Album Review: Blake Scott's 'Niscatam'

in #teamaustralia3 years ago

I haven't written a music post for a long time, because music is so deeply personal and indescribable, and I can't expect you to like the same music as I do. I can only think of two Hivers that might be remotely interested in this one - @cmplxty and @perceptualflaws - but if you're into post punk and spoken word, this might be worth a listen. I haven't listened to an album I enjoyed so much since Peep Tempel's 'Joy' - and this album is the first solo album by it's frontman and song writer, Blake Scott.

'Niscitam' is Melbourne music at it's best - and I've listened to it four times running today.


image.png
Blake Scott

There's a certain sharpness and brutality tempered with nostaglia and subtle (and not so subtle!) criticism of the Australian social landscape that sends shivers up my spine when I listen to Scott, lyrical genius and social commentator that is on point with his searing indictment of Australian politics and the filthy, chaotic, stupid and alcoholic mashisco of men searching for something in the bitter dry plains of their past and stripped back present of booze, fatherhood and grime. That's Australia for you - the tension of angst against the mundane, binge drinking, toxic masculinity: “One a week, as we speak, women killed by men in this country… anyway, how good’s the UFC!?”. Yep. Sharp. But there's also the joy of fatherhood and 'keeping it all together' in the face of new love: ‘Love yourself, forgive yourself, forget yourself". Personal and political, it's an excellent album.

His spoken word of Australian drawl rolls like a V8 the dirt tracks of gentle snares and train thrums of the bass. Sometimes it's just damn poetically genius. Plainsman is the song that hooks me first - a sprawling narrative that begins it's steps against a bar in spoken word and then gives full stage to a sprawling instrumental with that rolling bass I have always adored in Melbourne garage/post punk.

'Kalishnakov' is an obvious follow up to an old release, 'RayGuns' screaming guitar and sharp as lyrics that stab into the heart of the Australian far right and relentless media: "The regime is coming, and they're all on ICE!" (watch here, it's fabulous). On the day of Dan Andrews informing Melbournians they'll be in lockdown for a while yet as big companies continue to profit, I listen to Scott's knife edge slice through parellel, wider sweeping matters:

Mining magnates lick their lips
About best practice for welfare recipients
Whilst drinking the average salary
In a weekend on their yacht

And

Catholics in politics
Racist, sexist, swinging dicks
Vile old pile of misanthropes steer our little ship.

If you think there's nothing wrong is this wide brown land, you're in for a confronting listen with this one.

'Hillman Hunter' is decidedly more nostalgic as it remembers a childhood in WA. Whilst acknowledging the frailty of memory that is 'overexposed and bleached with the light pastel smear of the Hillman rolling through', he describes the 'bermuda blue' car being jumpstarted down a hill to a 'free standing roll', 'giddy with a heavy leaded breath', getting older in each trip and the memory of a departed family member before she died. It's a poignant end to 45 minutes of beauty.

'there will be a day i will forget
but your memory has not left me yet
time has not found me yet'

I'm pressing play again, and listening from the beginning.

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

Hello @riverflows! I just met Blake Scott thanks to you! I find it super interesting that he exposes the social situation of his country, especially that he raises his voice against machismo and femicide in such a clear way, it's excellent 👏🏻

I love the guitar in The Plainsman, good jamming! Besides that it is super theatrical, I like it when he talks instead of singing, it makes the message more dramatic. I listened to Fever and I liked it a lot too, it has a very cool retro vibe.

As you mentioned yourself, Hillman Hunter is very nostalgic. The sound of the guitar reminded me for a moment of American Football, but not because of the chords or anything like that, but because of the clean sound of the electric guitar. I think that when they place the guitars like that next to a background ostinato they manage to transmit nostalgia effectively.

I was looking on the internet for the lyrics of the album to be able to read them in full but apparently they are not easy to find ☹️ That led me to think, is he an independent artist? 🤔

This is the first time I see you writing about music and I really liked it, both the music and your review. Have you heard about the @hivesicians community? This content would be an excellent entry into that community. On Hivesicians you can find everything from music performances to reviews, analysis, and opinion. It is not only a community for musicians but also for music lovers. I invite you to cross-post there if you wish.

I haven't heard of that community - but I have subscribed, and thanks so much! Thanks so much for your comment - I'm thrilled you both read my post and listened to the songs! Yes, he's independent - and from Melbourne, so yes, it's hard to get lyrics! I'm glad you enjoyed it and highly recommend the whole album. Thanks for the term 'ostinato' - I wasn't familiar with it.

I'm super passionate about music - I used to write a Music Monday post but haven't for a while as no one seemed to comment or listen, but that might change with your community?

I agree, Fever has a very retro vibe to it - there's a few Melbourne bands that do that old school thing in a very fusion way with psychedelic/post punk/garage/funk kinda threads.

Again, thanks for your stellar comment.

!ENGAGE 25

OMG! You had a Music Monday section in your blog? That's so cool! Please take it up again. It would be super interesting to meet independent artists from your country or any music you like. I'm always recommending music everywhere, and I love discovering new music.

In hivesicians, there are many musicians who do reviews and playlist. I'm one of those. It is more likely that publishing within the community will make it easier for people to reach your post since it is a community about music content. It is not only made for musicians to upload entries playing but also for informative and opinionated content about music, like this review.

Don't sorry, you're welcome. You deserve more comments like that.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

And yes, I appreciate his criticism of social ills as well, especially that line where he has a male voice talk about domestic violence and then switch straight to sport as if that was more relevant.

This is an excellent review, we would like to see this kind of post in the community as it meets good quality and research.

It is admirable when an artist puts into his art the social problems that occur in his environment. It is necessary to give visibility to these realities. It's great to meet musicians that create such interesting music. We hope you can share with us many more artists like this.

Hivesicians Logo.png

We invite you to be part of our community! The place that encompasses the musical content on Hive. Here you can find everything from music performances to reviews, analysis, and opinion. Be part of this community composed of musicians, producers, and writers who are passionate about music.

Just click on the link, subscribe, and start your journey as a HIVESICIAN: HIVESICIANS Community.

You can also join our Discord Server! Here you can connect more closely with community members and participate in special activities.

usetheHivesicianstag.png

Thanks so much - this is really appreciated!