Best Pre Lockdown Day Ever! (Snow Day in Victoria)

in #teamaustralia4 years ago

The state premier of Victoria, Dan Andrews, didn't plunge regional Vic into a state of disaster immediately - we've had three days grace to wrap our heads around it, gallavant about, and bulk buy bog roll. We were quite glad that the Premier of Snow thought it'd be awesome to give us a sprinkling before lockdown so that kids could piff snowballs at each other, families could build snowmen, and Buttercup could test out her all terrain tires. Consequently, this photo is me, jubilantly joyful. Like, far out babe, it's actually sprinkling SNOW from the SKY on ME!

received_738857526948395.jpeg

image.png

Before you think I'm a lunatic (or more of one than usual) we don't GET snow where I live. It's super rare, and when it does get that cold, we're usually at work, where it ISN'T snowing. I've experienced falling snow about five times in my entire life, so it's a big deal. Once was when I was in England, and I'd just met Jamie. We were snuggled up in the back of his mobile library (a gorgeous live in vehicle way before the tiny home movement) and I was hoping it would snow before I left for Australia, which I was meant to. 'I'll call it in for you' he smiled in a very romantic way. A gift of snow? Awww. In the morning, he shook me awake and pulled me to the window. It was indeed snowing - lunatic River running around in the snowy woods ensued.

IMG_20200804_171548_074.jpg

I mean, you can understand me, right? The Otways State Forest is extraordinarily beautiful as it is, let alone dappled white. Huge tree ferns nodded wetly, sagged down with snow, and black wallabies shook ice from their whiskers as they scampered away from the 4WD's come to see the event. It was so quiet and beautiful, and when the sun came out to light up the spectacle, my heart leapt to the skies in pure wonder. For you human beings north of the equator who experience snow on a scale way bigger than this, please don't destroy my joy at this sprinkling - we just don't see it. It's cool!

IMG_20200804_171548_078.jpg

We drove and drove along the main bush track (most routes are shut as it's winter) all the way to a town called Forrest - lower down, so no snow. We heated up moong dahl on the burner and toasted Afghan bread - a perfect winter meal that warmed our cockles.

20200804_125753.jpg

After a cuppa tea we unfurled the woolly blanket I had the foresight to bring with us and snuggled up in the back. Occasionally the sun would come out and warm things up a tad, and then it'd rain again, and we dozed off into a beautiful sleep. We don't often stop for rest, so this was as special as the snow. I haven't felt so calm in weeks.

20200804_124156.jpg

Then we were off down the track again, down to Lorne and the wild and windy sea, where we drank a stout and ate corn chips and felt like we just had the best mini holiday of the year.

image.png

20200804_104657.jpg

20200804_164242.jpg

Wherever you are, I hope you are finding moments of joy like this, however small they might seem. They may be fleeting, but they keep us going through the tough times. May you have many.

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A forest full of huge trees. Your photos are very beautifull.

Thankyou!!! The trees there are quite amazing and huge. I love it - so beautiful, and even more so with snow.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Well, where do I start? Snow is fun but not when it snows like it does in Canada - almost 6 months a year where I live. The ride looks so nice that it feels like a still from a hollywood movie. And you stole my upvote when you wrote Moong Dal and Naan Bread 🤣 😇
Stay safe
ra

Oh man, the moong dahl was the best. I could seriously live off it. We were so cold (the heating isn't brilliant in the landrover) and there was a breeze coming through, and I'd been running round taking photos - so the hot soup warmed us up from the insdie out.

We mix different kind of dahl with moong to make our soup and live off it. Our staple food. So good and nutritious. Looking forward to other crispy photos.
ra

Yes, it's a good nutritious soup / stew to live off...

I just had one reading this post. Thank you.

Looks like very cool! Take care yourself ❤️

It was very cold, @sreypov - I had to wear gloves!

I've heard that it snows sometimes in Oz and now we have the proof! I'm from Washington DC area where we had loads of snow as kids and moved to Seattle where it only rains. It snowed once there and I've never seen them so excited they almost dropped their coffees ;) Great photos!

Haha, yes, it's amazing how some snow can make even grown men excited. There really is something magical about it.

Wor, great pictures. It doesn't snow where I live too. I have witnessed snow just 2-3 times in my life. Loved it. So I understand what you are feeling like.

Didn't know that it snows that much in Australia. Maybe only in some parts.

Although I love to spend a few days in snow, I don't like too much cold or too much hot.

I like rains, when I am home. Otherwise, a little cold atmosphere.

You like rain? The other day we were asleep in the back of our Landrover whilst it rained, and it was sooo lovely and peaceful.

Yeah, rain and coffee in my balcony.😄

Soooo nice. Here, it's rain on a tin roof - a lot of Aussie houses have tin roofs, and the older ones, with less insulation, sound so lovely in the rain.

Snow is so magical for a while at least

Indeed - nothing lasts forever! Even sunshine..

SNOW!!!

That feels so weird since we are melting here. Looks like an awesome trip honestly!

It was - sending some coolness your way!!! Mind you, you get that just by interacting with me...

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #931.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh wow I love your photos and narrative here @riverflows. It is so magical when it first snows like this. Yes I agree that finding beautiful moments in these times is super important and you certainly found them here! Bonza doll! Oh and Buttercup is such a beautiful savage!

Thanks so much!! Ha, a beautiful savage - love it.

may you find lots of beauitful moments..

Thank you and yes I truly do!

Wow! Snow! It's odd seeing snow in August, after the heat we've had. It sure sounds like you 2 had a really wonderful time!