Macadamia muffins – gluten free, sugar free, keto, paleo or whole food

in #teamnz5 years ago

These bite size morsels are effectively a fat bomb, the way I make them, except in the form of cake. But I think they would adapt fine for other whole food diets.

I made a blueberry version of these for Xmas, but previously I’d be making them with choc chips. So I’ll start with that version.

maca-muffins0.jpg

First off, 150 grams of macadamias go into my mini food processor. They will also grind up in a full size food processor, but seem to get finer in the small one. Or a coffee grinder would probably work. But be careful not to over grind, as you want meal not nut butter.

maca-muffins1.jpg

Though that’s an idea. Maybe using macadamia butter (like the almond butter in the brownies) would make a better texture. On my list for further testing. Or if anyone else feels like trying it and reporting back…

Ok, so back to the dry ingredients, which then get mixed together in a big bowl:

• 150gm macadamias, ground into meal (see note 1)
• 50 grams of Great Lakes collagen hydrolysate (see note 2)
• 2-4 Tablespoons lakanto (see note 3)
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• Pinch sea salt

Note 1 - I usually use raw, but you can use roasted & salted and just not add salt

Note 2 – You can use any other protein powder, but you may have to experiment with quantities. I like this because it’s neutral flavoured and quite fine. If you’re not keto, you could also try any gluten free flour.

Note 3 – Or other natural sweetener of your choice, if you’re not keto. If say, using maple syrup, add to the wet ingredients instead. I use 2 Tablespoons but that won’t be enough for many people.

maca-muffins2.jpg

Then zizz up the wet ingredients in the mini food processor (no need to clean it first):

• 2 eggs
• 3 Tablespoons MCT oil or 42gm melted butter (see note 4)
• 4 Tablespoons coconut milk or coconut cream or liquid cream (see note 5)
• ½ teaspoon orange extract if doing choco chip, vanilla if doing berry, or other extract of your choice

Note 4 – I usually choose MCT (medium chain triglycerides) oil, to get myself more into ketosis, read more here. But I made a special batch yesterday, using melted butter instead of the MCT oil, to see if it worked. It did, so melted coconut oil would also work. Don’t say I never do anything for you. Oh, the sacrifice’s I make… @frot came off worst, by having to test 3 of them for his lunch.

Note 5 – I think any high fat liquid milk sub would work. Or even a Greek yoghurt. One time I used our homemade runnier yoghurt, though, and that wasn’t as successful.

maca-muffins3.jpg

Mix them together, and let sit for a few minutes for the liquids to fully soak into the dry’s.

maca-muffins4.jpg

Spoon about a tablespoon into each of 24 mini muffin pans. If you don’t have silicon ones, you need to grease them really well, or cut little bits of baking paper for lining, or use tiny paper cups. None of which I can be faffed doing any more. So if you haven’t got silicon cups, go and buy some!

maca-muffins5.jpg

Now it’s time to add your little extras. Usually I use these little dark choc baking bits.

maca-muffins6.jpg

I pressed 2 into the top of each muffin. There were only a few left over in the bag, so some got 3. Usually I poke them in a bit with a skewer, but this time decided to experiment with just leaving them on top to see if they’d sink by themselves.

maca-muffins7.jpg

If you’re using the MCT oil, don’t cook at more than 160C, and they will take about 25 minutes. If you’re using another fat, you can cook a little hotter for less time.

We can now see that the choc chips didn’t sink, so if you want them inside, poke them in. But I think on top is fine.

maca-muffins8.jpg

When I made some at Christmas, I placed a frozen blueberry on top of each one and pushed it in a tiny bit. They needed to cook for a few more minutes. Those did sink to the bottom!

keto-muffins.jpg

And remember my tip about letting them cool in the silicon tray, then freezing them still in the tray, to make them easier to take out. Then they can go straight into a bag in the freezer. They defrost in mere minutes, so you can have a snack whenever you want one.

elegant-divider.png

Food diary for Sat 5th Jan

Breakfast:

• Blackcurrant smoothie (same as others, except only 20gm frozen blackcurrants)
• ½ teaspoon skate liver oil

Lunch:

• Salmon & mayo mixed together (but no veges so we can’t really call it a salad this time)
• 20 grams fresh blueberries
• 1 x keto choc chip mini muffin

Dinner

• 2 x chicken drumsticks = 120gm meat - note that I cook up about a dozen at a time in the crockpot, which lasts me days!
• Sauteed in 24 grams butter
• 50gm green peas
• 10 grams pumpkin seeds

Totals

• Calories = 1626
• Protein = 117 grams = 29%
• Carbs = 21 grams = 5%
• Fat = 119 grams = 66%

Food diary for Sun 6th Jan

Breakfast:

• Strawberry smoothie
• ½ teaspoon skate liver oil

Lunch:

• 2 x chicken drumsticks = 105gm meat
• 3 thin slices (18 gm) Jarlsberg cheese
• 50 grams fresh blueberries
• With 3 Tbs fermented cream & 2 Tbs coconut milk

Dinner

• 140gm lamb (Leftovers from the yummy roast @kiwiscanfly gave us, frozen into meal sized bags)
• 25gm mayo
• 38 gms fermented ginger carrots

menu5.jpg
Wow, that looks like a lot of lamb. Hopefully I didn't mis-weigh it!

Totals

• Calories = 1671
• Protein = 108 grams = 26%
• Carbs = 20 grams = 5%
• Fat = 127 grams = 68%

elegant-divider.png

Thanks for reading.

Photos by me.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. Archives of my posts from 2016 to 2108:

Recipes, Nutrition, Health & Lifestyle
Music, Fiction, Poems, Other entertainment
Thoughts about life, and life in New Zealand

Contact me in Discord to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

Those look so good and I think I'll have to make them! I like the way you walk us through the recipe, and all the notes, much appreciated.
@frot is a lucky man!

Enjoy!

Congratulations @kiwideb! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 29000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

They do look so tasty
but I got distracted by the left over roast lamb, I hope one of the stores gets Kiwi or Aussie lamb in soon I am now craving for it

Sorry, I will stop torturing you now - no more lamb pics!

LOl no please dont stop its a good kind of torture LOL

The muffins look great. No doubt your # 1 tester, @frot thought they were delicious.

He did, and ate too many ;-)

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

You sold me on the first word 'Macadamia' @kiwideb Anything with macadamia nuts in it gets first priority with me. I grind almonds for baking quite a lot and enjoy the flavour of almond meal but macadamias are my all time favourite nuts.

My granddaughter's cousin made divine rocky road for Christmas and I simply I could not resist having two or three of those decadent treats. Silly how we call high sugar foods 'treats' isn't it? We can blame our grandmothers and mothers because that is how they were brought up. We are not doing our kids any favours by brain washing them this way are we? Sugar is NOT a treat!

We should say to them, '"You've been such a good boy or girl. How would you like some tooth decay or arteriosclerosis in a few years time darling? Or would you like something tasty that will probably shorten your lifespan by ten years or more?" I can just imagine the reactions kids and parents would have if they saw this happen.

Actually, I don't have to imagine, because I have unashamedly used similar tactics on my own grandchildren. Sometimes it works. Sometimes it doesn't. They smile at me.......but they get the message. Sort of. (lol)

Grandmothers are allowed to give treats to their grandchildren but I'd rather give them healthy options and that is easier to do when I give them non-edible treats.

Oh so true!

Shall I make some rocky road with melted sugar free chocolate, maybe a bit of creamed coconut, some macadamias, and some chopped up dried strawberries, which are very sweet but no added sugar? Not quite the same as the decadent one, but might taste rather good.

That sounds delicious Deb Let me know if you get around to making some.

If you remind me, I'll make some for when you come over. I've written the idea in my kitchen journal.

Oooh, that will be a treat Deb! I will write it in my diary. Do you know when you and Andrea a will be away?

She's got some new ideas for her birthday so not sure if we're still heading away. But if we do, it will be May or June probably.

Oh that's great. We're thinking about September but its not set in concrete.

Oh! I wish I could partake in testing/eating of this your awesome macadamia muffins... Great job!

Just get yourself to New Zealand and you can be my number 2 tester ;-)

Haha... all in due time!