Team Australia new recruits 30/05/18 and meeting more steemians in real life

in #teamaustralia6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, I'm back home in Panama after my latest European adventure. It was so good. Vienna was lovely and my secret steemit project went really well. I'm super happy with the outcome but I'm still waiting on the photos before I reveal what that was about.

Then I flew to Greece. I had no idea how amazing this country is and I wish I had another week or so there to keep exploring. 

While in Greece, I met and travelled with @martibis, the creator of steemitworldmap for a few days, and that was really fun. One or both of us will probably blog our adventures at some point but don't hold your breath waiting. Despite running a daily travel blog, it turns out we're both quite shit at writing our own travel posts!

Feature photo

The top photo was taken by award winning photographer @intrepidphotos. It is a painting of Baiame, a legendary ancestor and the maker of all things, according to the Wonnarua Aboriginal people. If you like it please upvote it here.  

Meet-ups: The ones you missed

Melbourne

The last Melbourne meet-up took place on Sunday 20 May in Carlton. Four steemians showed up including @datascience, @mslillypilly, @bobaphet and @itstime

@datascience's post here. @bobaphet's vlog here. Note, both posts are outside the payment window now so please upvote something more recent if you enjoyed them.

Credit: @datascience

Perth

Perth had a meet-up on Wednesday 23 May at the Lucky Shag (lol!) since @positiveninja was over there for work. @superoo7 went along. 

@positiveninja's post here. @superoo7's post here.

Credit: @superoo7

Upcoming meet-ups

Adelaide

End of month drinks are tomorrow 31 May from 6 pm at the Jade. Details here. Surely you know what they all look like by now, but if you don't, here's a reminder of @holoz0r's beard.

Credit: @holoz0r

Melbourne

The next Random Drinks will be on Saturday 2 June at the Good Food and Wine Show. Details here.

Get your discount tickets for the the Good Food and Wine Show here.

Team Australia Christmas Party

The Team Australia Christmas Party is happening in the Blue Mountains on Saturday 15 December. Details here

I just booked my flights to Australia a couple of hours ago so I'm one step closer to going. AND—in exciting news—my steemit bestie @kubbyelizabeth looks like she's now going. She's looking at flights as I write.

A house has been booked for the weekend and it's been dubbed "Ballerhouse" by the Mallsballers (i.e. the Adelaide crew). 

@mattclarke is auctioning off the second room this week after @o07 secured the first one. If you don't live in Sydney/the Blue Mountains and want to stay here, check out this post and get your bid in. 

You've still got plenty of time to plan/save. No need to FOMO just yet.

Credit: @bearone

Baby on board, something, something, Burt Ward!

Suck it. You're now going to be singing that all day!

Finally, congratulations to Brissy mum @cooknbake who had a baby on 20 May (I think). She didn't actually say if it's a boy or girl, just that it's out. 

Both doing well. Details here.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out @anzub, the Australian and New Zealand upvote bot in the Australia-New Zealand Discord server. You need to register to receive upvotes and delegations are welcome. Speak to @jackmiller if you have questions.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends.

You should consider voting for the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground.

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink, @mrsquiggle and/or @anzub (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@sanddrift is from the Mid North Coast of New South Wales. He's an environmentalist and nature enthusiast, as well as an amateur singer-songwriter, poet and photographer.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I like swimming and getting smashed by waves and walking out naked losing pants and all."  

Hmm, perhaps you need tighter pants.

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@trevorpetrie is a reluctant IT professional and songwriter from Bendigo. He's been writing songs and playing bands for 25 years. He also has his own record label.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"Although I'm 6 foot 4/ 193 cm, my first ever chat handle was 'dwarfman'. Back in the dial-up modem days, I used to chat on a site called OzChat. My chat handle actually had nothing to do with my height though and was actually a reference to the fact that I used to be a complete and total Red Dwarf tragic."

Sigh. Isn't most internet in Australia still dial-up speed? @ausbitbank is the only person I know with good internet.

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@run.vince.run is an Aussie living in Auckland. He's a software engineer, endurance athlete, and author. He's passionate about technology, sport, health, and fitness.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I am turning 40 this year and to do something a little crazy, I am running 4 marathons in 4 months for my 40th birthday."

Ha, nice. Good luck! Plus fit at 40 sounds preferable to fat at 40.

