Why I spammed people on Discord and Hive

in #teamuk3 years ago

In the past few days I've been spamming a lot of people on Hive and Discord to help me out on a survey for my new project @newbies-guide. This is a central depository for useful Hive posts so people, particularly newbies, don't have to search all over Hive for it. I felt we were lacking a post for a particular area, so decided to write one myself. This post is about the prep work for that post, ie a survey, and my thoughts about spamming people on Hive. The output of the actual survey will be in another post as I have yet to go through all the data collected.
intercontinental-4981239_1920.png

Credit : Image by Christian Dorn from Pixabay


THE SURVEY

The survey is to ask people what three things they think a newbie should do in their first week on Hive. I figured rather than just me bluffing away, I'd do a collective wisdom on Hive and ask other people for their inputs.

image.png

Everyone has been through the newbie phase and we can all easily think of three things a newbie should do. I kept the survey very simple, and asked people to write down their three suggestions. If you want people to help you out, you have to make it easy for them. The only other thing that I didn't do to make it easier for people, is to do a multiple choice. I kept it free form writing as I think it's important for people to express thoughts in their own words. Although I will be grouping responses together into categories, I also want to illustrate the results with some of people's comments. In the survey, I forgot to ask if people mind me sharing their comments, if I do, I hope they won't mind.


SPAMMING PEOPLE

I rarely spam on Hive, and certainly not on this scale. Spamming, as we all know is frowned upon on Hive, so note to newbies - don't do it!!! Actually, I wouldn't really call what I did spam, more like mass targetted communication, and it's for a good cause 😊

During these few days, I messaged around 100 people on Discord. Most I know 'personally', that's the easiest way to get people to help you. Friends always do if they can. Then there were some who's name I've seen around before, but have not had any or much engagement. I figured if I'm aware of their account, maybe them me as well. Banking on my rep here!! I don't know if that worked, but quite a lot responded to me, so either my rep is ok on the chain or they genuinely wanted to help newbies. Either way, I'm good.

The other trick with getting a higher response, is to contact people when they are online. I figured if people will respond to messages, they normally do it instantly. And since this survey is so simple, most did it immediately. Others were really good, and responded the day after because they were busy in real life. And of course, some didn't respond. That's absolutely fine, it's the nature of surveys. You never get 100% response rate.


HOW MANY PEOPLE DID THE SURVEY?

When I started the survey, I hadn't really thought about how many responses I wanted. Then I got a bit carried away with spamming people, and received 60 responses in the first 24 hours!!! When you get to 60, I thought why not 100? That's when I started to spam people whom I didn't know that well.

I also sent messages to some of my friends via Peakd chat. The response was much lower here. Out of 17 messages, three responded back, another three responded via post comments and either said they didn't use peakd or couldn't see the chat.

The response in the next 24 hours was a tad lower than the previous, but I still received 41 responses. I got over 100 responses in total!!!

I want to say a big thank you to everyone who responded to my spam message and provided your valuable input so far. I shan't tag everyone as that would really be spammy, plus I'd have to type over 100 names! I'm just going to leave a screenshot instead.

2021-06-06 (2).png

Now I've reached over 100 responses (107 to be exact), I'm going to close this survey tomorrow. Originally I was going to keep the survey private to avoid spam responses and having to do too much data crunching. Quite a few people have been really kind and offered to share the survey, in fact you can find it on Twitter now. So far there's been no spam input, so that's great. As a last push, I'm sharing the survey link here for everyone. All inputs (apart from spam) would be much appreciated.

I'll be sharing the results of the survey in a few days time, hopefully you'll drop by to check it out.

Sort:  

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Good idea. I just filled it out, thanks for the opportunity. It doesn't take away this pain from getting overlooked on your spamming efforts but it helps.

Thanks. You're actually one of the 17 I spammed in Peakd message 😀

Answer 4: Patience. Nearly 4 years later and I still don't know how to receive a peakd message.

But I feel so much better now!!!! 💖

Ah, most of us type in the username with out the @

we had all sorts!! Asking for the username was really for my own benefit so I know who I've spammed 😄

Fun to see you got so many responses. Excited to see what you learn.

The folks have been really supportive, still ploughing through the data, am hoping to release it tomorrow (she says...)

"mass targeted communication" is more spot on and fair than "spam". Good idea to start this, good luck with that.
P.S. Nice to see LivingUKTaiwan among your responders 🙂

she snuck herself in! Got to be part of the cool crowd!!

She is already. Effortlessly ;)

As I said when you "spammed" me 😂 I love this initiative and support it. Reblogged because I feel the more folk who participate the better. Will also cross post in #silverbloggers...

Thank you so much for your support Fiona!

This is a great idea abd will be useful for new users. I personally wouldn't call your request "spamming." Data gathering and research is more fitting I think.

I'm hoping newbies will read it and take it on board, often many of them just post post post and don't think about the other important things. We shall see

Hey, I see my name on there, glad I could be of assistance.

Thanks for your input Justin, some really useful comments there.

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 41000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

Glad to be of help. This is an awesome project and a most helpful one. Thank you for your initiative. Great job and I look forward to seeing the results. It should be very interesting and educating.

I'm hoping I to release them tomorrow....

Yay. Hope you do.

Sorry i missed your survey, i assume it's closed now?

Great idea by the way 👍

Sorry i missed your survey, i assume it's closed now?

Great idea by the way 👍

I haven't had time to review the data yet, so it's still open, please do hop over if you have a few minutes to spare. Would really appreciate it.

btw, I pinged you via peaked chat, I assume you don't use peaked? 😉

That's done now 👍

Nah, I don't use Peakd or Discord anymore. Time is pretty limited so I just stick to Hive.blog

Woops! I thought I closed the survey! I just published the results. Anyway, still appreciate you helping out!!

Ah no, my fault!! Had fallen behind on my replies! Only catching up now at 12:30am local time while swilling a few beers 🍻

Sometimes a little bit of spam is good... I also spammed a week ago to raise awareness to the Staking Rewards voting... but we end up losing anyway. 🙄

I believe we lost to the bots? Can't win if people find ways around the system instead of playing a level playing field

Yeah, but I think we could have won anyway, the participation was so low. There are a lot more people active at HIVE who didn't vote. 🙄

Hah no worries, they were good questions.. I submitted my answers.

Thanks for your input @solominer and sorry for bugging you 😆