Home made terrarium from reused items?

n7ljx9.png

I know this seems a little hard to see, but this is a "terrarium" made out of fruit box that contained peaches that was gifted to my dad during his hospitalisation from relatives.

The tiny holes that kept the fruits aired now serves to protect this in recovering Brazilian Spinach that was attacked by scales (mealy bugs) from the terrarium box that was gifted also to my dad.

Thank goodness only 3 stalks were mildly infected, but I can't replant it back into the original box.

So what did I do?

If you have followed my #onelessjunkonearth series from my old (lost and found commercial focused) account you would have seen the process how it was transformed.

rx5wxy.png

This is how it looked like before placed into the enclosed "shelter"

But how was the mealy bug removal process?

I am not 100% sure whether it works or not; but I am trying out what one of the home owners and the @pwdfarmability suggested to try it out - using milk to coat it.

But since the stems were quite a bit of spots noticed and just by washing it off and spraying the milk on might not have the best effect, I attempted to soak the extracted vegetables, removed the old leaves and soaked the stems with baby leave sprouts into a watered down milk "pool".

2sa594.png

A thorough bath for the plants for whole 2 hours!

Even after 15 minutes of soaking, I can literally see bits and pieces of white particles, suspecting the scales and the eggs and the female were drown in the lactose richness?

Whether this can be successfully revived is still a question. I am planning to get those sticky yellow pads that supposed to attract and stick the bugs before they can come close to the vegetables ; and hopefully, with sun and love this bunch will grow and survive from an unfortunate attack and extraction from the rest of the batch.

Do stay tuned in this journey if you are interested, and homesteaders if you have other effective, safe and organic way to ward off pest I welcome your experience here!

Sort:  

How was it??
Did your plants survived? Do keep us posted if there's any problem on the soil we'll get right into it to help you out!

So far so good, it has not infeste further, but the heat without sunlight is weakening the main terrarium box though. I am trying out with the phototherapy to see if it helps.

Thank you for your support. We will be working for a new payout scheme for you soon. Keep your chins up and stay tune!