Candidate 4

@melbourneswest is a community development worker, an aspiring politician, and wannabe bodybuilder. Unsurprisingly he's from Melbourne.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I am literally the funnest person to be around which can be confirmed by pretty much all of Melbourne. I host some of the best events and I'm not afraid to push boundaries."

Hmm, that's a pretty big call.

Candidate 5

Name and bio

@jk6276 is from Coffs Harbour where he lives with his family after escaping the Sydney rat race 10 years ago.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I am actually pretty un-Australian... I don't like beer or vegemite."

Urgh. Another one that's anti vegemite. I think we need a clause on this. 

Candidate 6

Name and bio

@aliyah2017 is from Melbourne. She's @nextgen622's wife and a stay at home mum. 

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I have studied in university across four continents. I have been a café owner. I have a twin sister."

These are all cool fun facts. I feel like there are some good stories here.

Candidate 7

Name and bio

@steveblucher is another one of @mattclarkes' Adelaide recruits. He's a high school teacher and teaches coding. He recently become a Wiggles fan thanks to a small person living in his house.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I have double-jointed thumbs."

I'm not sure what practical benefits there are to this, but I feel that it would be a source of amusement at the pub/parties.

Candidate 8

Name and bio

@piquet is an Aussie living in Seattle. He moved there four years ago for a very cool job at Microsoft. He's also into Ironman triathlons, marathons, trail runs, and surfing.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I got my nickname Crazy because I went out for a 220km bike ride with one water bottle and no food. The guys I rode with said I was Crazy. I had a VISA card—I don't know what their problem was?

Lol. This seems perfectly reasonable. You don't want unnecessary weight on the bike over that kind of distance.

Candidate 9

Name and bio

@jojijoji is from the Bendigo area. S/he had a pretty traumatic childhood and now suffers from hEDS (hypermobile Ehlers Danlos Syndrome) and POTS (Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome).  

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I can dislocate every bone in my body except my elbows!"

Eek! That's making me queasy just thinking about it. Sounds like you and @steveblucher could put on a show though.

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia. 

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide by @teamsteem if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates. 


 

Gif by @justcallmemyth

Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page divider by @kristyglas

Sort:  

Welcome back @choogirl and welcome to all the new recruits. We look forward to seeing your posts in our feed.
@sanddrift
@trevorpetrie
@run.vince.run
@melbourneswest
@jk6276
@aliyah2017
@steveblucher
@piquet
@jojijoji

:) so much on steemit. Hope you find the journey a creative one

Welcome to all our new recruits - you've been registered for @centerlink votes and backpaid now :)

Welcome, new recruits; and thanks Choogirl for another great introduction.
@steveblucher and I go way back. (Adelaide though, so most of us know each other already.)
He's also a Simpsons tragic so might be interested in @o07's Best Simpsons moment gif competition.
I'm hearing back from a lot of ballers about tomorrow.
Attendance record's 17, and I think we might knock it on the head :)

That would be cool!

Cheers for the shout out Matt!

Everyone is welcome to join @footytips and the daily fun on my page :)

Hurry Up and get some good posts out there.... I'll be looking for them! Welcome all.

We are going to have a blast in Australia! Also, welcome new Aussie. :)

Of course we will. It'll be awesome.

Lol, I just realized that with this new job I’ll be able to join the crossfit and the yoga class I’ve been holding off on. Soon I’ll be self employed too. It’s just a matter of time.

OMG, you are turning into me.
Run away now and save yourself!

welcome back choooooooooo <3 miss u~ ! glad to hear vienna was awesome and looking forward to hearing more about your super secret steemit project in the future :D

welcome ALL NEW JOINERS \o/ so many fresh faces * __ * looking forward to getting to know you all :D

Thanks Spidey.

I'm really upset I have other travel plans around the end of the year and won't be able to make it. Ah well. At least I haven't yet missed an Adelaide meet up!

Welcome to our new members!

Ah that sucks. I thought you were driving the steem mobile over!

That was the plan, until I didnt have enough annual leave to cover the already booked trip, plus the drive over and back. By time I got back to Adelaide, I'd be late for my other flight!

Oh no bro :( #1ballershortnow

Welcome to the newbies. :)

Welcome to all the new members!!
And welcome back @choogirl! Hope you had a great holiday

Late to the party, but welcome to everyone!

