My Favorite Achievement So Far in 2020 | Hive Blog #2

in #teamaustralia4 years ago

20200306_135956.jpg

Early this year I got the great gift of a silver YouTube play button commemorating 100,000 Subscribers for a channel I helped manage from 20,000 subscribers last year. The channel is called Bondi Vet and it's a tv show about vets helping animals from the suburb of Bondi in Sydney, Australia. Though the channel gets hundreds of thousands of views now, when I started it only got a few hundred per video.

Making policies and disputing copyright claims for video on YouTube can be an extremely annoying task. That and a company who you have to deliver results. The first few weeks didn't go as well, then I uploaded a video that featured a bunny that was put into emergency as its leg gets ripped out of its skin. It generated a lot of comments due to the nature of the accident (kids were involved) and slowly started seeing results.

A small bump in views, revenue, & subscribers and then it went quiet.

And these were the times I was truly tested. 2 seasons uploaded on YouTube and not many people were watching. What many people don't realize about a lot of television/movie content on YouTube is how restrictive it can be. Multiple deals with television companies worldwide meant it was blocked from a majority of countries.

The bunny video strangely had a second resurgence in views and that was what set up the channel for success. I'd like to also say it was consistent uploads and responding to viewers as well but within 10 months, 20,000 turned into 100,000 subscribers and I couldn't have been happier. The tv network was happy, my company was happy, and moving into the middle of the year, the channel has now 138,000 subscribers and grows everyday. With the earnings, the tv company is also re-investing it and filming digital exclusives.

TL:DR - If you have a channel or even apply this to your hive account. Be consistent, don't be afraid to try new things, and make quality content.

Take care honey bears, Hive Five!

Kevin

Sort:  

Pffft hive five, that's definitely one of the cuter slogans I've read so far and a lot better than trying to retro hive into the steem slogans XD

Congratulations on the silver play button :D are you still managing that channel?

I hate region blocking.

I am the slogan king. And yes still managing

Congratulations Kevin and excellent advice for anyone. Perseverance is one of the toughest yet best traits someone can master!

Cheers, Pat! Hope you've been well

Good job Kevin!

Thanks, Cams. Miss ya boo

Oh wow! Congratulations!

Thank ya :)

That's a HUGE achievement to be honest!

Congrats bro, and great story. I feel sorry for the bunny and all animals getting hurt because humans involved.
I really want to be able to gain success just like you, I have no fear, I have to increase quality, but consistent attitude towards content creation may be the part I struggle the most.

Anyways, glad to pass by and say hello in #Hive bro! take care.