pizza


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

LOL, Carbonara suppose to be made with Bacon and Egg! :) Traditionally not cooked the way you’ve been served though. Was there cream in the sauce? That shouldn’t be, but many cooks do. Creamish in carbonara cones from egg white mixed raw into the pasta and quickly stirred and served; Something like that at least; Not the best Carbonara cook myself :)

Yeah, it's kind of funny pasta with bacon and egg but it was actually good. Surprisingly good! Sometimes people tend to experiment on things and come up with something better. I can say that this is one of those better outcomes. 😊

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Pasta vs Pizza> Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!