Hi @Choogirl! i would like to apply to join Team Australia :)
My name is Aida and I have voted for @ausbitbank, I have joined the discord and here is my intro post, https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@aidab21/hi-everyone-this-is-my-introductory-post-i-m-relatively-new-at-this-so-please-bare-with-me-20171210t0047695z and I'm in Sydney, my fun fact is i love colouring in and gardening! It will be good to connect with more aussies, have a great day :)

Welcome everyone!

Bring on the new Steemit peeps!!

Did @martibis show you his break dance moves!? That guy has quite the cool skills! Got to meet him at Steemfest 2 😊

Hmm. He did not. I will have to remember this for next time.

Good to have you back doing the new recruit write ups Choo. I'm very intrigued by this secret project... And welcome to all new recruits of coarse!

Thanks Harry. It's pretty cool. I enjoyed it a lot.

Thanks for the very warm welcome everyone. If you happen to see one of my posts, and have some suggestions - I take constructive feedback well. I've never blogged before, so will happily take on board suggestions.

Welcome to the Team!

Thanks for the warm welcome. It's kinda nice to get a taste of Australia from over here!

There's actually a bunch you up that way (you're the first one in Seattle I know of). @aussieninja is in Portland and there's quite a few Aussies up in the Vancouver area.

Cool! Going to Vancouver is like coming home. Don't need much of an excuse to travel there! Portland is a little Melbourne-ish too. Seattle isn't.

Welcome back @choogirl Thank you for another fabulous update and intro to new Aussie Team recruits. Welcome everyone. You've got us all intrigued as to your secret steemit project. I guess all will be revealed soon.

Thank you Trudee. I need to follow up on those photos actually. I will do that right now.

Welcome all members will check out your steemit journeys. @jojijoji you should do a dtube video on that bone thing haha welcome mate

Damn Choo,

It just gets bigger and better here in TA each week :)

A massive shout out and hello to all the new crew!

#wearehereifyouneedus #queenchoo #mallsballers

Well technically this was 2.5 weeks worth since I didn't write any posts or chase anyone while I was away.

Thanks for sharing my photo ! I would love to travel to Greece. I should also starting using the Steemit world map.

Thanks for letting me use them! You should post them to SWM. It's pretty easy.

Welcome aboard new crew, you'll find that you've joined a very supportive (and damned interesting given it's from all ages and walks of life) group here :)

Welcome to the new team members! It’s growing steadily, that’s great!

Even though we no longer have the mentoring program for @teamaustralia, there are still some excellent groups that help newbies network and promote your posts both on Steemit and Discord. In fact there are quite a few of us embedded in some of these groups so it is definitely worth checking out, including @asapers (@insideoutlet was a new recruit not that long ago but definitely not a newbie now!), @newbiegames (for some friendly competitions and contests), @welcomewagon, @thehive and many more!

Wo0t wo0t! Thanks for adding me to the team ❤ here's to building a wonderful steemit community Aussie Style!

Good to have you back @choogirl it must have been an amazing trip... and BIG WELCOME to all the new recruits to #TeamAustralia!!!

Thanks Mel!

Welcome back @choogirl and thanks so much for the intro!

Thanks also for the warm welcome everyone 😊 great to meet you!

You're welcome

Welcome to all the new recruits, lookig forward to seeing your posts.

Welcome to all the new team Australia members.

@choogirl can i also be the part of australian team is their any chances:(

Sorry, Team Australia is for Australians.

hmm best of luck!

Welcome everyone to this great team.... Looking forward to reading everyone's posts!

Come to pakistan, i want to meet yoy :/

Pakistan is not on my bucket list sorry.

put it in your bucket list now :o

Hmm, I spend too much time going through the US. I don't need the questions from Homeland Security about what I was doing there.

oh yeah, that's the problem :( but i'm still welcome you with open heart to visit northern areas of Pakistan :)

thanks for promoting steemit. This gives me a good night sleep to know that the steemit community is growing day by day. New members you are welcome on board.

Welcome to all the new Aussies!

Hi, I am first time on your post. It's really interested for me. I warly welcome all new members. Have a nice time.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Welcome to all the new members!

Welcome everyone!

Welcome on board 😁

EVERY bone in her body?? Even the little one in your ear? Well colour me impressed!

I don't know about the little one in my ear...now I want to find out

That would be something, hey?

Thanks for intro

You're welcome!

Hi @choogirl. I was upvoted and followed you