18th July 2021 - Weekend at the mall

in #teammalaysia3 years ago

Weekend at the mall. Well, my wife and I work here weekends in my mom's shop. My sister is now rents my mom shop and my wife and I work there. Since the pandemic started, malls have become empty. In this mall, many shops have already closed. Usually, in the past, there were Brunei customers who come here on weekends. Occasionally, there would be tourist. However, at this point of time, this mall is pretty empty even on weekends. Many business that have open for decades have closed.

img_5975.jpg

The view of the shop. Empty. If it wasn't for the pandemic, this pathway would be filled with people. I am sure that the crowds are going to come back in the future. Brunei has closed its borders for around 1 year 3 months.

img_5976.jpg

I used my DSLR camera to shoot these pictures. Usually, I would edit the lighting but it takes a bit of time so I decided just to write these post with the raw pictures. Below, there is a contest, count the number of pandas.

img_5970.jpg

Janice, my wife at the shop.

img_5977.jpg

This is the opposite view of the location of my mom's shop. Those two shops have closed down a couple of months ago. There have not been new tenants moving in. My gut feeling tells me that more shops are going to close down. I can count the number of customers in the mall these days. The whole mall. There is also a new wing that is connected to this mall, and it isn't better either and those shop owners have to pay huge amounts of rentals.

img_5984.jpg

The entrance to the new wing closed off making it inconvenient for customers to shop here.

img_5988.jpg

The view from the ground floor. This area would usually be full. Many who are working are in fear of losing their jobs and have also been tightening their wallets.

img_5989.jpg

The view from the outside of the old wing. That is the new wing.

img_5997.jpg

KFC with no diners inside because they aren't allowed to dine in. Only take away. In couple of years, when the economy starts to recover, I will look back at this post and remember these hard times. I guess everyone is having a hard time. Most of the shops now close at around 7.30pm. Those that survive this pandemic would come out stronger in the future better able to cope with any financial difficulties. It's a matter of time before the world recovers.

The bright side - New Covid 19 cases have been steadily declining to single digits as everyone's rushing to get their vaccine shots. In the city of Miri, everyone's FOMOS as we see our friends getting their vaccines. By the end of August, the whole state of Sarawak is going to be fully vaccinated. The government is going to announce the benefits of those who have already gotten their second dose of vaccine such as travelling. Woo hoo. Hopefully, no mask.

That's what my weekend looks like. I spend three days at the mall from Friday till Sunday.

@luueetang

Sort:  

Congratulations @luueetang! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you very much for the upvote and the new badge.. really cool.

You're welcome @luueetang, that's always a pleasure for us!!!
Have a nice day 😊👍
BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/147
Thank you!

I have been wondering.. what is a proposal? Hi hi thank you.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @luueetang.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much..