New Studio Remodel: Here's the before & after photos!

in #tech2 years ago

The new studio's remodel/construction is mostly complete!

A before/after look at the new studio room. Did all of the work myself.

I'm still not prepared to do all of my production in the room just yet.

New L-Shaped Desk:

I bought this desk nearly a year ago. I'm happy with it, but at the same time I feel like if I was buying one today I'd go in a different direction.

20220507_044914.jpg

How It Started:

This room had holes in the walls from shelving racks that had been mounted to the walls to avoid tipping from the weight.
The paint was a "stylish" DIY motif called Sponge Painting. Usually done by home-making women wanting to express their artistic side. This particular room was a white base with yellow sponge-painting on top.
It was a walk-in closet attached to the master bedroom.

image.png

In the top center of the picture below you can see where the ceiling had been patched when someone had a misstep while replacing shingles on the roof.

20210406_051326.jpg

How It's Going:

I patched the dry wall holes first.
Painted the walls a beige/tan color.
Re-painted the ceiling white to hide the patched spot, and re-painted the baseboard molding.
Also added new outlet and light-switch cover plates.

20220504_014621.jpg

20220507_044649.jpg

20220507_044830.jpg

20220507_044858.jpg

And Alas It's Mostly Done.

New shelves full of audio/video, computer, and lighting gear boxes:
20220518_230959.jpg
Guitar, pedals, and amplifier:
20220518_231600.jpg
SOME of the computers. Left to right:

  • Dell Precision T3600 workstation
    • Intel Xeon Sandy-Bridge quad-core/AMD Fire-Pro W5000
  • My old custom machine with broken liquid-cooling.
    • AMD FX-8350/Radeon R9-290x
  • HP AMD64 LIVE! MediaCenter
    • AMD Athlon-64x2 4200+/Nvidia GeForce GT540

20220518_230821.jpg

I'm happy to be done with the remodeling.
Still need to get Ethernet ran to the room through the walls, and I'm considering adding recessed light fixtures to the ceiling.
I've moved a bunch of computers into the room, but I'm still not ready to record in there just yet.
I think I may need some sound-dampening foam pads on some of the walls, but it's going to be a major upgrade from recording laying down in a bed :)

Sort:  

Considerable collection of hardware

I never throw any of it away.
I was also lucky enough to get 3 workstations from a design firm that my ex girlfriend worked for. They were just going to throw them away when they got the new ones in. This happens regularly and so you can find decent Xeon workstations used online for a fraction of their original cost.