Rainy day at the beach

in #teamaustralia3 years ago

Australia is the land of beaches and sun, but that not always the case. We are fact approaching the winter months in the southern hemisphere and it hitting with a vengence. This weekend it was wet, windy, and just plain horrible.

I also happened to find myself in the bayside suburbs of Melbourne, a place I know well. I grew up down that way, and a day would be unsual when I didn't brush sand off my feet. Of course I haven't been there recently though.

So even though I knew it was bit cold I thought I would pop down to Half Moon Bay, which is not really much of a beach, but rather a couple of piers, a fish and chip shop, a couple of boat sheds and a sunken wreck of some ship just off shore.

Rainy Day Beach 2.jpg

Other people seemed to have the same idea as me, but were no regretting it, hoodies up trying to eat their food.

Rainy Day Beach 1.jpg

The seats out for you to enjoy you drink in the sun next to the waves lapping against the wall were deserted, sand blown and prone to the occasional spray from the sea.

Rainy Day Beach 3.jpg

And those stupid enough to venture onto the pier we buffered by winds, a wide stance needed to keep your balance, the thought in the back of you mind that "this is a dumb thing to be doing, should probably get the hell of here.

So not really a very pleasant day at the beach at all